Governance

The Canada Energy Regulator works within the Canadian Energy Regulator Act (CER Act). The CER Act provides a clear separation between the operational and adjudicative functions of the Regulator.

A detailed description of the roles and responsibilities of the Board of Directors, CEO, Commission, and CER staff in supporting the effective delivery of the CER’s mandate is provided in the Governance of the Canada Energy Regulator Mandate, Roles and Responsibilities.

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors oversees the CER at the level of governance and strategic advice and direction, and is focused on results and outcomes. It does not normally engage in routine operations, which is the role of the Chief Executive Officer (CEO). The Board does work closely with the CEO, who provides the Board with the support needed to do their work.

The Board holds quarterly Regular meetings and posts a synopsis of each meeting.

The CER’s Board is comprised of between 5 and 9 Directors, including the Chairperson and the Vice-Chairperson. At least one of the Directors is required to be an Indigenous person. All Directors serve part-time and are appointed by Governor in Council.

CEO

The CEO is responsible for the management and daily operations and affairs of the organization, including the supervision of its employees and their work, and has the responsibilities of a deputy head. The CEO works closely with the Board and provides both the Board and the Commission with the support needed to carry out their respective responsibilities.

The CEO is appointed by the Governor in Council on the recommendation of the Minister following consultation with the Board of Directors.

Commission

The Commission is responsible for adjudicative decisions, operating as a quasi-judicial body that is arm’s length from other parts of the CER governance structure and Natural Resources Canada. The Commission is part of the CER and, although its adjudicative role is independent, it contributes to the overall effective delivery of the CER’s mandate and corporate outcomes.

The Commission is comprised of up to 7 full-time Commissioners, including the Lead Commissioner and Deputy Lead Commission, who are appointed by Governor in Council. At least one full-time Commissioner must be an Indigenous person. The Commission may also include part-time Commissioners.

Date modified:

Gouvernance

Le mandat de la Régie de l’énergie du Canada a été façonné à même la Loi sur la Régie canadienne de l’énergie. Celle-ci sépare clairement les fonctions opérationnelles de la Régie de celles qui sont de nature juridictionnelle.

Conseil d’administration

Le conseil d’administration supervise les activités de la Régie sur les divers plans de la gouvernance et des conseils ou orientations stratégiques. Il s’attache aux résultats obtenus. Règle générale, les activités courantes sont l’affaire du président-directeur général (« PDG »). Le conseil d’administration collabore étroitement avec le PDG, qui lui procure le soutien voulu pour s’acquitter de ses fonctions.

Le conseil d’administration tient des réunions chaque trimestre, dont il affiche un sommaire sur le site Web.

Le conseil d’administration de la Régie est composé d’au moins cinq et d’au plus neuf administrateurs, au nombre desquels figurent son président et son vice-président. Au moins un administrateur est un Autochtone. Tous les administrateurs, à temps partiel, sont nommés par le gouverneur en conseil.

Président-directeur général

Le PDG est responsable des affaires courantes en vue du bon fonctionnement de la Régie au quotidien, notamment pour ce qui est de la supervision du personnel comme de son travail, en plus d’assumer toutes les fonctions d’un administrateur général. Il travaille en étroite collaboration avec le conseil d’administration, à qui il fournit, ainsi qu’à la Commission, le soutien nécessaire pour qu’ils s’acquittent de leurs responsabilités respectives.

Le PDG est nommé par le gouverneur en conseil, sur recommandation du ministre, après consultation du conseil d’administration.

Commission

À la Commission incombent les décisions juridictionnelles et son fonctionnement est celui d’un organisme quasi judiciaire, libre de tout lien de dépendance à l’endroit du reste de la structure de gouvernance de la Régie comme de Ressources naturelles Canada. Bien qu’indépendante, elle est néanmoins intégrée à la Régie et contribue à la réalisation de son mandat ainsi qu’à l’atteinte des résultats organisationnels escomptés.

La Commission est composée d’au plus sept commissaires à temps plein, incluant le commissaire en chef et le commissaire en chef adjoint, nommés par le gouverneur en conseil. Au moins un commissaire à temps plein est un Autochtone. La Commission peut également comprendre des commissaires nommés à temps partiel.

Date de modification :