Provincial and Territorial Energy Profiles – Ontario

Ontario

Connect/Contact Us

Please send comments, questions, or suggestions to
energy-energie@cer-rec.gc.ca

Table of Contents
  • Figure 1: Hydrocarbon Production

    Figure 1: Hydrocarbon Production

    Source and Description:

    Source:
    CER – Canada's Energy Future 2019

    Description:
    This graph shows hydrocarbon production in Ontario from 2008 to 2018. Over this period, crude oil production has decreased from 1.7 Mb/d to 0.5 Mb/d. Natural gas production has deceased from 19.1 MMcf/d to 8.5 MMcf/d.

  • Figure 2: Electricity Generation by Fuel Type (2018)

    Figure 2: Electricity Generation by Fuel Type (2018)

    Source and Description:

    Source:
    CER – Canada's Energy Future 2019

    Description:
    This pie chart shows electricity generation by source in Ontario. A total of 151.1 TW.h of electricity was generated in 2018.

  • Figure 3: Electricity Capacity and Primary Fuel Sources Map

    Figure 3: Electricity Capacity and Primary Fuel Sources Map

    Source and Description:

    Source:
    CER, Natural Resources Canada

    Description:
    This map shows electricity generation facilities in Ontario. Facilities are shown by capacity and by primary fuel source.

    Download:
    PDF version [1961 KB]

  • Figure 4: Crude Oil Infrastructure Map

    Figure 4: Crude Oil Infrastructure Map

    Source and Description:

    Source:
    CER

    Description:
    This map shows all major crude oil pipelines, rail lines, and refineries in Ontario.

    Download:
    PDF version [506 KB]

  • Figure 5: Natural Gas Infrastructure Map

    Figure 5: Natural Gas Infrastructure Map

     

    Source and Description:

    Source:
    CER

    Description:
    This map shows all major natural gas pipelines in Ontario.

    Download:
    PDF version [719 KB]

  • Figure 6: End-Use Demand by Sector (2017)

    Figure 6: End-Use Demand by Sector (2017)

    Source and Description:

    Source:
    CER – Canada's Energy Future 2019

    Description:
    This pie chart shows end-use energy demand in Ontario by sector. Total end-use energy demand was 3 012 PJ in 2017. The largest sector was industrial at 37% of total demand, followed by transportation (at 29%), residential (at 18%), and lastly, commercial (at 16%).

  • Figure 7: End-Use Demand by Fuel (2017)

    Figure 7: End-use Demand by Fuel (2017)

    Source and Description:

    Source:
    CER – Canada's Energy Future 2019

    Description:
    This figure shows end-use demand by fuel type in Ontario in 2017. Refined petroleum products accounted for 1 452 PJ (48%) of demand, followed by natural gas at 852 PJ (28%), electricity at 481 PJ (16%), biofuels at 129 PJ (4%), and other at 121 PJ (4%).

    Note: "Other" includes coal, coke, and coke oven gas.

  • Figure 8: GHG Emissions by Sector

     

    Figure 8: GHG Emissions by Sector

    Source and Description:

    Source:
    Environment and Climate Change Canada – National Inventory Report

    Description:
    This stacked column graph shows GHG emissions in Ontario by sector every five years from 1990 to 2017 in MT of CO2e. Total GHG emissions have decreased in Ontario from 180.0 MT of CO2e in 1990 to 158.7 MT of CO2e in 2017.

Energy Production

Crude Oil

  • Ontario produced 500 barrels per day of light oil in 2018 (Figure 1). Ontario’s production represents less than 0.1% of total Canadian oil production (including condensate and pentanes plus).
  • All of Ontario’s oil production occurs in southwestern Ontario.
  • Ontario is home to Canada’s first commercial oil production when oil was discovered near Black Creek (later renamed Oil Springs) in 1858. Large oil deposits were discovered in the 1860s in Petrolia, just north of Oil Springs.
  • Ontario’s remaining resource of crude oil is estimated to be 11.0 million barrels when production to year-end 2018 is subtracted.

Refined Petroleum Products (RPPs)

  • Ontario has four refineries: Imperial Oil, Suncor, and Shell in Sarnia, and Imperial Oil in Nanticoke. These refineries have a total capacity of 393 thousand barrels per day (Mb/d), which gives Ontario the 2nd largest refining capacity after Alberta and accounts for 20% of total Canadian refining capacity.
  • Western Canada supplied the majority of the crude oil used by Ontario’s refineries in 2018. Imports from the United States (U.S.) accounted for about 10% of total crude oil consumed by Ontario’s refineries.

Natural Gas/Natural Gas Liquids (NGLs)

  • In 2018, natural gas production in Ontario averaged 8.4 million cubic feet per day (MMcf/d) (Figure 1). Ontario’s production represented less than 0.1% of total Canadian natural gas production in 2018.
  • Natural gas is produced in southwestern Ontario near Sarnia.
  • Ontario’s remaining resource of recoverable, sales-quality natural gas is estimated to be 665 billion cubic feet (Bcf) at year-end 2018.
  • The Sarnia NGL fractionator is one of the main sources of propane and butanes for Eastern Canada. It processes NGL mix delivered from western Canada by the Enbridge Mainline (Lines 1 and 5).
  • There is no field production of NGLs in Ontario. Small volumes of propane and butanes are produced in Ontario’s refineries.

Electricity

  • In 2018, Ontario generated 151 terawatt hours (TW.h) of electricity (Figure 2), which is approximately 23% of total Canadian generation. Ontario is the 2nd largest producer of electricity in Canada and has a generating capacity of 40 671 megawatts (MW).
  • In 2018, about 96% of electricity in Ontario is produced from zero-carbon emitting sources: 60% from nuclear, 26% from hydroelectricity, 7% from wind, and 2% from solar. The remainder is primarily from natural gas, with some biomass. Ontario’s electricity generating capacity is primarily located in the southern portion of the province with significant hydro generating stations located in eastern Ontario in the Ottawa River basin and northeastern Ontario in the Moose River basin (Figure 3).
  • Three nuclear power plants with a combined 12 633 MW of installed capacity provide the bulk of Ontario’s baseload generation. Bruce Power on the east shore of Lake Huron is the largest, with eight generation units and a capacity of about 6 600 MW. It is one of the largest nuclear power plants currently operating in the world.
  • Ontario has over 200 hydroelectricity generation facilities with a total capacity of
    9 251 MW.
  • Ontario leads Canada in wind capacity. About 5 061 MW of wind capacity was added between 2005 and 2018.
  • About 98% of solar capacity in Canada is installed in Ontario. In 2018, solar in Ontario had a total capacity of 2 871 MW.
  • Ontario has the largest 100% biomass-fueled plant in North America. The 205 MW Atikokan Generating Station was converted from coal in 2014.
  • Ontario Power Generation (OPG) is the largest utility in Ontario’s competitive electricity market, with over 16 600 MW of capacity.

Energy Transportation and Trade

Crude Oil and Liquids

  • Sarnia is the major oil refining and petrochemical hub in Ontario. Sarnia receives crude oil and NGLs from Western Canada and North Dakota via Enbridge’s Lines 5 and 78, which have capacities of 540 Mb/d and 500 Mb/d, respectively (Figure 4).
  • Enbridge’s Lines 9 and 7 run eastwards from Sarnia to supply refineries in eastern Ontario and Quebec. Line 9, which is not part of the Enbridge Mainline System, has a capacity of 300 Mb/d and transports crude oil to Westover, Ontario and Montreal, Quebec. Line 7 has a capacity of 180 Mb/d and also delivers crude oil to Westover. At Westover, both pipelines interconnect with Enbridge’s Line 10 and Line 11.
  • Line 11 has a capacity of 117 Mb/d and supplies Imperial Oil’s Nanticoke refinery.
  • Line 10 has a capacity of 74 Mb/d and delivers crude oil to the United Refining Company’s refinery in Warren, Pennsylvania via United’s Kiantone Pipeline in New York. United’s subsidiary Westover Express is in the process of acquiring Line 10 from Enbridge.
  • The Trans-Northern Pipeline delivers refined petroleum products, such as gasoline and diesel, from refineries in Montreal, Quebec with major markets and distribution centres in Ontario, including delivery points in Ottawa, Kingston, Belleville, Oshawa, Toronto, and Oakville. The pipeline operates bi-directionally between Toronto and Oakville. The Trans-Northern Pipeline also transports RPPs from Imperial Oil’s Nanticoke refinery eastward to Toronto. Total receipts on the pipeline were 170 Mb/d in 2018, and have been generally been declining over the past decade.
  • There are two ethane-importing pipelines in Ontario. Energy Transfer’s 50 Mb/d Mariner West Pipeline ships ethane from the Marcellus producing region in Southwestern Pennsylvania to the Canada/U.S border, and continues on the Genesis Pipeline to NOVA Chemical’s petrochemical complex in Corunna, Ontario. The 50 Mb/d Utopia Pipeline ships ethane from Harrison County, Ohio to Windsor, Ontario.
  • Imperial Oil’s Nanticoke refinery has a rail terminal with an estimated crude oil offloading capacity of 20 Mb/d.

Natural Gas

  • TC Energy’s (formerly TransCanada) Canadian Mainline begins at the Alberta/Saskatchewan border and transports western Canadian gas through the Prairies to Ontario (Figure 5).
  • The Mainline has interconnects with other pipelines at several import/export points in southern Ontario. It also connects to the Trans-Quebec and Maritimes (TQM) pipeline at the Ontario/Quebec border.
  • Historically, Ontario was a consumer of western Canadian natural gas and more natural gas was exported to the U.S. than imported. In recent years, Ontario has become a net importer and has increased gas imports from the U.S. Northeast and Midcontinent.
  • The Dawn Hub, one of North America’s major natural gas trading hubs and pricing benchmarks, is located in Ontario. With a capacity of about 274 Bcf, Dawn is home to more than 30 underground storage pools accounting for approximately 30% of Canada’s underground natural gas storage capacity.
  • On 1 January 2019, Ontario’s two main distribution companies Union Gas and Enbridge Gas Distribution Inc. merged into one company, Enbridge Gas Inc (EGI). EGI delivers natural gas to approximately 3.7 million customers in over 355 municipalities and 21 indigenous communities in Ontario through over 147 600 kilometres (km) of pipeline. EGI is regulated by the Ontario Energy Board.

Liquefied Natural Gas (LNG)

  • Union Gas operates a small-scale LNG facility near Sudbury. It has been in operation since 1968.
  • Two small-scale LNG liequefaction facilities in Thorold and Nipigon have been proposed by Northeast Midstream. The Thorold project has received local and provincial permits, and has a proposed liquefaction capacity of 31.3 MMcf/d of LNG. In January 2019, the Ontario government announced that it will provide $27 million towards the Nipigon LNG facility, which is expected to begin operation in 2020.

Electricity

  • Ontario’s net interprovincial and international electricity outflows were 11.4 TW.h in 2018.
  • Hydro One owns and operates almost all of Ontario’s transmission capacity and has about 30 000 km of transmission lines.
  • Hydro One is also the largest distributor of electricity in the province, serving nearly 1.4 million predominantly rural customers that represent approximately 26% of the total customers in Ontario. There are over 60 distribution companies operating in Ontario.
  • The Independent Electricity System Operator (IESO) manages the province’s power system by balancing supply and demand, and directing power across high-voltage transmission lines.
  • Ontario has interconnections with Manitoba, Quebec, Michigan, Minnesota, and New York. Most of Ontario’s imports come from Quebec, while most of Ontario’s exports go to New York and Michigan.
  • Ontario Energy Board regulates the energy sector in Ontario, including electricity.

Energy Consumption and Greenhouse Gas (GHG) Emissions

Total Energy Consumption

  • End-use demand in Ontario was 3 035 petajoules (PJ) in 2017. The largest sector for energy demand was industrial at 37% of total demand, followed by transportation at 29%, residential at 18%, and commercial at 16% (Figure 6). Ontario’s total energy demand was the 2nd largest in Canada, and the 8th largest on a per capita basis.
  • Refined petroleum products were the largest fuel type consumed in Ontario, accounting for 1 452 PJ, or 48%. Natural gas and electricity accounted for 852 PJ (28%) and 481 PJ (16%), respectively (Figure 7).

Refined Petroleum Products (RPPs)

  • Refineries in the province can produce roughly 75% of Ontario’s demand for RPPs, including gasoline. Imports are mainly from Quebec, delivered via the Trans-Northern Pipeline, rail, and truck. Imports also come from the U.S. Midwest. In 2018, roughly 12% of total Canadian RPP imports were for the Ontario market.
  • Ontario is the largest market in Canada for RPPs. Total 2018 demand in Ontario for RPPs was 571 Mb/d, or 30% of total Canadian RPP demand. Of Ontario’s total demand, 286 Mb/d was for motor gasoline and 133 Mb/d was for diesel.
  • Ontario’s per capita RPP consumption in 2017 was 2 357 litres (15 barrels), among the lowest in Canada. Ontario’s RPP consumption per capita is 22% below the national average of 3 038 litres per capita.

Natural Gas

  • Ontario consumed an average of 2.7 Bcf/d of natural gas in 2018. Ontario demand represented 24% of total Canadian demand, making it the largest consuming province after Alberta.
  • Ontario’s largest consuming sector for natural gas was the residential sector, which consumed 1.00 Bcf/d in 2018. The industrial and commercial sectors consumed 0.99 Bcf/d and 0.71 Bcf/d, respectively.

Electricity

  • In 2017, annual electricity consumption per capita in Ontario was 9.5 megawatt hours (MW.h). Ontario ranked 11th in Canada for per capita electricity consumption and consumed 35% less than the national average.
  • Ontario’s largest consuming sector for electricity in 2017 was commercial at 47.0 TW.h. The residential and industrial sectors consumed 44.2 TW.h and 42.1 TW.h, respectively. Ontario’s electricity demand has grown 3% since 2005.

GHG Emissions

  • Ontario’s GHG emissions in 2017 were 159 megatonnes (MT) of carbon dioxide equivalent (CO2e). Ontario’s emissions have declined 12% since 1990Footnote 1.
  • Ontario’s emissions per capita are the 2nd lowest in Canada, at 11.3 tonnes of CO2e – 42% below the Canadian average of 19.6 tonnes per capita.
  • The largest emitting sectors in Ontario are transportation at 35% of emissions, heavy industries (including iron, steel, and chemicals) at 24%, and buildings (residential and commercial) at 22% (Figure 8).
  • Ontario’s GHG emissions from the oil and gas sector in 2017 were 9.3 MT CO2e. Of this total, 1.4 MT were attributable to production, processing, and transmission and 7.9 MT were attributable to petroleum refining and natural gas distribution.
  • In 2017, Ontario’s electricity sector emitted 2.0 MT CO2e emissions, or 3% of total Canadian GHG emissions attributable to power generation. Ontario’s GHG emissions from power generation peaked in 2000 at 43.4 MT CO2e and then saw emissions decline as it phased out coal-fired generation from 2005 to 2014.

More Information

Data Sources

Provincial & Territorial Energy Profiles aligns with CER’s latest Canada’s Energy Future 2019 datasets. Energy Future uses a variety of data sources, generally starting with Statistics Canada data as the foundation, and making adjustments depending on individual province/territory circumstances.  Adjustments are necessary to ensure consistency and comparability across provinces/territories.

Date modified:

Profils énergétiques des provinces et territoires – Ontario

Ontario

Contactez nous

Commentaires, questions, ou suggestions peuvent être envoyés à l’adresse :
energy-energie@cer-rec.gc.ca

Table des matières
  • Figure 1 : Production d’hydrocarbures

    Figure 1 : Production d’hydrocarbures

    Source et description :

    Source :
    Régie – Avenir énergétique du Canada en 2019

    Description :
    Ce graphique illustre la production d’hydrocarbures en Ontario de 2008 à 2018. Au cours de cette période, la production de pétrole brut a diminué, passant de 1,7 kb/j à 0,5 kb/j. La production de gaz naturel a diminué, passant de 19,1 Mpi3/j à 8,5 Mpi3/j.

  • Figure 2 : Production d’électricité par type de combustible (2018)

    Figure 2 :Production d’électricité par type de combustible (2018)

    Source et description :

    Source :
    Régie – Avenir énergétique du Canada en 2019

    Description :
    Ce diagramme circulaire illustre la production d’électricité en Ontario par méthode de production. En 2018, la production totale d’électricité s’est élevée à 151,1 TWh.

  • Figure 3 : Carte de la capacité de production d’électricité et des sources de combustible primaire

    Figure 3 : Carte de la capacité de production d’électricité et des sources de combustible primaire

    Source et description :

    Source :
    Régie, Ressources naturelles Canada

    Description :
    Cette carte montre les installations de production d’électricité en Ontario. On y indique leur capacité et leur source du combustible primaire.

    Télécharger :
    Version PDF [1961 ko]

  • Figure 4 : Carte de l’infrastructure de pétrole brut

    Figure 4 : Carte de l’infrastructure de pétrole brut

    Source et description :

    Source :
    Régie

    Description :
    Cette carte montre tous les principaux oléoducs ainsi que les principales voies ferrées et raffineries en Ontario.

    Télécharger :
    Version PDF [506 ko]

  • Figure 5 : Carte de l’infrastructure de gaz naturel

    Figure 5 : Carte de l’infrastructure de gaz naturel

     

    Source et description :

    Source :
    Régie

    Description :
    Cette carte montre tous les principaux gazoducs en Ontario.

    Télécharger :
    Version PDF [719 ko]

  • Figure 6 : Demande pour utilisation finale par secteur (2017)

    Figure 6 : Demande pour utilisation finale par secteur (2017)

    Source et description :

    Source :
    Régie – Avenir énergétique du Canada en 2019

    Description :
    Ce diagramme circulaire présente la demande d’énergie pour utilisation finale en Ontario par secteur. En 2017, la demande d’énergie pour utilisation finale a totalisé 3 012 PJ. Le secteur industriel vient au premier rang avec 37 % de la demande totale, suivi des transports (29 %), puis des secteurs résidentiel (18 %) et commercial (16 %).

  • Figure 7 : Demande pour utilisation finale par combustible (2017)

    Figure 7 : Demande pour utilisation finale par combustible (2017)

    Source et description :

    Source :
    Régie – Avenir énergétique du Canada en 2019

    Description :
    Cette figure illustre la demande pour utilisation finale par type de combustible en Ontario en 2017. Les produits pétroliers raffinés ont compté pour 1 452 PJ (48 %) de la demande, suivis du gaz naturel, avec 852 PJ (28 %), de l’électricité, à 481 PJ (16 %), des biocarburants, à 129 PJ (4 %) et des autres combustibles, à 121 PJ (4 %).

    Remarque : Les autres combustibles comprennent le charbon, le coke et le gaz de cokerie.

  • Figure 8 : Émissions de GES par secteur

     

    Figure 8 : Émissions de GES par secteur

    Source et description :

    Source :
    Environnement et Changement climatique Canada – Rapport d'inventaire national

    Description :
    Ce graphique à colonnes empilées illustre les émissions de GES en Ontario par tranches de cinq ans, de 1990 à 2017 en Mt d’éq. CO2. Les émissions totales de GES ont diminué en Ontario, passant de 180 Mt d’éq. CO2 en 1990 à 158.7 Mt n 2017.

Production énergétique

Pétrole brut

  • L’Ontario a produit 500 barils par jour de pétrole léger en 2018 (figure 1), ce qui représente moins de 0,1% de la production canadienne totale (incluant les condensats et les pentanes plus).
  • L’ensemble de la production de pétrole de l’Ontario provient du sud-ouest de la province.
  • C’est en Ontario qu’a eu lieu la première production commerciale de pétrole au Canada, lors de la découverte d’un gisement en 1858, près de la ville de Black Creek (plus tard renommée Oil Springs). D’importants gisements de pétrole ont été découverts en 1860 à Petrolia, tout juste au nord d’Oil Springs.
  • Les ressources restantes de pétrole brut en Ontario sont estimées à 11,0 millions de barils, en soustrayant la production jusqu’à la fin de 2018.

Produits pétroliers raffinés

  • L’Ontario compte quatre raffineries : L’Impériale, Suncor et Shell à Sarnia, et L’Impériale à Nanticoke. Ces raffineries ont une capacité totale de 393 milliers de barils par jour (kb/j), ce qui confère à l’Ontario la deuxième capacité de raffinage au Canada, après l’Alberta; elle représente 20 % de la capacité totale de raffinage au pays.
  • En 2018, l’Ouest canadien a fourni la plus grande partie du pétrole brut utilisé par les raffineries de l’Ontario. Les importations en provenance des États-Unis représentaient environ 10 % de la consommation totale de pétrole brut des raffineries ontariennes.

Gaz naturel et liquides de gaz naturel (« LGN »)

  • En 2018, on a produit en moyenne 8,4 millions de pieds cubes par jour (Mpi3/j) de gaz naturel en Ontario (figure 1), soit moins de 0,1 % de la production canadienne totale cette année-là.
  • Le gaz naturel est produit dans le sud-ouest de la province, près de Sarnia.
  • Le potentiel total des ressources de gaz naturel récupérable de qualité commerciale de l’Ontario était estimé à 665 milliards de pieds cubes (Gpi³) à la fin de 2018.
  • La tour de fractionnement des LGN de Sarnia constitue l’une des principales sources de propane et de butanes pour l’Est du Canada. Elle traite le mélange de LGN arrivé de l’Ouest canadien par la canalisation principale d’Enbridge (canalisations 1 et 5).
  • Il n’y a pas de production sur le terrain de LGN en Ontario. Les raffineries de la province produisent du propane et des butanes en petites quantités.

Électricité

  • En 2018, l’Ontario a produit 151 térawattheures (TWh) d’électricité (figure 2), soit environ 23 % de la production totale d’électricité au Canada. L’Ontario vient au deuxième rang au pays à ce chapitre, avec une capacité de production de 40 671 mégawatts (MW).
  • Environ 96 % de l’électricité produite en Ontario en 2018 provenaient de sources sans émissions de carbone : 60 % de l’énergie nucléaire, 26 % de l’hydroélectricité, 7 % de l’énergie éolienne et 2 % de l’énergie solaire. Le reste provenait principalement du gaz naturel et de la biomasse. Les installations de production d’électricité de l’Ontario sont surtout situées dans le sud de la province, mais on trouve des centrales hydroélectriques importantes dans l’est, sur la rivière des Outaouais, et dans le nord-est, dans le bassin de la rivière Moose (figure 3).
  • Trois centrales nucléaires ayant une capacité combinée de 12 633 MW fournissent le gros de la production de base de l’Ontario. La centrale Bruce, située sur la rive est du lac Huron, est la plus imposante, avec huit réacteurs et une capacité d’environ 6 600 MW. Il s’agit d’une des plus grandes centrales nucléaires en exploitation dans le monde à l’heure actuelle.
  • L’Ontario compte plus de 200 centrales hydroélectriques ayant une capacité totale de production de 9 251 MW.
  • L’Ontario vient au premier rang au Canada pour la capacité éolienne. Environ 5 061 MW de capacité éolienne ont été ajoutés entre 2005 et 2018.
  • Environ 98 % de la capacité en énergie solaire du Canada provient d’installations situées en Ontario. En 2018, la capacité de production à partir de l’énergie solaire en Ontario se chiffrait à 2 871 MW.
  • L’Ontario possède la plus grande centrale entièrement alimentée à la biomasse en Amérique du Nord. La centrale Atikokan, d’une capacité de 205 MW a été convertie du charbon en 2014.
  • Ontario Power Generation est la plus grande société de services publics dans le marché de l’électricité concurrentiel de l’Ontario, avec une capacité de plus de 16 600 MW.

Transport et commerce des produits énergétiques

Pétrole brut et liquides

  • Sarnia est le principal carrefour pétrochimique et de raffinage de pétrole en Ontario. Elle reçoit du pétrole brut et des LGN de l’Ouest canadien et du Dakota du Nord par les canalisations 5 et 78 d’Enbridge, dont la capacité respective est de 540 kb/j et 500 kb/j (figure 4).
  • Les canalisations 9 et 7 d’Enbridge s’étendent vers l’est depuis Sarnia et approvisionnent les raffineries de l’Est de l’Ontario et du Québec. La canalisation 9, qui ne fait pas partie de la canalisation principale d’Enbridge, a une capacité de 300 kb/j et transporte du pétrole brut vers Westover, en Ontario, et Montréal, au Québec. La canalisation 7 a une capacité de 180 kb/j; elle achemine aussi du pétrole brut vers Westover. À cet endroit, les deux pipelines se raccordent aux canalisations 10 et 11 d’Enbridge.
  • D’une capacité de 117 kb/j, la canalisation 11 approvisionne la raffinerie de L’Impériale à Nanticoke.
  • La canalisation 10, d’une capacité de 74 kb/j, alimente en pétrole brut la raffinerie de United Refining Company à Warren, en Pennsylvanie, par l’intermédiaire du pipeline Kiantone de United. La filiale de United, Westover Express, a entrepris des démarches pour acheter la canalisation 10 d’Enbridge.
  • Le pipeline Trans-Nord transporte des produits pétroliers raffinés, comme de l’essence automobile et du diesel. Il relie les raffineries de Montréal, au Québec, à d’importants marchés et centres de distribution en Ontario, dont Ottawa, Kingston, Belleville, Oshawa, Toronto et Oakville. Le pipeline fonctionne dans les deux sens entre Toronto et Oakville. Le pipe-line du Nord transporte des produits pétroliers raffinés depuis la raffinerie de L’Impériale à Nanticoke, à l’Est de Toronto. En 2018, les réceptions par ce pipeline ont totalisé 170 kb/j; elles sont en diminution depuis une dizaine d’années.
  • En Ontario, deux pipelines importent de l’éthane. Le Mariner West d’Energy Transfer, d’une capacité de 50 kb/j, transporte l’éthane depuis la région productrice de Marcellus, dans le Sud-Ouest de la Pennsylvanie, jusqu’à la frontière canado-américaine, puis poursuit son chemin sous le nom de pipeline Genesis jusqu’au complexe pétrochimique de NOVA Chemical à Corunna, en Ontario. Le pipeline Utopia, d’une capacité de 50 kb/j achemine l’éthane depuis le comté de Harrison, en Ohio, jusqu’à Windsor, en Ontario.
  • La raffinerie de L’Impériale à Nanticoke est équipée d’un terminal ferroviaire dont la capacité de déchargement de pétrole brut est estimée à 20 kb/j.

Gaz naturel

  • Le réseau principal canadien de TC Énergie (anciennement TransCanada) part de la frontière entre l’Alberta et la Saskatchewan et traverse les Prairies jusqu’en Ontario, où il livre le gaz produit dans l’Ouest canadien (figure 5).
  • Le réseau principal se raccorde à d’autres canalisations à plusieurs points d’importation et d’exportation dans le Sud de l’Ontario. Il rejoint également le pipeline Trans-Québec et Maritimes (« TQM ») à la frontière entre l’Ontario et le Québec.
  • L’Ontario était traditionnellement une province consommatrice de gaz naturel de l’Ouest canadien et en exportait davantage vers les États-Unis qu’elle en importait. Ces dernières années, elle est devenue une importatrice nette, en particulier du Nord-Est des États-Unis et du centre du continent, d’où les importations ont augmenté.
  • Situé en Ontario, le carrefour Dawn est l’une des principales plaques tournantes du commerce de gaz naturel et d’établissement des prix de référence en Amérique du Nord. D’une capacité de 274 Gpi³, il comprend plus de 30 réservoirs de stockage souterrains qui représentent environ 30 % de la capacité souterraine totale de stockage de gaz naturel au Canada.
  • Le 1er janvier 2019, les deux principales sociétés de distribution en Ontario, Union Gas et Enbridge Gas Distribution Inc. ont fusionné. Elles exploitent désormais sous la dénomination sociale d’Enbridge Gas Inc (« EGI »). Cette dernière livre du gaz naturel à quelque 3,7 millions de clients dans plus de 355 municipalités et 21 communautés autochtones en Ontario au moyen d’un réseau de canalisations de plus de 147 600 km. EGI est assujettie à la réglementation de la Commission de l’énergie de l’Ontario.

Gaz naturel liquéfié (« GNL »)

  • Union Gas exploite une petite usine de GNL près de Sudbury, en Ontario, qui est en activité depuis 1968.
  • La société Northeast Midstream a proposé deux autres usines de GNL de petite taille : l’une à Thorold et l’autre à Nipigon. Le projet de Thorold a reçu les permis locaux et provinciaux; la capacité de liquéfaction proposée est de 31,3 Mpi3/j de GNL. En janvier 2019, le gouvernement de l’Ontario a annoncé une participation à hauteur de 27 millions de dollars dans l’usine de GNL de Nipigon, dont l’entrée en service est prévue en 2020.

Électricité

  • En 2018, les exportations interprovinciales et internationales nettes d’électricité de l’Ontario ont totalisé 11,4 TWh.
  • Hydro One possède et exploite presque toute la capacité de transport de l’Ontario et compte quelque 30 000 km de lignes de transport.
  • Hydro One est le plus grand distributeur d’électricité de la province; elle dessert près de 1,4 million de clients, essentiellement en régions rurales, qui compte pour environ 26 % de la clientèle ontarienne. Il existe plus de 60 sociétés de distribution en activité en Ontario.
  • La Société indépendante d’exploitation du réseau électrique (« SIERE ») gère le réseau électrique de la province, en équilibrant l’offre et la demande d’énergie et en faisant transiter celle-ci sur les lignes de transport haute tension.
  • L’Ontario a des interconnexions avec le Manitoba, le Québec, le Michigan, le Minnesota et l’État de New York. La plus grande partie des importations d’électricité de la province provient du Québec, tandis qu’elle exporte principalement vers les États de New York et du Michigan.
  • Le secteur énergétique de l’Ontario, dont l’électricité, est assujetti à la réglementation de la Commission de l’énergie de l’Ontario.

Consommation d’énergie et émissions de gaz à effet de serre (« GES »)

Consommation totale d’énergie

  • En 2017, la demande pour utilisation finale en Ontario a totalisé 3 035 pétajoules (PJ). Le secteur industriel vient au premier rang pour la demande d’énergie (37 % de la demande totale), suivi des transports (29 %), du secteur résidentiel (18 %) et du secteur commercial (16%) (figure 6). L’Ontario arrive au deuxième rang au Canada pour la demande totale d’énergie et au huitième rang pour ce qui est de la consommation par habitant.
  • Les produits pétroliers raffinés ont été le principal type de combustible utilisé en Ontario, à 1 452 PJ ou 48 %. Suivent le gaz naturel et l’électricité avec 852 PJ (28 %) et 481 PJ (16 %), respectivement (figure 7).

Produits pétroliers raffinés

  • Les raffineries dans la province peuvent produire à peu près 75 % de la demande de produits pétroliers raffinés de l’Ontario, y compris l’essence automobile. Les importations proviennent surtout du Québec, par le pipeline Trans Nord, par train et par camion. Il y a aussi des importations qui viennent du Midwest américain. En 2018, environ 12 % du total des produits pétroliers raffinés importés au Canada étaient destinés au marché ontarien.
  • L’Ontario constitue le plus grand marché au Canada pour les produits pétroliers raffinés. En 2018, la demande totale de produits pétroliers raffinés en Ontario s’est élevée à 571 kb/j, soit 30 % de la demande pour l’ensemble du Canada. De ce volume, on estime que 286 kb/j étaient pour l’essence automobile et 133 kb/j pour le diesel.
  • En 2017, l’utilisation de produits pétroliers raffinés par habitant a été de 2 357 litres (15 barils) en Ontario, parmi les plus faibles au Canada. La consommation de produits pétroliers raffinés par habitant en Ontario est inférieure de 22 % à la moyenne nationale de 3 038 litres par habitant.

Gaz naturel

  • En 2018, la consommation de gaz naturel de l’Ontario a totalisé en moyenne 2,7 Gpi3/j. soit 24 % de la demande canadienne totale. Cela fait de cette province la plus grande consommatrice de gaz naturel au pays après l’Alberta.
  • En 2018, le plus grand consommateur de gaz naturel en Ontario a été le secteur industriel (1,00 Gpi3/j). Les secteurs résidentiel et commercial ont pour leur part ont consommé 0,99 Gpi3/j et 0,71 Gpi3/j, respectivement.

Électricité

  • En 2017, la consommation d’électricité par habitant en Ontario s’est établie à 9,5 mégawattheures (MWh). La province arrive au onzième rang au Canada pour la consommation d’électricité par habitant, qui est 35 % inférieure à la moyenne nationale.
  • En Ontario, c’est le secteur commercial qui a enregistré la plus forte consommation d’électricité en 2017 avec 47,0 TWh. Viennent ensuite les secteurs résidentiel et industriel, à 44,2 TWh et 42,1 TWh, respectivement. La demande d’électricité de l’Ontario a augmenté de 3 % depuis 2005.

Émissions de GES

  • En 2017, les émissions de GES de l’Ontario ont totalisé 159 mégatonnes (Mt) d’équivalent en dioxyde de carbone (éq. CO2), une baisse de 12 % depuis 1990.Note de bas de page 1
  • Les émissions par habitant de l’Ontario sont les deuxièmes plus basses au Canada, à 11,3 tonnes d’éq. CO2, soit 42 % sous la moyenne nationale de 19,6 tonnes par habitant.
  • Les secteurs qui émettent le plus de GES en Ontario sont les transports avec 35 % du total, les industries lourdes (fonderies, cimenteries et usines de pétrochimie) à 24 % et les bâtiments (résidentiels et commerciaux) à 22 % (figure 8).
  • En 2017, les émissions de GES du secteur pétrolier et gazier de l’Ontario ont totalisé 9,3 Mt d’éq. CO2. De ce total, 1,4 Mt étaient attribuables à la production, à la transformation et au transport, et 7,9 Mt découlaient du raffinage du pétrole et de la distribution du gaz naturel.
  • En 2017, le secteur de la production d’électricité de la province a émis 2,0 Mt d’éq. CO2, soit 3 % du total des émissions canadiennes de GES provenant de la production d’électricité. Les émissions de GES de l’Ontario découlant de la production d’énergie ont connu un sommet en 2000 à 43,4 Mt d’éq. CO2, puis ont diminué au fur et à mesure qu’a été délaissée la production d’énergie par le charbon, de 2005 à 2014.

Complément d’information

Sources des données

Les profils énergétiques des provinces et territoires s’harmonisent avec les plus récents ensembles de données d’Avenir énergétique du Canada en 2019 de la Régie. Les concepteurs d’Avenir énergétique puisent dans diverses sources de données; ils se basent généralement sur celles de Statistique Canada et font des ajustements selon les circonstances particulières de chaque province et territoire. Les ajustements sont nécessaires pour assurer l’uniformité et la comparabilité des données sur les provinces et territoires.

Date de modification :