On Wednesday, Aug. 28, the National Energy Board (NEB) became the Canada Energy Regulator (CER). For further information please visit our Implementing the Canadian Energy Regulator Act information page

Provincial and Territorial Energy Profiles – Yukon

Yukon
Table of Contents
  • Figure 1: Hydrocarbon Production

    Figure 1: Hydrocarbon Production

    Source and Description:

    Source:
    NEB – Canada's Energy Future 2018

    Description:
    This graph shows hydrocarbon production in Yukon from 2007 to 2017. Over this period, natural gas production has deceased from 7 Mcf/d to none since 2012.

  • Figure 2: Electricity Generation by Fuel Type (2017)

    Figure 2: Electricity Generation by Fuel Type (2017)

    Source and Description:

    Source:
    Statistics Canada (Tables 25-10-0020-01 and 25-10-0019-01), NEB Estimates

    Description:
    This pie chart shows electricity generation by source in Yukon. A total of 0.5 TW.h of electricity was generated in 2017.

  • Figure 3: Electricity Capacity and Primary Fuel Sources Map

    Figure 3: Electricity Capacity and Primary Fuel Sources Map

    Source and Description:

    Source:
    NEB, Natural Resources Canada, Yukon Energy

    Description:
    This map shows electricity generation facilities in Yukon. Facilities are shown by capacity and by primary fuel source.

    Download:
    PDF version [767 KB]

  • Figure 4: Natural Gas Infrastructure Map

    Figure 4: Natural Gas Infrastructure Map

    Source and Description:

    Source:
    NEB

    Description:
    This map shows all major natural gas pipelines in Yukon.

    Download:
    PDF version [508 KB]

  • Figure 5: End-Use Demand by Sector (2016)

    Figure 5: End-Use Demand by Sector (2016)

    Source and Description:

    Source:
    NEB – Canada's Energy Future 2018

    Description:
    This pie chart shows end-use energy demand in Yukon by sector. Total end-use energy demand was 6.8 PJ in 2016. The largest sector was transportation at 63% of total demand, followed by commercial (at 14%), industrial (at 13%), and lastly, residential (at 10%).

  • Figure 6: End-Use Demand by Fuel (2016)

    Figure 6: End-use demand by fuel (2016)

    Source and Description:

    Source:
    NEB – Canada's Energy Future 2018

    Description:
    This figure shows end-use demand by fuel type in Yukon in 2016. Refined petroleum products accounted for 5.4 PJ (79%) of demand and electricity at 1.4 PJ (21%). There was no end-use demand of biofuels, natural gas, or others.

    Note: "Other" includes coal, coke, and coke oven gas.

  • Figure 7: GHG Emissions by Sector

    Figure 7: GHG Emissions by Sector

    Source and Description:

    Source:
    Environment and Climate Change Canada – National Inventory Report

    Description:
    This stacked column graph shows GHG emissions in Yukon by sector every five years from 1990 to 2016 in MT of CO2e equivalent. Total GHG emissions have decreased in Yukon from 0.53 MT of CO2e in 1990 to 0.43 MT of CO2e in 2016.

Energy Production

Crude Oil

  • Yukon does not have any commercial crude oil production.
  • Although eight areas in Yukon have been identified as having crude oil potential of up to 900 million barrels, no significant amount of crude oil has ever been produced.

Refined Petroleum Products (RPPs)

  • There are no refineries in Yukon.

Natural Gas/Natural Gas Liquids (NGLs)

  • There is currently no natural gas or NGL production in Yukon.
  • Small volumes of natural gas were produced in the Kotaneelee field in southeastern Yukon until 2012, when production was suspended for economic reasons (Figure 1).
  • Yukon’s technically recoverable natural gas has been estimated by the NEB to be eight trillion cubic feet.

Electricity and Renewables

  • In 2017, Yukon generated about 0.4 terawatt hours (TW.h) of electricity (Figure 2), which is approximately 0.1% of total Canadian generation. Yukon has a generating capacity of 156 megawatts (MW).
  • Yukon Energy Corporation is publicly-owned and generates most of Yukon’s electricity. It also owns and operates most of the transmission infrastructure. ATCO Electric Yukon is a privately owned distributor that also contributes some power generation.
  • Yukon generates the majority of its electricity from hydro sources. In 2016, hydroelectricity accounted for 95% of total generation. Yukon has four hydro plants with a total capacity of 95 MW (Figure 3). The largest is Whitehorse Hydro Facility, which can supply 40 MW of power in the summer and 25 MW in the winter when water flow is reduced.
  • Generation from diesel and natural gas is required for periods of peak demand. Yukon used to rely primarily on diesel, but the lower cost of liquefied natural gas (LNG) in recent years has made investments in LNG facilities more economically feasible. Yukon is projected to increase its use of LNG and biomass in the future.

Energy Transportation and Trade

Crude Oil and Liquids

  • There are no crude oil pipelines or crude-by-rail facilities in Yukon.
  • The Canol 1 Pipeline was built to carry crude oil from Norman Wells, Northwest Territories (NWT) to a refinery in Whitehorse during World War II. The pipeline was constructed by the United States (U.S.) Army and operated for less than two years and then removed. Three other crude and products pipelines were constructed as part of the Canol project and connected Whitehorse to the Alaskan cities of Skagway and Fairbanks.

Natural Gas

  • The Enbridge BC Pipeline originates in the southwestern corner of NWT and connects the Kotaneelee field in southeastern Yukon to the Fort Nelson, British Columbia (B.C.) gas processing plant (Figure 4). This section of the pipeline is currently not in operation.

Liquefied Natural Gas (LNG)

  • Whitehorse receives LNG by truck from the FortisBC small-scale LNG facility at Tilbury Island near Vancouver, B.C. The LNG is used at Yukon Energy’s Whitehorse facility for electricity generation.
  • There are no current or proposed large-scale LNG facilities in the Yukon.

Electricity

  • Yukon has over 900 kilometres of electricity transmission lines that connect the majority of the territory to the main hydroelectricity-based grid. Five communities are off-grid and rely on local, diesel-fired generation for electricity.
  • Because of long distances to generation facilities in neighbouring provinces and territories, there are no transmission lines to enable the trade of electricity between Yukon and other jurisdictions.

Energy Consumption and Greenhouse Gas (GHG) Emissions

Total Energy Consumption

  • End-use demand in Yukon was 6.8 petajoules (PJ) in 2016. The largest sector for energy demand was transportation at 62% of total demand, followed by commercial at 15%, industrial at 13%, and residential at 10% (Figure 5). Yukon’s total energy demand was the smallest in Canada and per capita energy demand was the second smallest in Canada.
  • RPPs, including gasoline, diesel, and jet fuel, were the largest fuel type consumed in Yukon, accounting for 5.4 PJ, or 79%. Electricity and biofuels accounted for 1.4 PJ (21%) and 0.02 PJ (<1%), respectively (Figure 6).

Refined Petroleum Products

  • Virtually all of the gasoline consumed in Yukon is produced in Alberta or B.C., but occasionally some small volumes are also imported from Alaska. Other RPPs, including diesel and heating oil, are produced in neighbouring provinces or imported from U.S. refineries in Alaska or elsewhere.
  • Yukon’s RPP demand data is not publically available for 2017. Yukon is one of the smallest markets in Canada for RPPs. As a percentage of total RPPs consumed in Yukon, the majority is diesel fuel. A significant portion of this diesel demand is for power generation in communities not connected to the electrical grid, and when hydroelectric generation is insufficient to meet power demands for those on the territorial grid.

Natural Gas

  • Natural gas (stored as LNG) is used at Yukon Energy’s Whitehorse facility to generate electricity during peak winter demand or as backup for hydroelectric outages.

Electricity

  • In 2016, annual electricity consumption per capita in Yukon was 10.3 megawatt hours (MW.h). Yukon ranked 10th in Canada for per capita electricity consumption and consumed 29% less than the national average.
  • Yukon’s largest consuming sector for electricity in 2016 was commercial at 0.19 TW.h. The residential and industrial sectors consumed 0.16 TW.h and 0.04 TW.h, respectively. Yukon’s electricity demand has grown 36% since 2005.
  • Yukon has the lowest electricity prices of the territories because of its hydroelectric infrastructure. In 2017, residents paid 11.5 cents per kilowatt hour (kW.h) for the first 1 000 kW.h of electricity consumption.
  • Mining is a significant driver of Yukon’s energy demand, and the opening and closing of mines can dramatically affect electricity consumption.

GHG Emissions

  • Yukon’s GHG emissions in 2016 were 426 thousand tonnes of CO2e.Footnote 1 Yukon’s emissions have decreased 20% since 1990.
  • Yukon’s emissions per capita are the second lowest in Canada at 11.8 tonnes of CO2e – 39% below the Canadian average of 19.4 tonnes per capita.
  • The largest emitting sectors in Yukon are transportation at 69% of emissions and industrial at 13% (Figure 7).
  • Yukon had no oil and gas production in 2016 and therefore, had zero GHG emissions associated with the oil and gas sector.
  • In 2016, Yukon’s power sector emitted 20.1 kilotonnes of CO2 equivalent (CO2e) emissions, which represents practically 0% of Canada’s total GHG emissions from power generation.
  • Yukon has committed to reducing emissions by 20% by 2020. It has implemented a biomass energy strategy and also introduced a micro-generation program which allows individuals to produce and sell electricity to the grid.

More Information

Date modified:

Le mercredi 28 août, l’Office national de l’énergie est devenu la Régie de l’énergie du Canada. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez la page d’information sur la mise en œuvre de la Loi sur la Régie canadienne de l’énergie

Profils énergétiques des provinces et territoires – Yukon

Yukon
Table des matières
  • Figure 1 : Production d’hydrocarbures

    Figure 1 : Production d’hydrocarbures

    Source et description :

    Source :
    Office – Avenir énergétique du Canada en 2018

    Description :
    Ce graphique illustre la production d’hydrocarbures au Yukon de 2007 à 2017. Au cours de cette période, la production de gaz naturel a diminué, passant de 7 kb/j à zéro depuis 2012.

  • Figure 2 : Production d’électricité par type de combustible (2017)

    Figure 2 :Production d’électricité par type de combustible (2017)

    Source et description :

    Source :
    Statistique Canada (Tableaux 25-10-0020-01 and 25-10-0019-01), estimations de l'Office

    Description :
    Ce diagramme circulaire illustre la production d’électricité au Yukon par méthode de production. En 2017, la production totale d’électricité s’est élevée à 0,5 TWh.

  • Figure 3 : Carte de la capacité de production d’électricité et des sources de combustible primaire

    Figure 3 : Carte de la capacité de production d’électricité et des sources de combustible primaire

    Source et description :

    Source :
    Office, Ressources naturelles Canada, Yukon Energy

    Description :
    Cette carte montre les installations de production d’électricité au Yukon. On y indique leur capacité et leur source du combustible primaire.

    Télécharger :
    Version PDF [1255 ko]

  • Figure 4 : Carte de l’infrastructure de gaz naturel

    Figure 4 : Carte de l’infrastructure de gaz naturel

    Source et description :

    Source :
    Office

    Description :
    Cette carte montre tous les principaux gazoducs au Yukon.

    Télécharger :
    Version PDF [530 ko]

  • Figure 5 : Demande pour utilisation finale par secteur (2016)

    Figure 5: Demande pour utilisation finale par secteur (2016)

    Source et description :

    Source :
    Office – Avenir énergétique du Canada en 2018

    Description :
    Ce diagramme circulaire présente la demande d’énergie pour utilisation finale au Yukon par secteur. En 2016, la demande d’énergie pour utilisation finale a totalisé 6,8 PJ. Les transports viennent au premier rang avec 63 % de la demande totale, suivis du secteur commercial (14 %), puis des secteurs industriel (13 %) et résidentiel (10 %).

  • Figure 6 : Demande pour utilisation finale par combustible (2016)

    Figure 6: Demande pour utilisation finale par combustible (2016)

    Source et description :

    Source :
    Office – Avenir énergétique du Canada en 2018

    Description :
    Cette figure illustre la demande pour utilisation finale par type de combustible au Yukon en 2016. Les produits pétroliers raffinés ont compté pour 5,4 PJ (79 %) de la demande, suivis de l’électricité, à 1,4 PJ (21 %), le gaz naturel, les biocarburants et les autres combustibles n’étant nullement présents (0 PJ).

    Remarque : Les autres combustibles comprennent le charbon, le coke et le gaz de cokerie.

  • Figure 7 : Émissions de GES par secteur

    Figure 7: Émissions de GES par secteur

    Source et description :

    Source :
    Environnement et Changement climatique Canada – Rapport d'inventaire national

    Description :
    Ce graphique à colonnes empilées illustre les émissions de GES au Yukon par tranches de cinq ans, de 1990 à 2016 en Mt d’éq. CO2. Les émissions totales de GES ont diminué au Yukon, passant de 0,53 Mt d’éq. CO2 en 1990 à 0,43 Mt en 2016.

Production d’énergie

Pétrole brut

  • Le Yukon ne produit pas de pétrole brut commercial.
  • Bien que l’on ait découvert un potentiel de 900 millions de barils de pétrole brut dans huit régions du Yukon, on n’a jamais produit de grandes quantités de pétrole brut.

Produits pétroliers raffinés

  • Il n’y a aucune raffinerie au Yukon.

Gaz naturel et liquides de gaz naturel (LGN)

  • Le Yukon ne produit actuellement ni gaz naturel ni LGN.
  • De petites quantités de gaz naturel ont été produites dans le champ de Kotaneelee dans le sud-est du Yukon jusqu’en 2012, année où la production a été interrompue pour des raisons économiques (figure 1).
  • L’Office a estimé les ressources de gaz naturel du Yukon huit mille milliards de pieds cubes.

Électricité et ressources renouvelables

  • En 2017, le Yukon a produit 0,4 térawattheure (TWh) d’électricité (figure 2), ce qui correspond approximativement à 0,1 % de la production totale d’électricité au Canada. La capacité de production du Yukon s’élève à 156 mégawatts (MW).
  • La Société d’énergie du Yukon est une société publique; elle produit la majeure partie de l’électricité du territoire. Elle possède et exploite également la plus grande partie de l’infrastructure de transport. ATCO Electric Yukon [anglais seulement] est un distributeur privé qui contribue aussi à la production d’électricité.
  • Le Yukon produit l’essentiel de son électricité au moyen de ressources hydroélectriques. En 2016, l’hydroélectricité représentait 95 % de la production totale. Le Yukon compte quatre centrales hydroélectriques d’une capacité totale de 95 MW (figure 3). La plus grande est la centrale hydroélectrique de Whitehorse [anglais seulement], qui peut produire 40 MW d’électricité l’été et 25 MW l’hiver, quand le débit d’eau est limité.
  • Il faut recourir au diesel et au gaz naturel pour produire de l’électricité en période de pointe. Le Yukon utilise principalement du diesel, mais la baisse du prix du gaz naturel liquéfié (GNL) au cours des dernières années a rendu plus acceptables les investissements dans ces installations sur le plan économique. Le Yukon compte augmenter son usage du GNL et de la biomasse au cours des prochaines années.

Transport et commerce de l’énergie

Pétrole brut et liquides

  • Il n’y a pas de pipelines de pétrole brut ni d’installations de transport ferroviaire de pétrole brut au Yukon.
  • Il n’y a pas d’oléoducs ni d’installations de transport ferroviaire de pétrole brut au Yukon.
  • Le pipeline Canol 1 [anglais seulement] a été construit pour transporter du pétrole brut de Norman Wells, dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, à une raffinerie située à Whitehorse, durant la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Le pipeline a été aménagé par l’Armée américaine. Il a été utilisé pendant moins de deux ans, puis il a été retiré. Trois autres pipelines transportant du pétrole brut et des produits ont été construits dans le cadre du projet Canol pour relier Whitehorse aux villes de Skagway et Fairbanks, en Alaska.

Gaz naturel

  • Le pipeline BC Pipeline d'Enbridge commence dans le sud-ouest des Territoires du Nord-Ouest et relie le champ de Kotaneelee, dans le sud-est du Yukon, à l’usine de traitement du gaz à Fort Nelson, en Colombie-Britannique (figure 4). Ce tronçon du pipeline n’est actuellement pas en exploitation.

Gaz naturel liquéfié (GNL)

  • Whitehorse reçoit du GNL par camion de la petite usine de liquéfaction de l’île Tilbury [anglais seulement] de FortisBC, près de Vancouver, en Colombie-Britannique. Ce GNL sert à alimenter la centrale d’Énergie Yukon située à Whitehorse où l’on produit de l’électricité.
  • Il n’y a aucune installation de GNL de grande envergure existante ou proposée au Yukon.

Électricité

  • Le Yukon compte sur plus de 900 km de lignes électriques qui raccordent la plus grande partie du territoire au réseau principal d’hydroélectricité. Cinq collectivités ne sont pas reliées au réseau électrique; l’électricité est produite localement à partir de diesel.
  • En raison des longues distances qui séparent les installations de production des provinces ou territoires voisins, il n’y a pas de lignes de transport permettant les échanges d’électricité entre eux.

Consommation d’énergie et émissions de gaz à effet de serre (GES)

Consommation totale d’énergie

  • En 2016, la demande pour utilisation finale du Yukon a totalisé 6,8 pétajoules (PJ). Les transports viennent au premier rang pour la demande d’énergie, avec 62 % de la demande totale, suivis du secteur commercial, à 15 %, du secteur industriel, à 13 %, et du secteur résidentiel, à 10 % (figure 5). La demande totale d’énergie du Yukon est la plus faible au Canada et la consommation par habitant est au deuxième rang des moins élevées au pays.
  • Les produits pétroliers raffinés, y compris l’essence, le diesel et le carburéacteur, sont les combustibles les plus utilisés au Yukon, à 5,4 PJ ou 79 %. Suivent l’électricité et les biocombustibles, avec 1,4 PJ (21 %) et 0,02 PJ (< 1 %), respectivement (figure 6).

Produits pétroliers raffinés

  • Presque toute l’essence consommée au Yukon est produite en Alberta ou en Colombie-Britannique; parfois, de petites quantités peuvent être importées de l’Alaska. D’autres produits pétroliers raffinés, notamment du diesel et du mazout de chauffage, sont produits dans les provinces voisines ou importés des raffineries américaines situées en Alaska ou d’ailleurs.
  • Les données relatives à la demande de produits pétroliers raffinés au Yukon ne sont pas disponibles pour 2017. Le Yukon est un des plus petits marchés au Canada pour les produits pétroliers raffinés. Le plus grand pourcentage du total de produits pétroliers raffinés consommés au Yukon est du carburant diesel. Une part considérable de la demande de diesel sert à produire de l’électricité dans les collectivités qui ne sont pas raccordées au réseau électrique, et lorsque la production hydroélectrique est insuffisante pour répondre à la demande des localités qui sont reliées au réseau territorial.

Gaz naturel

  • Le gaz naturel (stocké en GNL) est utilisé à la centrale d’Énergie Yukon à Whitehorse pour produire de l’électricité en période de pointe durant l’hiver ou comme source d’énergie d’appoint en cas d’interruption de la production hydroélectrique.

Électricité

  • En 2016, la consommation d’électricité par habitant au Yukon s’est établie à 10,3 mégawattheures (MWh). Le Yukon arrive au dixième rang au Canada pour la consommation d’électricité par habitant, qui se situe à 29 % sous la moyenne nationale.
  • Au Yukon, c’est le secteur commercial qui a enregistré la plus forte consommation d’électricité en 2016, avec 0,19 TWh. Viennent ensuite les secteurs résidentiel et industriel, à 0,16 TWh et 0,04 TWh, respectivement. La demande d’électricité au Yukon a augmenté de 36 % depuis 2005.
  • Le Yukon a les prix de l’électricité les plus bas des territoires en raison de son infrastructure hydroélectrique. En 2017, les résidents ont payé 11,5 cents le kilowattheure (kWh) pour la première tranche de 1 000 kWh d’électricité consommés.
  • L’exploitation minière joue un rôle déterminant dans la demande énergétique au Yukon; l’ouverture ou la fermeture de mines peut avoir une incidence énorme sur la consommation d’électricité.

Émissions de GES

  • En 2016, les émissions de GES du Yukon ont totalisé 426 mégatonnes (Mt) d’équivalent en dioxyde de carbone (éq. CO2)Note de bas de page 1, une baisse de 20 % depuis 1990.
  • Les émissions par habitant du Yukon sont au deuxième rang des plus faibles au Canada, à 11,8 tonnes d’éq. CO2, soit 39 % sous la moyenne nationale de 19,4 tonnes par habitant.
  • Les secteurs qui émettent le plus de GES au Yukon sont les transports, avec 69 % des émissions totales, et le secteur industriel, à 13 % (figure 7).
  • Le Yukon n’avait aucune production pétrolière et gazière en 2016, donc aucune émission de GES associée à ce secteur. 
  • En 2016, le secteur de l’énergie du Yukon a émis 20,1 kilotonnes d’éq. CO2, ce qui représente pratiquement 0 % du total des émissions canadiennes de GES provenant de la production d’électricité.
  • Le Yukon s’est engagé à réduire ses émissions de 20 % d’ici à 2020. Il a mis en œuvre une stratégie énergétique axée sur la biomasse et introduit un programme de micro-installations qui permet aux particuliers de produire de l’électricité et d’en vendre au réseau.

Complément d’information

Date de modification :