On Wednesday, Aug. 28, the National Energy Board (NEB) became the Canada Energy Regulator (CER). For further information please visit our Implementing the Canadian Energy Regulator Act information page

National Energy Board service standards and performance information for fiscal year 2017 to 2018

National Energy Board

This report covers the 2017 to 2018 fiscal yearFootnote 1. A fiscal year runs from April 1 to March 31.

On this page

  • Short-term Natural Gas Import or Export Order Decision
  • Short-term Oil, Propane, and/or Butane Export Order Renewal Decision

As part of its ongoing commitment to provide quality client service, the National Energy Board has developed service standards. Service standards state the level of performance that citizens can reasonably expect to receive under normal circumstances.

We have met or exceeded our performance targets in 100% of the services we offer. Our performance results are described in more detail below.

Short-Term Natural Gas Import or Export Order Decision

Service description: The import and export of natural gas is authorized by the NEB, usually in the form of a short-term order for a period not exceeding two years. Applications for short-term orders are submitted through the Board’s Online Application System. The NEB will issue a decision on the issuance of a short-term natural gas import or export order. The application and authorization processes ensure that importers and exporters of natural gas comply with the National Energy Board Act Part VI (Oil and Gas) Regulations, s. 15 and 16. The Board receives approximately 200 new applications per year, consequently short-term import and export orders are classified as high volume authorizations.

  • Service standard: issue a decision within 2 business days of receipt of a complete application.Footnote 2
  • Performance target: meet the service standard for at least 80% of applications submitted to the NEB, under normal circumstances.
  • Performance result in fiscal year 2017 to 2018: the standard was met 100% of the time.

Short-Term Oil, Propane, and/or Butane Export Order Renewal Decision

Service description: The export of oil, propane, and butane is authorized by the Board, usually in the form of a short-term export order for a period not exceeding one year. Exporters operating under a short-term export order must submit an application for renewal, through the Online Application System, to continue exporting, before the end of the year (December 31st). The NEB will issue a decision for the renewal of the short-term oil, propane, and/or butane export order. The application and renewal authorization processes ensure that exporters of oil, propane, and/or butane comply with the National Energy Board Act Part VI (Oil and Gas) Regulations, s. 22 and 23 (propane and butanes) or s. 28 and 29 (oil). The Board receives approximately 300 renewal applications per year, consequently short-term export renewal orders are classified as high volume authorizations.

  • Service standard: issue a decision by December 31 of the year of the order’s renewal.Footnote 2
  • Performance target: meet the service standard for 100% of applications submitted to the NEB, under normal circumstances
  • Performance result in fiscal year 2017 to 2018: the standard was met 100% of the time.

Service standards and performance results for previous fiscal years

Date modified:

Le mercredi 28 août, l’Office national de l’énergie est devenu la Régie de l’énergie du Canada. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez la page d’information sur la mise en œuvre de la Loi sur la Régie canadienne de l’énergie

Normes de service et renseignements sur le rendement de l’Office national de l’énergie pour l’exercice financier 2017–2018

L’Office national de l’énergie

Le présent rapport porte sur l’exercice financier 2017–2018Note de bas de page 1. Un exercice financier s’échelonne du 1er avril au 31 mars.

Sur cette page

  • Norme de service visant une decision pour une ordonnance d’importation ou d’exportation à court terme de gaz naturel
  • Norme de service visant une decision de renouvellement d’ordonnance d’exportation à court terme de pétrole, de propane et/ou de butane

Suivant son engagement continu à fournir un service de qualité aux clients, L’Office national de l’énergie a élaboré des normes de service. Les normes de service déterminent le niveau de rendement que les citoyens peuvent raisonnablement s’attendre à recevoir dans des circonstances normales.

L’Office a atteint ou dépassé ses objectifs de rendement dans 100 % des services offerts. Les résultats de rendement sont décrits plus en détail ci-après.

Norme de service visant une decision pour une ordonnance d’importation ou d’exportation à court terme de gaz naturel

Description du service : L’importation et l’exportation de gaz naturel sont autorisées par l’Office, habituellement au moyen d’une ordonnance à court terme d’une période d’au plus deux ans. Les demandes d’ordonnance à court terme sont soumises par le truchement du système de demande en ligne de l’Office. L’Office décide s’il doit rendre une ordonnance d’importation ou d’exportation à court terme de gaz naturel. Les processus de demande et d’autorisation assurent la conformité des importateurs et des exportateurs de gaz naturel aux articles 15 et 16 du Règlement de l’Office national de l’énergie concernant le gaz et le pétrole (partie VI de la Loi). L’Office reçoit approximativement 200 nouvelles demandes par année. Par conséquent, les ordonnances d’importation et d’exportation à court terme sont classées parmi les autorisations à demande élevée.

  • Norme de service : Décision rendue dans les 2 jours civils suivant la réception d’une demande complèteNote de bas de page 2
  • Objectif de rendement : Norme de service respectée pour au moins 80 % des demandes présentées à l’Office, dans des circonstances normales
  • Résultat liés au rendement au cours de l’exercice financier 2017-2018 – Norme respectée à 100 %

Norme de service visant une decision de renouvellement d’ordonnance d’exportation à court terme de pétrole, de propane et/ou de butane

Description du service – L’exportation de pétrole, de propane et de butane sont autorisées par l’Office, habituellement au moyen d’une ordonnance d’exportation à court terme d’une période d’au plus un an. Les exportateurs exerçant des activités au titre d’une ordonnance d’exportation à court terme doivent soumettre une demande de renouvellement dans le système de demande en ligne pour continuer à exporter, et ce avant la fin de l’année (31 décembre). L’Office rend une décision relative au renouvellement de l’ordonnance d’exportation à court terme de pétrole, de propane ou de butane. Les processus de demande et d’autorisation assurent la conformité des exportateurs de pétrole, de propane ou de butane aux articles 22 et 23 (propane et butane) ou aux articles 28 et 29 (pétrole) du Règlement de l’Office national de l’énergie concernant le gaz et le pétrole (partie VI de la Loi). L’Office reçoit approximativement 300  demandes de renouvellement par année. Par conséquent, les ordonnances de renouvellement d’exportation à court terme sont classées parmi les autorisations à demande élevée.

  • Norme de service : Décision rendue au plus tard le 31 décembre de l’année du renouvellement de l’ordonnanceNote de bas de page 2
  • Objectif de rendement : Norme de service respectée pour 100 % des demandes présentées à l’Office, dans des circonstances normales
  • Résultat liés au rendement au cours de l’exercice financier 2017-2018 – Norme respectée à 100 %

Normes de service et résultats liés au rendement pour les exercices financiers antérieurs

Date de modification :