On Wednesday, Aug. 28, the National Energy Board (NEB) became the Canada Energy Regulator (CER). For further information please visit our Implementing the Canadian Energy Regulator Act information page

Market Snapshot: Levelized costs of driving EVs and conventional vehicles

Release date: 2019-06-05

Introduction

In 2018 almost 44 000 electric vehicles (EVs) were sold in Canada; this is a large increase from the 2 000 sold in 2012. In the future, electric vehicle adoption presents a key uncertainty for understanding how energy systems will evolve. Many factors will influence future EV sales including cost, government policy, consumer preferences, advances in technology, and charging infrastructure.

Currently, EVs are more expensive to buy than conventional vehicles with an internal combustion engine (ICE).Footnote 1 However, EVs are more energy efficient than ICE vehicles, which could lead to cost savings when driving. Figure 1 compares prices and fuel efficiency for some of the most popular models of EVs and ICE vehicles. Hybrid vehicles, which have both internal combustion engines and electric motors, have not been included in this analysis.

EVs have maintenance costs that are about 70% below comparable ICE vehicles.Footnote 2 This is partly because EVs have fewer moving parts in their drivetrains and do not need oil changes. EVs also use regenerative braking, which converts motion to electricity to slow a car down and helps brakes last longer.

Figure 1: Comparison of Costs between Selected EV and ICE Vehicles

Source and Description

Source: Manufacturer Websites

Description: This chart shows the difference in both purchase prices and fuel efficiency for some popular passenger vehicles in Canada. Purchase prices for EVs are currently much higher than those of comparable ICE vehicles, but are much more energy efficient. Fuel efficiency comparisons between EVs and ICE vehicles are done using liters equivalent per 100 km (Le/100km), which converts electricity into an equal amount of gasoline based on energy content.

Figure 2 shows the future purchase costs of EVs and ICE cars and trucksFootnote 3, as assumed in the Reference Case and Technology Case from the NEB’s Canada’s Energy Future 2018 (EF2018) report. Sales of electric vehicles reach over 60% of new vehicles sold by 2040 in the EF2018 Technology CaseFootnote 4, while the Reference CaseFootnote 5 sees slower growth. Meanwhile, in both cases, EVs will continue to be more expensive to purchase than comparable ICE vehicles until 2040. In both projections, however, the prices of ICE vehicles slightly climb while the prices of EVs fall. EV prices fall more in the Technology Case than in the Reference Case, because the Technology Case expects faster adoption of EVs and technology that improves more quickly.

Figure 2: Projected Purchase Costs of EVs and ICE Vehicles in 2020, 2030, and 2040

Source and Description

Source: NEB

Description: The projected vehicle prices from EF2018’s Reference Case and Technology Case are shown in the graph for 2020, 2030, and 2040. While the prices of ICE cars and trucks are generally lower than their EV equivalents, the graph shows that in both cases, the price of ICE vehicles slightly climbs over the projection, while the price of EVs falls. The size of this decrease is larger in the Technology Case.

Levelized cost of driving is a way to compare EVs and ICE vehicles

Levelized cost of driving (LCOD) calculates how much it costs to drive a vehicle per kilometer over the vehicle’s life. LCOD is used to compare vehicles with different purchase, fuel, and maintenance costs and lifespans. Thus, LCODs are a useful way to compare EVs to ICE vehiclesFootnote 6.

Figure 3 shows LCODs for vehicles purchased in the years 2020, 2030, and 2040 as calculated from EF2018 cost data. In 2020, EV cars have a lower LCOD than ICE cars in most provinces in both the Reference Case and the Technology Case. By 2030, EV cars have a lower LCOD than ICE cars in all provinces in both cases.

In most provinces, except Ontario, Northwest Territories, and Nunavut, EV trucks have a lower LCOD than ICE trucks in both cases. In 2040, EV cars and EV trucks have a lower LCOD in all provinces and in both cases. Because of abundant hydroelectricity in Canada, electricity prices are low in regions such as Quebec and British Columbia, which lowers the LCOD of EVs. Meanwhile, in the Technology Case, carbon prices are much higher than in the Reference Case. This makes gasoline more expensive and contributes to the advantage that EVs have over ICE vehicles.

Additionally, as shown in Figure 3, the purchase cost of an EV in Canada makes up around 82% of the LCOD in 2020 in the Reference Case, while it only contributes to 61% of an ICE vehicle’s LCOD. Fuel costs, on the other hand, make up about 9% of the LCOD of an EV car in 2020 in the Reference Case, while they contribute 29% of the LCOD of an ICE car, with maintenance costs making up about the last 10%.

Figure 3: Projected LCOD Comparisons for EVs and ICE Vehicles in 2020, 2030, and 2040

Source and Description

Source: NEB

Description: The chart shows estimated LCODs by year, vehicle type, region, and EF2018 Case. In 2020, EV cars in most provinces have a lower LCOD than ICE cars. By 2030, EV cars in all provinces have a lower LCOD. In most provinces, except those with the most expensive electricity, EV trucks have a lower LCOD. In 2040, EV cars and trucks in all provinces have a lower LCOD.

For example, the Reference Case Canadian LCOD is $0.33/km for an EV car, $0.34 for an ICE car, $0.44 for an EV truck and $0.42 for an ICE truck in 2020. However by 2040, the LCOD of an EV car drops to $0.29/km, and to $0.33 for a comparable ICE car. In the same year the LCOD for an EV truck reaches $0.37/km and $0.41 for an ICE truck.

Key takeaways from this analysis include that EV cars have lower LCODs than ICE cars in the near future

Some key takeaways on projected LCOD comparisons are:

  • Both purchase cost and fuel efficiency are important. For example in 2020, the price of an EV truck is about C$ 13 500 more than a comparable ICE truck, but after fuel cost savings are taken into account, the LCODs become much more comparable (although there are significant variations between regions).
  • Further cost reductions in the price of EVs are important in both the Reference and Technology Cases, and help LCODs of EVs become comparable to those of ICE vehicles. These cost assumptions cause EVs to gain parity in many regions by 2020, and in almost all of them by 2030, and 2040 for both cases.
  • EV cars have lower LCODs than ICE cars in the near future, while this is further off for larger vehicles.
  • It is important to remember that vehicles are purchased for many reasons beyond purchase price, operating costs, and maintenance costs. A good example of this can be found by comparing the LCOD of ICE cars and ICE trucks. The LCODs of ICE trucks are much higher than that of ICE cars, yet trucks dominate vehicle sales in Canada.

Levelized cost of driving is very sensitive to changes in assumed costs

LCOD can vary significantly when costs are changed. For example, the LCOD for both EVs and ICE vehicles decrease if distance driven increases to 20 000 km/year from 15 000 km/year, because more kilometers spread out vehicle purchase costs. However, EV LCOD falls more than for ICE LCOD because fuel costs are cheaper for EVs. Meanwhile, if a vehicle is driven only 10 000 km/year, then LCOD will increase for both types of vehicles, but more so for EVs since their fuel savings matter less. Also, various discount rates reflect the interest that could be earned by investing the money rather than spending it and puts different values on future expenses. A lower discount rate would make EVs relatively more attractive. The chart below shows the results of these changes.

Figure 4: LCOD Sensitivity Analysis

Source and Description

Source: NEB

Description: This chart shows how changes to distance driven per year and the discount rate used can affect the LCOD. When a vehicle is driven more km every year, the LCOD decreases since the purchase cost is spread out over more km. If a higher discount rate is used, less value is put on future fuel and maintenance costs also resulting in a lower LCOD. The reverse is also true for both of the above statements.

Conclusion

  • Falling LCOD for EVs based on EF2018 data shows why it is not surprising that EV sales in Canada have been rising. Some provinces currently offer subsidies, making EVs more attractive.
  • Currently, EVs have an advantage in fuel and maintenance costs. If technology continues to improve, purchase costs could fall to the point where they are comparable or even lower than that of equivalent ICE vehicles. This would result in an LCOD that strongly favors EVs.
  • LCOD is greatly affected by a number factors including electricity price, vehicle purchase price, discount rate, and kilometers driven per year. This makes buying an EV in a province with lower electricity costs cheaper for consumers.
  • It is important to remember that LCOD relies on a few assumptions and does not capture all the reasons why people buy or do not buy EVs. It does, however, provide a useful tool for making basic economic decisions. This can be weighed against other issues such as vehicle range, charging availability, and personal preference.
Appendix: LCOD Calculation Methods

Fuel costs used can be found in the Data Appendices section of Canada’s Energy Future 2018. Vehicle costs can be found in the Figure Data spreadsheet on the sheet 4.11 from the same report. Maintenance costs for EV cars are based on Palmer et al (2018), where costs for trucks are assumed to be 1.5 times more expensive. Vehicle fuel efficiencies are based on the fuel consumption rating by model year guide for 2019 models with annual improvement rates in efficiency of 1% applied to ICE vehicles and 2% for electric vehicle. Other assumptions include a 6% discount rate, 15 000 km driven annually, and a 15 year vehicle life, after which the vehicle is valued at $C 0. Initially 80% of the vehicle is financed at a rate of 8%. Equal payments are made monthly for 5 years until the loan is paid off. The discount rate and vehicle life are the same as those used in the NREL study, while the distance traveled per year is similar but has been rounded to 5 000 km increments.

The following equations are used to calculate LCOD (as adopted from Electrification Futures Study: End-Use Elctric Technology Cost and Performance Projections through 2050):

formula 1

Where:

  • CC = Capital cost of the vehicle
  • M = The annual maintenance cost of the vehicle
  • Km/yr = The km driven per year by the vehicle
  • $C/Unit = Cost of one unit of fuel in C$/L of gasoline or C$/kW.h of electricity
  • Eff = Fuel efficiency of the vehicle in liters or kW.h per km
  • CRF = Capital Recovery Factor, which is from the following equation
formula 2

Where:

  • r = Discount rate
  • t = Life of the vehicle in years
References

Gibson, R. (2018, April 30). Why electric vehicles have lower maintenance costs. Retrieved from Fleetcarma.

International Energy Agency. (2018). Global EV Outlook 2018. Retrieved from International Energy Agency.

Jadun, P., McMillan, C., Steinberg, D., Muratori, M., Vimmerstedt, L., & Mai, T. (2017). Electrification Futures Study: End-Use Electric Technology Cost and Performance Projections through 2050. Retrieved from National Renewable Energy Laboratory.

Lampton, C. (n.d.). How Regenerative Braking Works. Retrieved from HowStuffWorks.

National Energy Board. (2018). Canada’s Energy Future 2018: Energy Supply and Demand Projections to 2040. Retrieved from National Energy Board.

Natural Resources Canada. (2019). MY2019 Fuel Consumption Ratings.

Office of Energy Efficency and Renewable Energy. (2019). Electric Vehicles: Tax Credits and Other Incentives. Retrieved from ENERGY.GOV.

Office of the Premier. (2018, November 20). Provincial government puts B.C. on path to 100% zero-emission vehicle sales by 2040. Retrieved from BC Gov News.

Palmer, K., Tate, J. E., Wadub, Z., & Nellthrop, J. (2018). Total cost of ownership and market share for hybrid and electric vehicles in the UK, US and Japan. Applied Energy, 108-119.

 

Date modified:

Le mercredi 28 août, l’Office national de l’énergie est devenu la Régie de l’énergie du Canada. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez la page d’information sur la mise en œuvre de la Loi sur la Régie canadienne de l’énergie

Aperçu du marché : Coût actualisé de la conduite des véhicules électriques et des véhicules classiques

Date de diffusion : 2019-06-05

Introduction

Il s’est vendu près de 44 000 véhicules électriques au Canada en 2018, une augmentation marquée par rapport aux 2 000 véhicules du genre vendus en 2012 [anglais seulement]. L’adoption des véhicules électriques au cours des prochaines années constitue l’une des principales incertitudes dans l’analyse de l’évolution des filières énergétiques. De nombreux facteurs influeront sur les ventes futures de ces véhicules, notamment leurs coûts, les politiques gouvernementales, les préférences des consommateurs, les progrès technologiques et l’infrastructure de recharge.

En ce moment, le prix d’achat des véhicules électriques est plus élevé que celui des véhicules à moteur à combustion interne (« MCI »)Note de bas de page 1. Cela dit, les premiers étant plus efficaces sur le plan énergétique, on peut s’attendre à réaliser des économies au fil du temps. La figure 1 compare les prix et le rendement énergétique de certains des modèles de véhicules électriques et de véhicules à MCI les plus populaires. Les véhicules hybrides, qui sont équipés à la fois d’un moteur à combustion interne et d’un moteur électrique, n’ont pas été pris en compte dans la présente analyse.

Les frais d’entretien des véhicules électriques sont environ 70 % inférieurs à ceux des véhicules à MCI comparablesNote de bas de page 2, en raison du fait que leur groupe motopropulseur comporte moins de pièces en mouvement et qu’ils ne nécessitent pas de vidange d’huile. En outre, les véhicules électriques sont équipés d’un système de freinage régénératif [anglais seulement], qui convertit le mouvement en électricité pour ralentir le véhicule, réduisant du coup l’usure des freins.

Figure 1 : Comparaison des coûts de certains véhicules électriques et à MCI

Source et description

Source : Sites Web des constructeurs

Description : Ce graphique illustre la différence de prix et de rendement énergétique de quelques modèles de véhicules automobiles populaires au Canada. En ce moment, le prix d’achat des véhicules électriques est beaucoup plus élevé que celui des véhicules à MCI comparables, mais leur rendement énergétique est supérieur. On compare le rendement énergétique des véhicules, électriques et à MCI, au moyen de litres équivalent au 100 km, c’est-à-dire en convertissant la consommation d’électricité en une quantité égale de carburant en fonction du contenu en énergie.

La figure 2 présente le prix d’achat futur des voitures et VUS électriques et à MCINote de bas de page 3, d’après les hypothèses du scénario de référence et du scénario des avancées technologiques du rapport Avenir énergétique du Canada en 2018 (« AE2018 »). Les ventes de véhicules électriques constituent plus de 60 % de toutes le ventes de véhicules neufs en 2040 dans le scénario des avancées technologiques d’AE2018Note de bas de page 4; la croissance est moins rapide dans le scénario de référenceNote de bas de page 5. Dans les deux scénarios, le prix d’achat des véhicules électriques continue d’être plus élevé que celui des véhicules à MCI jusqu’en 2040. Cependant, dans les deux projections, le prix des véhicules à MCI augmente quelque peu, tandis que celui des véhicules électriques diminue. Cette baisse est plus marquée dans le scénario des avancées technologiques que dans celui de référence, parce qu’on s’attend à une adoption des véhicules électriques et à des progrès technologiques plus rapides.

Figure 2 : Coûts d’achat projetés des véhicules électriques et des véhicules à MCI en 2020, 2030 et 2040

Source et description

Source : Office

Description : Le graphique présente les prix projetés des véhicules en 2020, 2030 et 2040; ils sont tirés du scénario de référence et du scénario des avancées technologiques d’AE2018. Bien que les prix des voitures et camions à MCI demeurent généralement inférieurs à ceux de leurs équivalents électriques, le graphique révèle que dans les deux scénarios, le prix des premiers augmente légèrement durant la période de projection, tandis que celui des seconds baisse. La diminution est plus forte dans le scénario des avancées technologiques.

Le coût actualisé de la conduite procure une façon de comparer les véhicules électriques et les véhicules à MCI.

Le coût actualisé de la conduite (« CAC ») établit combien il en coûte au kilomètre pour conduire un véhicule pendant toute sa durée de vie. On a recours à cette méthode pour comparer des véhicules ayant un coût d’achat, un coût en carburant, des frais d’entretien et une durée de vie différents. Elle constitue donc un moyen pratique pour comparer des véhicules électriques et des véhicules à MCINote de bas de page 6.

La figure 3 illustre le coût actualisé de conduite de véhicules achetés en 2020, 2030 et 2040; les données sur les coûts proviennent d’AE2018. Dans la plupart des provinces, le coût actualisé de conduite des véhicules électriques est inférieur à celui des véhicules à MCI en 2020, aussi bien dans le scénario de référence que dans celui des avancées technologiques. Il en est de même en 2030 dans les deux scénarios, mais dans toutes les provinces.

Partout au pays sauf en Ontario, aux Territoires du Nord-Ouest et au Nunavut, le coût actualisé de conduite des camions électriques est plus bas que celui des camions à MCI dans les deux scénarios. En 2040, le coût actualisé de conduite des véhicules électriques (voitures et camions) est inférieur dans toutes les provinces et dans les deux scénarios. Étant donné l’abondance d’hydroélectricité au Canada, le prix de l’électricité est bas dans des régions comme le Québec et la Colombie-Britannique, ce qui contribue à abaisser le coût actualisé de conduite des véhicules électriques. Pendant la période à l’étude, dans le scénario des avancées technologiques, le prix du carbone est beaucoup élevé que dans le scénario de référence. L’essence coûtant donc plus cher, cela donne l’avantage aux véhicules électriques par rapport à ceux à MCI.

De plus, comme le montre la figure 3, le coût d’achat d’un véhicule électrique au Canada compte pour environ 82 % du coût actualisé de conduite en 2020, alors qu’il n’y contribue qu’à 61 % pour un véhicule à MCI. En contrepartie, le coût en carburant représente environ 9 % du coût actualisé de conduite d’un véhicule électrique en 2020 dans le scénario de référence et 29 % de celui d’un véhicule à MCI. Les frais d’entretien, quant à eux, composent la tranche de 10 % qui reste.

Figure 3 : Comparaisons de CAC projetés des véhicules électriques et des véhicules à MCI en 2020, 2030 et 2040

Source et description

Source : Office

Description : Le graphique montre le coût actualisé de conduite estimatif selon l’année et le type de véhicule, la région, le scénario de référence d’AE2018. En 2020, dans la plupart des provinces, le coût actualisé de conduite des voitures électriques est plus bas que celui des voitures à MCI. En 2030, c’est le cas dans toutes les provinces. Outre les provinces où l’électricité coûte cher, le coût actualisé de conduite des camions électriques est inférieur. En 2040, aussi bien pour les voitures que les camions électriques, il est inférieur dans toutes les provinces.

À titre d’exemple, le coût actualisé canadien du scénario de référence en 2020 est de 0,33 $/km pour une voiture électrique, de 0,34 $/km pour une voiture à MCI, de 0,44 $/km pour un camion électrique et de 0,42 $/km pour un camion à MCI. En 2040, toutefois, il baisse à 0,29 $/km pour une voiture électrique et à 0,33 $/km pour une voiture à MCI comparable. Pour la même année, celui d’un camion électrique s’élève à 0,37 $/km et à 0,41 $ pour un camion à MCI.

L’une des principales conclusions de cette analyse est que, à court terme, le coût actualisé de conduite des voitures électriques est plus bas que celui des voitures à MCI.

Voici quelques-unes des conclusions tirées de la comparaison des coûts actualisés de conduite :

  • Le coût d’achat et le rendement énergétique sont deux éléments importants. Ainsi, en 2020, un camion électrique coûte environ 13 500 $ CA de plus qu’un camion à MCI comparable, mais une fois prises en compte les économies réalisées sur le coût du carburant, l’écart se rétrécit énormément (bien qu’il y ait de fortes variations d’une région à une autre).
  • Les scénarios de référence et d’avancées technologiques prennent en considération d’autres réductions de prix des véhicules électriques, qui contribuent à rendre le coût actualisé de conduite de ces véhicules comparables à ceux des véhicules à MCI. Ces hypothèses amènent à parité les véhicules électriques et à MCI dans de nombreuses régions en 2020 et dans la quasi totalité d’entre elles en 2030 et 2040 dans les deux scénarios.
  • À court terme, le coût actualisé de conduite des voitures électriques est plus bas que celui des voitures à MCI; il faut attendre plus longtemps pour observer ce phénomène pour les véhicules de plus grande taille.
  • Il faut souligner que le prix d’achat, les frais d’utilisation et les frais d’entretien ne sont pas les seuls facteurs qui entrent dans la décision d’acheter un véhicule. La comparaison du coût actualisé des voitures et des camions à MCI en fournit un bon exemple. Même si celui des camions à MCI est beaucoup plus élevé que celui des voitures du même type, il n’en demeure pas moins que les camions dominent les ventes de véhicules au Canada.

Grande sensibilité du coût actualisé de conduite aux variations des hypothèses de coûts

Le coût actualisé de conduite peut varier considérablement quand les coûts fluctuent. Ainsi, celui des véhicules électriques comme celui des véhicules à MCI baisse si le véhicule parcourt 20 000 km par année plutôt que 15 000, du fait que le coût d’achat du véhicule s’étale sur un plus grand kilométrage. Par contre, le coût actualisé de conduite des véhicules électriques diminue plus rapidement que celui des véhicules à MCI parce que les coûts d’énergie des premiers sont plus bas. Par ailleurs, pour une conduite de seulement 10 000 km par année, le coût actualisé augmente pour les deux types de véhicules, mais davantage pour les véhicules électriques puisque les économies en énergie sont moins importantes. En outre, les taux d’actualisation tiennent compte des intérêts qu’aurait pu rapporter un investissement de l’argent plutôt que la dépense et accordent une valeur différente aux dépenses futures. Un taux d’actualisation plus bas rendrait les véhicules électriques relativement plus attrayants. Le graphique ci-dessous illustre les résultats de ces variations.

Figure 4: Analyse de sensibilité du coût actualisé de conduite

Source et description

Source : Office

Description : Ce graphique illustre l’incidence d’une variation du kilométrage parcouru annuellement et du taux d’actualisation sur le coût actualisé de conduite. À mesure qu’augmente le kilométrage annuel, ce dernier diminue, le coût d’achat étant réparti sur une plus grande distance. Si le taux d’actualisation augmente, la valeur attribuée aux coûts en carburant et aux frais d’entretien baisse, faisant aussi reculer le coût actualisé. Le contraire est aussi vrai dans les deux cas.

Conclusion

  • La baisse du coût actualisé de conduite des véhicules électriques en se fondant sur les données d’AE2018 explique pourquoi la hausse des ventes de véhicules électriques au Canada ne devrait pas étonner. Certaines provinces offrent actuellement des incitatifs à l’achat de ces véhicules, ce qui les rend encore plus attrayants.
  • En ce moment, les véhicules électriques jouissent d’un avantage sur le plan des coûts en carburant et sur celui des frais d’entretien. Si la technologie continue de s’améliorer, le prix d’achat des véhicules électrices pourrait diminuer au point d’être comparable ou même inférieur à celui des véhicules à MCI équivalents. Le coût actualisé de conduite favoriserait alors grandement les véhicules électriques.
  • Le coût actualisé de conduite réagit fortement à de nombreux facteurs, notamment le prix de l’électricité, le prix d’achat du véhicule, le taux d’actualisation et le kilométrage annuel. Ainsi, dans une province où le prix de l’électricité est bas, il en coûte moins cher au consommateur pour se procurer un véhicule électrique.
  • Il importe de rappeler que le coût actualisé de conduite repose sur quelques hypothèses et ne cerne pas tous les motifs dont tient compte le consommateur dans sa décision d’acheter ou de ne pas acheter un véhicule électrique. Néanmoins, il offre un outil pratique pour prendre des décisions économiques de base. Il peut être soupesé en regard d’autres éléments comme l’autonomie du véhicule, la disponibilité de bornes de recharge et les préférences personnelles.
Annexe : Méthodes de calcul du coût actualisé de conduite

Les coûts en carburant employés sont disponibles dans la section Annexes de données du rapport Avenir énergétique du Canada en 2018. Dans le cas des coûts des véhicules, il faut consulter l’onglet 4.11 du tableur Figures et données de ce même rapport. Les frais d’entretien des véhicules électriques proviennent de Palmer et al (2018) [anglais seulement], où l’on pose comme hypothèse qu’ils sont 1,5 fois plus élevés pour les camions. Le rendement énergétique des véhicules repose sur la cote de consommation de carburant par année modèle pour les modèles 2019 à laquelle on a ajouté une amélioration annuelle du rendement de 1 % pour les véhicules à MCI et de 2 % pour les véhicules électriques. D’autres hypothèses ont été posées, notamment un kilométrage annuel de 15 000 km, une durée de vie du véhicule de 15 ans et une valeur résiduelle nulle à la fin de la période. Au départ, une tranche représentant 80 % du prix du véhicule est financée à un taux de 8 %. Des paiements mensuels égaux sont versés pendant cinq ans, jusqu’au remboursement de l’emprunt. Le taux d’actualisation et la durée de vie du véhicule sont ceux employés dans l’étude du NREL; la distance parcourue annuellement est la même, mais elle a été arrondie au multiple de 5 000 km.

Les équations suivantes ont servi à calculer le coût actualisé de conduite (adoptées dans Electrification Futures Study: End-Use Elctric Technology Cost and Performance Projections through 2050 [anglais seulement]) :

formule 1

Dans laquelle :

  • CC = Coût en capital du véhicule
  • E = Frais annuels d’entretien du véhicule
  • Km/an = Kilométrage annuel parcouru par le véhicule
  • CA/Unité = Coût d’une unité d’énergie en $ CA/l d’essence ou $ CA/kWh d’électricité
  • Eff = Rendement énergétique du véhicule en litres ou kWh le kilomètre
  • CRC = Coefficient de récupération du capital provenant de l’équation suivante
formule 2

Dans laquelle :

  • TA = Taux d’actualisation
  • t= Durée de vie du véhicule, en années
Références

Gibson, R. (2018, April 30). Why electric vehicles have lower maintenance costs. Récupéré de Fleetcarma [anglais seulement].

International Energy Agency. (2018). Global EV Outlook 2018. Récupéré de International Energy Agency [anglais seulement].

Jadun, P., McMillan, C., Steinberg, D., Muratori, M., Vimmerstedt, L., & Mai, T. (2017). Electrification Futures Study: End-Use Electric Technology Cost and Performance Projections through 2050. Récupéré de National Renewable Energy Laboratory [anglais seulement].

Lampton, C. (n.d.). How Regenerative Braking Works. Récupéré de HowStuffWorks [anglais seulement].

Office national de l'énergie. (2018). Avenir énergétique du Canada en 2018 - Offre et demande énergétiques à l’horizon 2040. Récupéré de National Energy Board.

Ressources naturelles Canada. (2019). Guide de consommation de carburant 2019.

Office of Energy Efficency and Renewable Energy. (2019). Electric Vehicles: Tax Credits and Other Incentives. Récupéré de ENERGY.GOV [anglais seulement].

Office of the Premier. (2018, November 20). Provincial government puts B.C. on path to 100% zero-emission vehicle sales by 2040. Récupéré de BC Gov News [anglais seulement].

Palmer, K., Tate, J. E., Wadub, Z., & Nellthrop, J. (2018). Total cost of ownership and market share for hybrid and electric vehicles in the UK, US and Japan. Applied Energy, 108-119.

 

Date de modification :