Audits

Audits evaluate how a company manages its activities. We expect every company we regulate to have management systems and protection programs that are effective and work well. Companies that manage their activities well can better anticipate, prevent, and mitigate issues that can affect safety, security, and the environment. Management systems can be complex, so auditing them can be more involved and take time to complete. In many cases, we may need to review more than one site or facility.

Search audit reports

After an audit is done, a report is made public. We expect all companies to consider and review the findings in these reports and use them to improve their management systems.

Planning audits using a risk-based approach

We use a risk-based approach when we plan audits. For example, we will audit a company or pipeline operation with a higher risk of compliance violations than one with a lower risk. When evaluating risk, we also consider whether we need to have a closer look at a company’s operations or whether we need to have a broader look at a requirement with more than one company.

Full-scale audits (one company)

A full audit may include a review of:

  • programs
  • procedures
  • manuals
  • records
  • activities

Focused audits (more than one company)

Focused audits look at one issue (one management system requirement) across multiple companies. These audits help us improve the management system requirement across industry.

Regulations and guidance

When we find something

  1. After we complete an audit, we issue a report. This report contains our findings.
  2. A finding of non-compliance does not necessarily mean an immediate hazard is present. However, it does mean an issue needs to be addressed for a system to remain safe.
  3. To address a non-compliance, the company must develop and put in place a corrective and preventative action plan, or CAPA plan. Higher risk issues must be addressed first, as quickly as possible.
  4. We track and follow up on the company’s plan to make sure all non-compliances are addressed effectively. For any hazards we find during an audit, we take immediate action.

Compliance and enforcement

We check that companies are meeting requirements to protect people and the environment. Any company that fails to take corrective action when a non-compliance is identified will be subject to enforcement action. This may mean being ordered to do something, being fined, or being required to immediately stop work.

Learn more about enforcement and our Enforcement Policy.

Date modified:

Vérifications

Les vérifications permettent d’évaluer comment la société gère ses activités. Les sociétés réglementées par la Régie sont censées avoir des systèmes de gestion et des programmes de protection efficaces qui fonctionnent bien. Les sociétés qui gèrent bien leurs activités peuvent mieux prévoir, prévenir, gérer et atténuer les problèmes pouvant nuire à la sûreté, à la sécurité et à l’environnement. Les systèmes de gestion étant parfois complexes, une vérification peut s’avérer exigeante et chronophage. Dans bien des cas, la Régie peut avoir plus d’un site ou d’une installation à examiner.

Recherche de rapports de vérification

Une fois la vérification terminée, un rapport est rendu public. Toutes les sociétés sont invitées à prendre connaissance des constatations énoncées dans ces rapports et à les utiliser pour améliorer leurs systèmes de gestion.

Vérifications planifiées selon une approche axée sur le risque

La Régie adopte une approche axée sur le risque pour planifier ses vérifications. Elle peut, par exemple, vérifier une société pipelinière présentant un risque élevé de manquement à la conformité plutôt qu’une autre dont le risque est faible. Lorsque la Régie évalue le risque, elle détermine si elle doit examiner de plus près les activités d’une société en particulier ou si elle doit vérifier la conformité à une exigence précise dans plus d’une société.

Vérification complète (une société)

Une vérification complète peut comprendre l’examen de ce qui suit :

  • programmes,
  • méthodes,
  • guides,
  • dossiers,
  • activités.

Vérification ciblée (plus d’une société)

Lorsqu’un élément est vérifié (une exigence reliée au système de gestion) dans plusieurs sociétés, on parle de vérification ciblée. Ce type de vérification nous aide à améliorer les exigences relatives au système de gestion dans l’ensemble du secteur.

Réglementation et orientation

Lorsque la Régie découvre un problème

\
  1. À la suite d’une vérification, la Régie publie un rapport présentant ses constatations.
  2. Une non-conformité n’est pas nécessairement synonyme de danger immédiat. Cela signifie toutefois qu’une situation doit être réglée pour préserver la sécurité.
  3. Pour corriger une non-conformité, la société doit élaborer et mettre en place un plan de mesures correctives et préventives. Les situations présentant un risque élevé doivent être corrigées d’abord, le plus rapidement possible.
  4. La Régie surveille la mise en œuvre du plan et effectue un suivi pour s’assurer que toutes les non-conformités sont corrigées comme il se doit. Lorsque des dangers sont relevés au cours d’une vérification, la Régie prend des mesures immédiates.

Conformité et exécution

Nous nous assurons que les sociétés respectent les exigences visant à protéger la population et l’environnement. Les sociétés qui omettent de corriger une situation de non-conformité sont assujetties à des mesures d’exécution. La Régie peut leur ordonner de prendre des mesures, imposer une amende ou faire cesser les activités.

Renseignez-vous sur les mesures d’exécution et la Politique d’application de la loi de la Régie.

Date de modification :