On Wednesday, Aug. 28, the National Energy Board (NEB) became the Canada Energy Regulator (CER). For further information please visit our Implementing the Canadian Energy Regulator Act information page

Order MP-001-2019 to Trans Northern Pipelines Inc. pursuant to section 51.1 of the National Energy Board Act

INSPECTION OFFICER ORDER NO. MP-001-2019

IN THE MATTER OF THE NATIONAL ENERGY BOARD ACT,
AN ORDER UNDER SECTION 51.1

Information not available

is employed by Trans Northern Pipelines Inc. (TNPI).

On or about 30-31 July 2019, the undersigned National Energy Board Inspection Officer conducted an implementation assessment meeting at TNPI’s main office in Richmond Hill, Ontario.

The Inspection Officer has determined that a hazard is being or will be caused based on the following facts:

TNPI did not demonstrate it has developed, established, implemented, maintained and documented processes prescribed by the National Energy Board Onshore Pipeline Regulations (OPR). The Environmental Protection Program is deficient in numerous aspects, in particular, TNPI’s contaminated sites management, remediation and Operations and Maintenance processes were deficient or nonexistent.

Non-compliances with the OPR were identified, including:

Non-compliances with the OPR
Requirements (section of OPR) Observations
6.1 A company shall establish, implement and maintain a management system that (a) is systematic, explicit, comprehensive and proactive; (b) integrates the company’s operational activities and technical systems with its management of human and financial resources to enable the company to meet its obligations under section 6; (c) applies to all the company’s activities involving the design, construction, operation or abandonment of a pipeline and to the programs referred to in section 55; (d) ensures coordination between the programs referred to in section 55; and (e) corresponds to the size of the company, to the scope, nature and complexity of its activities and to the hazards and risks associated with those activities. TNPI was unable to demonstrate that it has an established management system for its environmental protection program. Processes were either not developed or not documented. The approach was not systematic and not comprehensive. Many important environmental hazards and/or risks associated with TNPI’S activities were not covered by its management system.
6.4 The company must have a documented organizational structure that enables it to (a) meet the requirements of the management system and meet its obligations under section 6; (b) determine and communicate the roles, responsibilities and authority of the officers and employees at all levels of the company; and (c) demonstrate, based on an annual documented evaluation of need, that the human resources allocated to establishing, implementing and maintaining the management system are sufficient to meet the requirements of the management system and to meet the company’s obligations under section 6. TNPI was unable to demonstrate that roles, responsibilities and authority of the officers and employees at all levels of the company were documented or communicated.

TNPI was unable to demonstrate a documented evaluation of needs commensurate to the needs of the organization.
6.5 (1) A company shall, as part of its management system and the programs referred to in section 55  
  • (d) establish and maintain an inventory of the identified hazards and potential hazards list of hazards and potential hazards;
TNPI was unable demonstrate that its hazard identified were granular enough to encompass all hazards to the environment. Hazards identified did not capture inherent hazards with historical contamination.
  • (e) establish and implement a process for evaluating and managing the risks associated with the identified hazards, including the risks related to normal and abnormal operating conditions;
TNPI was unable demonstrate an established process for adequately assessing or identifying environmental risks. This is partly due weakness identified with 6.5 (1) (d).
  • (f) establish and implement a process for developing and implementing controls to prevent, manage and mitigate the identified hazards and the risks and for communicating those controls to anyone who is exposed to the risks;
TNPI was unable to demonstrate that its controls were adequate and appropriately documented. TNPI presented summary processes that were largely incomplete.
  • (j) establish and implement a process for developing competency requirements and training programs that provide employees and other persons working with or on behalf of the company with the training that will enable them to perform their duties in a manner that is safe, ensures the security of the pipeline and protects the environment;
TNPI had adequate competency requirements completed for office personnel at the management level but not field personnel. TNPI’s environmental training program, contractor competency and training requirements are not adequately documented, field level competency and training requirement are insufficient to achieve an acceptable level of environmental oversight and protection.
  • (k) establish and implement a process for verifying that employees and other persons working with or on behalf of the company are trained and competent and for supervising them to ensure that they perform their duties in a manner that is safe, ensures the security of the pipeline and protects the environment;
TNPI was unable to demonstrate that it has a documented process for training competencies evaluation for all field level staff.
  • (v) establish and implement a process for evaluating the adequacy and effectiveness of the company’s management system and for monitoring, measuring and documenting the company’s performance in meeting its obligations under section 6;
TNPI was unable to demonstrate a documented adequacy evaluation process.
  • (w) establish and implement a quality assurance program for the management system and for each program referred to in section 55, including a process for conducting audits in accordance with section 53 and for taking corrective and preventive actions if deficiencies are identified;
TNPI was unable to demonstrate a documented quality assurance program (internal audits and inspections) or to demonstrate that this has been established.
27 A company shall develop, regularly review and update as required, operation and maintenance manuals that provide information and procedures to promote safety, environmental protection and efficiency in the operation of the pipeline and shall submit them to the Board when required to do so. NEB Inspectors are of the view that TNPI’s Operations and Maintenance Manual is inadequate: information provided is insufficient and contains insufficient detail in its procedures to protect the environment. Large gaps were identified particularly with situations where contamination is encountered and general environmental mitigation measures.

Based on the above mentioned, the inspection officer has reasonable grounds to believe that a hazard to the safety or security of the public or of employees of a company or a detriment to property or the environment is being or will be caused by the construction, operation, maintenance or abandonment of the pipeline, or any part of a pipeline, an abandoned pipeline or any part of it, or a ground disturbance or the construction of a facility.

Therefore, Information not available is HEREBY ORDERED,
pursuant to subsections 51.1(1) and 51.1(2) of the National Energy Board Act, to

 X take measures specified below for guarding the safety or security of the public or employees or protecting property or the environment
   Suspend work until the hazard or detrimental situation has been remedied to the satisfaction of the inspection officer; or the order is stayed or rescinded by the Board

Specified MeasuresFootnote 1:

  1. TNPI must provide a copy of its signed 2018 annual report completed to meet the requirements of OPR section 6.6(1) by 7 August 2019.
  2. TNPI must develop a detailed plan to address the deficiencies identified above. The plan must address how TNPI will ensure compliance with the above sections of the National Energy Board Onshore Pipeline Regulations (OPR) by 30 June 2020. The plan must be submitted by 15 September 2019.
  3. TNPI must revise its Operation and Maintenance Manual to include appropriate information and procedures to promote environmental protection as per section 27 of the OPR. The manual must include, at a minimum, procedures, work instructions, inspection templates to provide field staff executing maintenance activities the instructions necessary to complete integrity digs of potentially contaminated sites. Once the O&M manual is completed, TNPI must also develop and implement environmental training for appropriate staff and contractors regarding environmental requirements identified in the revised manual as per paragraph 6.5(1)(j) of the OPR. The revised Operations and Maintenance Manual must be submitted by 31 October 2019.
  4. TNPI must develop, document and implement a comprehensive and explicit process to prevent, manage, and mitigate the hazards and potential hazards associated with contaminated and potentially contaminated sites, including all historical releases as prescribed by OPR paragraph 6.5(1)(f). The work-plan and timeline of action arising from the process prescribed above must be included. The detailed process must be submitted by 31 December 2019.
Inspection Officer
Inspection Officer Information not available


Information not available
__________________________________
Signature
IO Designation
2 August 2019
Date
Suite 210, 517 10th Avenue SW Calgary AB  T2R 0A8

 

Date modified:

Le mercredi 28 août, l’Office national de l’énergie est devenu la Régie de l’énergie du Canada. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez la page d’information sur la mise en œuvre de la Loi sur la Régie canadienne de l’énergie

Ordre MP-001-2019 à Pipelines Trans-Nord Inc. en vertu de l’article 51.1 de la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie

Ordre d’inspecteur no MP-001-2019

RELATIVEMENT À LA LOI SUR L’OFFICE NATIONAL DE L’ÉNERGIE,
ORDRE DÉLIVRÉ EN VERTU DE L’ARTICLE 51.1

Information non disponible

travaille pour  Pipelines Trans-Nord Inc.

Les ou vers les 30 et 31 juillet 2019, l’inspecteur soussigné de l’Office national de l’énergie a tenu une réunion d’évaluation de la mise en œuvre au bureau principal de Pipelines Trans-Nord Inc., à Richmond Hill, en Ontario.

L’inspecteur a jugé qu’il existait un danger immédiat ou futur compte tenu des faits décrits ci-après.

Pipelines Trans-Nord Inc. n’a pas démontré qu’elle avait élaboré, établi, mis en œuvre, maintenu et documenté les processus exigés par le Règlement de l’Office national de l’énergie sur les pipelines terrestres (le « Règlement »). Ainsi, le programme de protection environnementale est déficient à plusieurs égards; en particulier, les processus visant la gestion des sites contaminés, la réhabilitation et l’exploitation et l’entretien sont soit déficients soit inexistants.

Les non-conformités suivantes au Règlement ont été constatées.

Non-conformités au Règlement
Exigences (article du Règlement) Observations
6.1 La compagnie établit, met en œuvre et maintient un système de gestion qui répond aux exigences suivantes : a) il est systématique, explicite, exhaustif et proactif; b) il intègre les activités opérationnelles et les systèmes techniques de la compagnie à la gestion des ressources humaines et financières pour lui permettre de respecter les obligations de la compagnie prévues à l’article 6; c) il s’applique à toutes les activités de la compagnie en matière de conception, de construction, d’exploitation et de cessation d’exploitation d’un pipeline ainsi qu’à chacun des programmes visés à l’article 55; d) il assure la coordination des programmes visés à l’article 55; e) est adapté à la taille de la compagnie, à l’importance, à la nature et à la complexité de ses activités ainsi qu’aux dangers et aux risques qui y sont associés. Pipelines Trans-Nord Inc. n’a pas démontré qu’elle a établi un système de gestion pour son programme de protection environnementale. Les processus ne sont pas documentés ou n’ont pas été élaborés. La démarche de la société n’est ni systémique ni exhaustive. Le système de gestion ne vise pas un grand nombre des principaux dangers et risques environnementaux liés aux activités de la société.
6.4 La compagnie se dote d’une structure organisationnelle documentée qui lui permet : a) de répondre aux exigences du système de gestion et de respecter les obligations prévues à l’article 6; b) de déterminer et de communiquer les rôles, les responsabilités et les pouvoirs des dirigeants et des employés à tous les niveaux hiérarchiques de la compagnie; c)de démontrer, au moyen d’une évaluation annuelle des besoins documentée, que les ressources humaines allouées pour établir, mettre en œuvre et maintenir le système de gestion sont suffisantes pour répondre aux exigences de ce système et respectent les obligations prévues à l’article 6. Pipelines Trans-Nord Inc. n’a pas démontré que les rôles, les responsabilités et les pouvoirs des dirigeants et des employés à tous les niveaux hiérarchiques sont documentés ou communiqués.

Pipelines Trans-Nord Inc. n’a pas démontré qu’elle a effectué une évaluation annuelle des besoins documentée qui est proportionnelle aux besoins de l’organisation. .
6.5 (1) La compagnie est tenue, dans le cadre de son système de gestion et des programmes visés à l’article 55 :  
  • d) d’établir et de maintenir un inventaire des dangers et dangers potentiels répertoriés;
Pipelines Trans-Nord Inc. n’a pas démontré qu’elle a répertorié tous les dangers environnementaux, parce que son inventaire n’est pas suffisamment détaillé. Les dangers répertoriés ne font pas mention des dangers inhérents à une contamination antérieure.
  • (e) d’établir et de mettre en œuvre un processus pour évaluer et gérer les risques associés aux dangers répertoriés, notamment ceux liés aux conditions d’exploitation normales et anormales;
Pipelines Trans-Nord Inc. n’a pas démontré qu’elle a établi un processus pour évaluer ou répertorier les risques environnementaux, ce qui s’explique par les lacunes signalées en ce qui concerne le point 6.5(1)d).
  • (f) d’établir et de mettre en œuvre un processus pour élaborer et mettre en œuvre des mécanismes de contrôle dans le but de prévenir, de gérer et d’atténuer les dangers répertoriés et les risques, et pour communiquer ces mécanismes à toute personne exposée aux risques;
Pipelines Trans-Nord Inc. n’a pas démontré que ses mécanismes de contrôle sont adéquats et suffisamment documentés. Les processus présentés comportent des lacunes importantes.
  • (j) d’établir et de mettre en œuvre un processus pour établir les compétences requises et élaborer des programmes de formation à l’intention des employés et de toute autre personne travaillant en collaboration avec la compagnie ou pour le compte de celle-ci afin de leur permettre de s’acquitter de leurs tâches en toute sécurité et de manière à assurer la sûreté du pipeline et la protection de l’environnement;
Pipelines Trans-Nord Inc. a démontré qu’elle a établi un processus relativement aux compétences requises du personnel de direction travaillant dans les bureaux, mais pas relativement aux compétences requises du personnel sur le terrain. Le programme de formation en environnement, les compétences requises des entrepreneurs et les exigences en matière de formation ne sont pas suffisamment documentées; les compétences requises des employés sur le terrain et les exigences en matière de formation ne sont pas suffisantes pour assurer adéquatement la surveillance et la protection de l’environnement.
  • (k) d’établir et de mettre en œuvre un processus pour s’assurer que les employés et toute autre personne travaillant en collaboration avec la compagnie ou pour le compte de celle-ci sont formés et compétents et pour les superviser afin qu’ils puissent s’acquitter de leurs tâches en toute sécurité et de manière à assurer la sûreté du pipeline et la protection de l’environnement;
Pipelines Trans-Nord Inc. n’a pas été en mesure de démontrer qu’elle dispose d’un processus documenté pour l’évaluation des compétences du personnel sur le terrain.
  • (v) d’établir et de mettre en œuvre un processus pour évaluer le caractère adéquat et l’efficacité du système de gestion de la compagnie et pour surveiller, mesurer et documenter le rendement de la compagnie en ce qui a trait aux obligations prévues à l’article 6;
Pipelines Trans-Nord Inc. n’a pas été en mesure de démontrer qu’elle a établi un processus documenté pour évaluer le caractère adéquat du système de gestion.
  • (w) d’établir et de mettre en œuvre un programme d’assurance de la qualité pour le système de gestion et pour chacun des programmes visés à l’article 55, y compris un processus permettant la tenue de vérifications conformément à l’article 53, et la prise de mesures correctives et préventives en cas de lacunes;
Pipelines Trans-Nord Inc. n’a pas été en mesure de démontrer qu’elle dispose d’un programme d’assurance de la qualité (audits et inspections internes) documenté ou qu’elle a établi un tel programme.
27 La compagnie doit établir, réviser régulièrement et mettre à jour au besoin les manuels d’exploitation et d’entretien qui contiennent des renseignements et exposent des méthodes pour promouvoir la sécurité, la protection de l’environnement et le rendement quant à l’exploitation du pipeline et les soumettre à l’Office lorsqu’il l’exige. Les inspecteurs de l’Office jugent inadéquat le manuel d’exploitation et d’entretien de Pipelines Trans-Nord Inc., car il ne contient pas suffisamment de renseignements et n’explique pas assez les procédés de protection de l’environnement. D’importantes lacunes ont été décelées, particulièrement en ce qui concerne la détection des contaminations et les mesures générales d’atténuation des effets sur l’environnement.

En se fondant sur ce qui précède, l’inspecteur a des motifs raisonnables de croire que la construction, l’exploitation, l’entretien ou la cessation d’exploitation du pipeline ou de toute partie du pipeline (en exploitation ou non), ou encore le remuement du sol ou la construction d’une installation, représentent un danger pour la sécurité ou la sûreté du public, des employés de la société, des biens matériels ou de l’environnement.

Par conséquent, L’Office ORDONNE PAR LES PRÉSENTES À Information non disponible,
en vertu des paragraphes 51.1(1) et 51.1(2) de la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie, de :

 X prendre les mesures exposées dans le présent ordre afin d’assurer la sécurité ou la sûreté du public ou des employés de la société, et la protection des biens ou de l’environnement.
   suspendre les travaux jusqu’à ce que le danger ou la situation à risque ait été corrigé d’une manière jugée satisfaisante par l’inspecteur ou jusqu’à ce que l’ordre ait été suspendu ou annulé par l’Office.

Mesures précisesNote de bas de page 1 :

  1. Pour se conformer aux exigences prévues au paragraphe 6.6(1) du Règlement, Pipelines Trans-Nord Inc. doit déposer devant l’Office un exemplaire signé de son
  2. Pipelines Trans-Nord Inc. doit mettre au point un plan détaillé pour combler les lacunes signalées aux présentes. Le plan doit préciser la manière dont Pipelines Trans-Nord Inc. satisfera aux exigences des articles indiqués du Règlement d’ici le 30 juin 2020. Le plan doit être déposé devant l’Office au plus tard le 15 septembre 2019.
  3. Pipelines Trans-Nord Inc. doit réviser et mettre à jour son manuel d’exploitation et d’entretien de manière à ce qu’il fasse état des renseignements et procédés visant la protection de l’environnement, conformément à l’article 27 du Règlement. Le manuel doit contenir, à tout le moins, les renseignements sur les procédés, les instructions et les modèles d’inspection nécessaires pour que les employés sur le terrain chargés des activités d’entretien puissent effectuer des fouilles d’intégrité de sites potentiellement contaminés. Une fois que cela sera fait, Pipelines Trans-Nord Inc. doit élaborer et mettre en œuvre une formation en environnement à l’intention des employés et des entrepreneurs concernés, afin que ceux-ci puissent s’acquitter des tâches indiquées dans la version révisée du manuel, conformément aux exigences de l’alinéa 6.5(1)j) du Règlement. Pipelines Trans-Nord Inc. doit déposer devant l’Office la version révisée de son manuel d’exploitation et d’entretien au plus tard le 31 octobre 2019.
  4. Pipelines Trans-Nord Inc. doit élaborer, documenter et mettre en œuvre un processus exhaustif et explicite pour prévenir, gérer et atténuer les dangers et risques associés à des sites contaminés ou pouvant l’être, notamment tous les déversements antérieurs, comme l’exige l’alinéa 6.5(1)f) du Règlement. Le processus doit préciser un plan de travail ainsi qu’un échéancier. Pipelines Trans-Nord Inc. doit déposer la documentation relative au processus détaillé devant l’Office au plus tard le 31 décembre 2019.
Inspecteur
Inspecteur Information non disponible


Information non disponible
__________________________________
Signature
No de désignation de l’ordre de l’inspecteur
2 août 2019
Date
517, Dixième Avenue S.-O., bureau 210 Calgary (Alberta) T2R 0A8

 

Date de modification :