On Wednesday, August 28, 2019, the National Energy Board (NEB) became the Canada Energy Regulator (CER). For further information please visit our Implementing the Canadian Energy Regulator Act information page

ARCHIVED – Allocation of Funds for Participation in the Public Reconsideration Hearing for the Trans Mountain Expansion Project

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

The Board administers a Participant Funding Program (PFP), which provides financial assistance to individuals, Indigenous groups, landowners, and non-industry not-for-profit groups to facilitate public participation in certain project hearings and environmental assessments of designated projects.

On 26 September 2018, the PFP announced a simplified funding process for this hearing to reduce administrative burden. Eligible groups could request up to $80,000, and individuals up to $12,000, to participate in the hearing. The PFP received seventy-six applications requesting a total of $5,217,760. After reviewing the applications, the PFP recommended awarding $4,981,760 to sixty-nine recipients. The Executive Vice President, Regulatory approved the recommendation. Indigenous groups account for 82% of the funding awarded.


Funding Awards
Applicant Amount awarded
Adam Olsen $12,000
Adams Lake Indian Band $80,000
Alexander First Nation $80,000
Alexis Nakota Sioux Nation $80,000
Andrew Weaver $12,000
Barkley Sound Stewardship Alliance $40,000
BC Metis Federation $80,000
BC Nature and Nature Canada $80,000
Blood Tribe (Kainai First Nation) $80,000
Board of the Friends of Ecological Reserves $56,000
Burnaby Residents Opposing Kinder Morgan Expansion (BROKE) $80,000
Chawathil First Nation $80,000
Cheam First Nation $80,000
Coldwater Indian Band $80,000
Cowichan Tribes $80,000
Ditidaht First Nation $80,000
Driftpile Cree Nation $80,000
Ermineskin Cree Nation $80,000
Esquimalt Nation $80,000
First Nations of the Maa-nulth Treaty Society $80,000
Georgia Strait Alliance $80,000
Gerald Graham $12,000
Heiltsuk First Nation $80,000
John Anthony Clarkson $80,000
Kelly Lake Metis Settlement Society $80,000
Kwantlen First Nation $80,000
Kwikwetlem First Nation $80,000
Little Shuswap Lake Indian Band $80,000
Living Oceans Society $80,000
Louis Bull Tribe $80,000
Lyackson First Nation $80,000
Malahat First Nation $80,000
Metis Nation British Columbia $55,000
Musqueam Indian Band $80,000
Neskonlith Indian Band $80,000
Nooaitch Indian Band $80,000
North Shore NOPE (No Pipeline Expansion) $80,000
Pacheedaht First Nation $80,000
Papaschase First Nation $34,800
Pauquachin First Nation $80,000
Pro Information Pro Environment United People Network (PIPE UP) $80,000
Raincoast Conservation Foundation $80,000
Rod MacVicar $2,960
Samson Cree Nation $80,000
Scia'new First Nation $80,000
Seabird Island Band $80,000
Shackan Indian Band $80,000
Shxw’ōwhámel First Nation $80,000
Simpcw First Nation $80,000
Snuneymuxw First Nation $80,000
Squamish Nation $80,000
Stand Earth $80,000
Stephen Stewart $12,000
Stk'emlupsemc te Secwepemc Nation $80,000
Stó:lō Collective $80,000
Stolo Tribal Council $80,000
Stz’uminus First Nation $80,000
Tsartlip First Nation $80,000
Tsawout First Nation $80,000
Tsawwassen First Nation $80,000
Tseycum First Nation $80,000
Tsleil-Waututh Nation $80,000
T'sou-ke First Nation $80,000
Tsuu T'ina First Nation $80,000
Whitefish (Goodfish) Lake First Nation #128 $80,000
Whitefish Lake First Nation #459 $80,000
Wilderness Committee $25,000
Williams Lake Indian Band $80,000
Yarrow Ecovillage Society $80,000
Total $4,981,760
Date modified: