On Wednesday, Aug. 28, the National Energy Board (NEB) became the Canada Energy Regulator (CER). For further information please visit our Implementing the Canadian Energy Regulator Act information page

New Brunswick

 

Figure 11: Sample monthly residential gas bill – based on 7.37 GJ of consumption

Source: New Brunswick Energy and Utilities Board

Description:

This stacked area graph shows the breakdown of residential natural gas bills from January 2013 to January 2018. The sample bill is for 7.37 GJ of consumption per month in the province of New Brunswick. The graph shows the amount spent on three bill components: the commodity price, variable charges, and fixed charges.

The commodity price increased from $49.01 per month in January 2013, to $65.96 per month in January 2018.

The variable charges have fluctuated, but decreased from $86.05 per month in January 2013 to $71.70 per month in January 2018.

Fixed charges have remained fairly constant, increasing slightly from $16.00 per month in January 2013 to $18.00 per month by January 2018.

Natural gas provider

The main natural gas provider in New Brunswick is Enbridge Gas New Brunswick. Enbridge is regulated by the New Brunswick Energy and Utilities Board (NBEUB). Natural gas service is not wide spread across the province. Approximately 2% of households in New Brunswick use natural gas for their primary heating system.

Commodity price

The commodity price of gas on New Brunswick gas bills is reviewed monthly by the NBEUB. The commodity price bill component increased from $49.01 per month ($6.65 per GJ) on January 2013, to $65.96 per month ($8.95 per GJ) on January 2018.

Variable charges

The variable component of New Brunswick bills is the ‘distribution delivery charge.’ This charge collects revenue that goes towards the costs of moving gas to the New Brunswick distribution system and delivering gas to homes. The variable component has fluctuated, but decreased from $86.05 per month ($11.68 per GJ) in January 2013 to $71.70 per month ($9.73 per GJ) in January 2018.

Fixed charges

The ‘monthly distribution customer charge’ is allocated to pipeline system costs and the costs of administering a customer’s account. This charge is approved and updated annually by the NBEUB. The fixed component remained fairly constant, increasing slightly from $16.00 per month in January 2013 to $18.00 per month by January 2018.

Date modified:

Le mercredi 28 août, l’Office national de l’énergie est devenu la Régie de l’énergie du Canada. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez la page d’information sur la mise en œuvre de la Loi sur la Régie canadienne de l’énergie

Nouveau-Brunswick

 

Figure 11 : Exemple de facture mensuelle de gaz dans le secteur résidentiel en fonction d’une consommation de 7,37 GJ

Source : Commission de l’énergie et des services publics du Nouveau-Brunswick

Description :

Source : Commission de l’énergie et des services publics du Nouveau-Brunswick

Ce graphique à aires empilées permet de constater la place occupée par les différentes composantes d’une facture de gaz naturel dans le secteur résidentiel entre janvier 2013 et janvier 2018, dans tous les cas pour une consommation mensuelle de 7,37 GJ au Nouveau-Brunswick. Les différents montants ainsi illustrés représentent le total des trois composantes suivantes : prix du produit de base, frais variables et frais fixes.

Le prix du produit de base a augmenté passant de 49,01 $ en janvier 2013 à 65,96 $ en janvier 2018.

Les frais variables ont varié de mois en mois mais ont plutôt suivi une tendance à la baisse pendant cette même période, de 86,05 $ à 71,70 $.

Les frais fixes, pour leur part, sont demeurés relativement constants, enregistrant alors une légère augmentation qui les a vus passer de 16,00 $ à 18,00 $.

Fournisseur

Le principal fournisseur est Enbridge Gaz Nouveau-Brunswick, société réglementée par la Commission de l’énergie et des services publics. Le gaz naturel n’est pas particulièrement présent dans la province alors qu’il sert à alimenter le système de chauffage principal d’environ 2 % des ménages néo–brunswickois.

Prix du produit de base

Le prix du produit de base indiqué sur les factures de gaz est revu de mois en mois par la Commission. Pendant la période de janvier 2013 à janvier 2018, ce prix a augmenté, passant de 49,01  $ à 65,96 $ (de 6,65 $ à 8,95 $ par GJ).

Frais variables

Les « frais de transport pour distribution » constituent la composante frais variables des factures au Nouveau-Brunswick. Ces frais servent à acquitter les coûts d’acheminement du gaz vers le réseau de distribution de la province, puis jusqu’aux demeures. La composante en question a varié de mois en mois mais a suivi une tendance à la baisse, de 86,05 $ en janvier 2013 à 71,70 $ en janvier 2018 (de 11,68 $ à 9,73 $ par GJ).

Frais fixes

Les « frais mensuels de livraison à la clientèle » servent à payer les coûts afférents au réseau pipelinier et ceux engagés pour l’administration des comptes des clients. Ils sont mis à jour et approuvés chaque année par la Commission. Relativement constants, ils ont enregistré une légère augmentation pendant la période précitée qui les a vus passer de 16,00 $ à 18,00 $.

Date de modification :