On Wednesday, Aug. 28, the National Energy Board (NEB) became the Canada Energy Regulator (CER). For further information please visit our Implementing the Canadian Energy Regulator Act information page

Pipeline Profiles: Westcoast or BC Pipeline

Pipeline system and key points

Section updated June 2019

The Westcoast Transmission System (Westcoast) is also known as Enbridge’s BC Pipeline. It transports natural gas produced in the Western Canadian Sedimentary Basin to consumers in British Columbia and, through interconnecting pipelines, other Canadian provinces and the United States. Westcoast extends from points in Yukon, the Northwest Territories, Alberta and British Columbia, to the Canada-U.S. border near Huntingdon, British Columbia. At the border Westcoast connects to Williams Northwest Pipeline, which supplies natural gas to the U.S. Pacific Northwest. Westcoast also connects to the Nova Gas Transmission Ltd. (NGTL).

Key points on the Westcoast Pipeline include interconnections with:

  • NGTL at NOVA/Gordondale and Sunset Creek;
  • Williams Northwest Pipeline at the Huntingdon Export;
  • FortisBC local distribution system at FortisBC Lower Mainland;
  • Southern Crossing pipeline at Kingsvale.

The pipeline commenced operations in 1957. In 2017, regulated assets included 5 825 km of pipeline, and various auxiliary infrastructures.

Official NEB documents related to the construction, operation and maintenance of Westcoast can be found here: Westcoast pipeline regulatory documents [Folder 90718].

You can see Westcoast and all NEB-regulated pipelines on the Board’s Interactive Pipeline Map. The map shows more detailed location information, the products carried by each pipeline, the operating status and more. You can also view a system map on Enbridge’s website.

Westcoast or BC pipeline system map

Source: NEB

Text version of this map

This map provides an overview of the Westcoast or BC pipeline.

Throughput and capacity

Section updated quarterly (early March, mid-May, mid-August and mid-November)

Note: The physical capacity of a pipeline is based on many factors such as the direction of flow, ambient temperature, pipeline compression, and maintenance work or other pressure restrictions. The operational capacity at each key point may also reflect contracts for transportation service, and supply and demand across the system. The actual physical capacity of the pipeline may, at times, be higher than the assumed operational capacity stated here.

Open data can be freely used and shared by anyone for any purpose. The data for these graphs are available.

Tolls

Section updated September 2018

A toll is the price charged by a pipeline company for transportation and other services. Tolls allow pipeline companies to safely operate and maintain pipelines. Tolls also provide funds for companies to recover capital (the money used to build the pipeline), pay debts, and provide a return to investors. The interactive graph below shows the tolls on selected paths on the pipeline since 2006.

Open data can be freely used and shared by anyone for any purpose. The data for these graphs are available.

For tolling purposes, Westcoast is divided into four zones:

  1. Zone 1 consists of raw natural gas gathering or transmission pipelines.
  2. Zone 2 consists of natural gas processing plants.
  3. Zone 3 consists of sales gas transmission pipelines north of compressor station 2, near Chetwynd, British Columbia. Zone 3 is also referred to as Transportation North or T-North.
  4. Zone 4 consists of the sales gas transmission pipelines south of compressor station 2. Zone 4 is also referred to as Transportation South or T-South.

Tolls on Zones 1 and 2 are subject to the Framework for Light-Handed Regulation (RHW-1-98). For Zones 3 and 4, tolls for 2016 and 2017 were based on a negotiated settlement approved by the Board in 2016 by Order TG-003-2016 [Filing A76606]. Tolls are based on the cost of service, are zone-based, and are term-differentiated (for example, tolls for a five year contract are lower than tolls for a two year contract).

Official Board odcuments related to the traffic, tolls and tariffs for Westcoast can be found here: Westcoast toll documents [Folder 92844].

A list of shippers on Westcoast is available on the Westcoast website (Capacity; Pipeline Contracted Firm Service).

Abandonment funding

Section updated June 2019

The Board requires all pipelines to set aside funds to safely cease operation of a pipeline at the end of its useful life. In 2016, Westcoast estimated it would cost $810 million to do this. These funds will be collected over 40 years and are being set aside in a trust.

Table 1: Westcoast or BC Pipeline’s abandonment trust fund balance
  2015 2016 2017 2018
Trust fund balance – Zones 1 and 2 ($) 8 420 548 17 523 091 27 330 240 34 528 000
Trust fund balance – Zones 3 and 4 ($) 7 433 809 15 714 265 24 585 082 30 763 000

Official NEB documents related to abandonment funding can be found here, sorted by year and by company: abandonment funding documents [Folder 3300366].

Pipeline financial information

Section updated June 2019

Pipeline companies report important financial information to the Board quarterly or annually. A strong financial position enables companies to maintain their pipeline systems, attract capital to build new infrastructure, and meet the market’s evolving needs. The data in this table comes from Westcoast’s Quarterly Surveillance Reports [Folder 235199]. Income statement information and equity ratios are for the Transmission division of Westcoast Energy Inc., as reported to the Board.

Table 2: Westcoast Transmission Pipeline financial data (Zones 3 and 4)
  2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018
Revenues (million $) 296 323 325 397 385 394 381 416 504
Net income (million $) 35 46 50 53 54 51 63 85 115
Rate base (million $) 1 093 1 074 1 224 1 349 1 346 1 347 1 358 1 603 2 560
Rate of return on rate base (%) 7.55 8.12 7.69 7.67 7.67 7.35 7.5 7.0 6.8
Deemed equity ratio (%) 36 40 40 40 40 40 40 40 40
Achieved return on equity (%) 8.78 10.01 9.36 9.54 9.89 9.01 9.8 9.8 10.1

Corporate financial information

Section updated June 2019

Westcoast Energy Inc., carrying on business as Spectra Energy Transmission, owns the Westcoast Transmission System. Westcoast Energy Inc. became a wholly owned subsidiary of Enbridge, following Enbridge’s merger with Spectra Energy in February 2017.

Credit ratings and financial ratios provide an idea of the financial strength of a company, including its ability to attract capital to build new infrastructure and meet financial obligations. The credit ratings below are expert opinions of how likely the debt issuer is to live up to its obligations. The financial ratios provided below were calculated by DBRS.

Table 3: Westcoast Energy Inc. financial ratios and credit ratings
  2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018
EBIT interest coverage (times) 2.1 2.2 2.2 2.1 1.7 1.5 1.8
Cash flow-to-total debt ratio 13.7 15.1 16.0 12.4 12.6 11.8 13.8
DBRS credit rating A (low) A (low) A (low) A (low) A (low) A (low) A (low)
S&P credit rating BBB+ BBB BBB BBB BBB BBB+

Financial regulatory audits

Section updated June 2019

The Board audits pipeline companies to confirm compliance with the National Energy Board Act, regulations, Board orders and Board decisions. Financial regulatory audits focus on toll and tariff matters such as detecting cross-subsidies. Westcoast’s last audit was completed in August 2018. Official NEB documents related to Westcoast’s financial regulatory audits can be found here: [Folder 571548]

Condition Compliance

Section updated September 2018

Every pipeline company in Canada must meet federal, provincial or territorial, and local requirements. This includes Acts, Regulations, rules, bylaws, and zoning restrictions. Pipelines are also bound by technical, safety, and environmental standards along with company rules, protocols and management systems. In addition to these requirements, the Board may add conditions to regulatory instruments that each company must meet. Condition compliance is monitored by the Board and enforcement action is taken when required. For a detailed list of conditions that Westcoast must meet, and their status, please see the condition compliance table and search for “Westcoast Energy Inc., carrying on business as Spectra Energy Transmission”.

Safety Performance

Section updated June 2019

The Board holds the companies it regulates accountable to protect the safety of Canadians and the environment. As part of this accountability, companies must report to the NEB events such as incidents and unauthorized third-party activities that happen without the pipeline company’s written consent. For a summary of pipeline incidents and unauthorized activities on Westcoast since 2008, visit the Safety performance dashboard and select “Westcoast Energy Inc., carrying on business as Spectra Energy Transmission”.

Emergency Management

Section updated June 2019

The NEB checks to make sure companies are keeping pipelines safe by doing inspections, in-depth safety audits, and other activities. Yet, even with these precautions, an emergency could still happen. Sound emergency management practices improve public safety and environmental protection outcomes, and provide for more effective emergency response.

The NEB holds its regulated companies responsible for anticipating, preventing, mitigating, and managing incidents of any size or duration. Each company must have an emergency management program that includes detailed emergency procedures manuals to guide its response in an emergency situation. We oversee the emergency management program of a regulated company’s projects as long as they operate.

The Board requires companies to publish information on their emergency management program and their emergency procedures manuals on their websites so Canadians can access emergency management information. To view Westcoast’s regional Integrated Contingency Plan, go to Enbridge's Field Emergency Response Plans website, where its plans are organized by area of operation.

 

Date modified:

Le mercredi 28 août, l'Office national de l'énergie est devenu la Régie de l'énergie du Canada. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez la page d'information sur la mise en oeuvre de la Loi sur la Régie canadienne de l'énergie

Profils pipeliniers – Westcoast ou BC Pipeline

Réseau pipelinier et principaux points

Section mise à jour : juin 2019

Le réseau de transport de Westcoast (« Westcoast ») est également connu sous le nom de BC Pipeline d’Enbridge. Il achemine du gaz naturel produit dans le bassin sédimentaire de l’Ouest canadien vers des consommateurs de la Colombie-Britannique et, par l’intermédiaire de pipelines d’interconnexion, vers d’autres provinces canadiennes et vers les États-Unis. Le réseau de Westcoast s’étend de divers points au Yukon, dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, en Alberta et en Colombie-Britannique, jusqu’à un point près de la frontière canado-américaine, dans les environs de Huntingdon, en Colombie-Britannique, où il se raccorde au réseau de Williams Northwest Pipeline, qui approvisionne pour sa part les États du nord-ouest américain bordés par le Pacifique. Il se raccorde également au réseau de NOVA Gas Transmission Ltd. (« NGTL »).

Les principales interconnexions du réseau de Westcoast sont les suivantes :

  • réseau de NGTL aux points NOVA-Gordondale et Sunset Creek;
  • réseau de Williams Northwest Pipeline au point d’exportation Huntingdon;
  • réseau de distribution local de FortisBC au point Lower Mainland de FortisBC;
  • gazoduc Southern Crossing au point Kingsvale.

Le pipeline a été mis en service en 1957. En 2017, les actifs réglementés comprenaient quelque 5 825 km de canalisations, ainsi que diverses infrastructures auxiliaires.

Les documents officiels de l’Office portant sur la construction, l’exploitation et l’entretien du réseau de Westcoast se trouvent ici :documents de réglementation sur le réseau de Westcoast [dossier 90718]

Carte du réseau pipelinier de transport de Westcoast

Source : Office

Version texte de la carte

La carte présente en gros le tracé du réseau pipelinier Westcoast.

La carte interactive des pipelines montre ceux du réseau de Westcoast ainsi que tous les autres qui sont réglementés par l’Office. Cette carte renferme de plus amples renseignements entre autres sur l’emplacement de chaque pipeline, les produits transportés et l’état d’exploitation. Une autre carte se trouve sur le site Web d'Enbridge [en anglais].

Débit et capacité

Section mise à jour trimestriellement (début mars, mi-mai, mi-août et mi-novembre)

Remarque : La capacité physique d'un pipeline dépend de nombreux éléments, tels que le sens d'écoulement, la température ambiante, la capacité de compression du pipeline, les travaux d'entretien et les restrictions de pression. La capacité opérationnelle à chacun des points principaux peut également dépendre des contrats de transport, ainsi que de l'offre et de la demande visant le réseau. La capacité physique réelle du pipeline peut parfois être supérieure à la capacité opérationnelle hypothétique indiquée ici.

Les données ouvertes peuvent être utilisées et transmises librement. Les données pour ces graphiques sont disponibles.

Droits

Section mise à jour : septembre 2018

Un droit est le prix exigé par une société pipelinière pour les services de transport et autres. Les droits permettent aux sociétés pipelinières d’exploiter et d’entretenir les pipelines de façon sûre. Ils procurent également aux sociétés des fonds pour récupérer le capital engagé (l’argent ayant servi à construire le pipeline), payer les dettes et verser un rendement aux investisseurs. Le graphique interactif ci-dessous montre les droits pour certains parcours du pipeline depuis 2006.

Les données ouvertes peuvent être utilisées et transmises librement. Les données pour ces graphiques sont disponibles.

Le réseau de Westcoast est divisé en quatre zones aux fins de la tarification.

  1. La zone 1 se compose de pipelines de collecte ou de transport de gaz naturel brut.
  2. La zone 2 se compose d’usines de traitement du gaz naturel.
  3. La zone 3 se compose de pipelines de transport de gaz naturel commercialisable situés au nord de la station de compression no 2, près de Chetwynd, en Colombie-Britannique. Cette zone est également appelée la zone de transport Nord ou T-Nord.
  4. La zone 4 se compose de pipelines de transport de gaz naturel commercialisable situés au sud de la station de compression no 2. Cette zone est également appelée la zone de transport Sud ou T-Sud.

Les droits des zones 1 et 2 sont établis selon le cadre de réglementation assouplie (RHW-1-98). En 2016 et en 2017, les droits des zones 3 et 4 étaient fonction du règlement négocié approuvé par l’Office dans l’ordonnance TG-003-2016 [dépôt A76606]. Les droits tiennent compte du coût du service, de la zone et de la durée du contrat (p. ex., les droits visant un contrat de cinq ans sont inférieurs à ceux visant un contrat de deux ans).

Les documents officiels de l’Office portant sur le transport, les droits et les tarifs pour le réseau de Westcoast se trouvent ici : documents sur les droits visant le réseau de Westcoast [dossier 92844].

Une liste des expéditeurs sur le réseau des Westcoast est disponible sur son site Web [en anglais] (capacité et service de transport contractuel garanti).

Financement de la cessation d’exploitation

Section mise à jour : juin 2019

L’Office exige que toutes les sociétés pipelinières mettent de côté des fonds pour cesser d’exploiter les pipelines en toute sécurité à la fin de leur vie utile. En 2016, Westcoast a estimé le coût de la cessation d’exploitation à 810 millions de dollars. Cette somme sera recueillie sur une période de 40 ans et versée dans un compte en fiducie.

Tableau 1 – Solde de la fiducie constituée pour la cessation d’exploitation du pipeline Westcoast ou BC
  2015 2016 2017 2018
Solde de la fiducie – Zones 1 et 2 (en dollars) 8 420 548 17 523 091 27 330 240 34 528 000
Solde de la fiducie – Zones 3 et 4 (en dollars) 7 433 809 15 714 265 24 585 082 30 763 000

Les documents officiels de l’Office sur le financement de la cessation d’exploitation, classés par année et par société, sont accessibles à partir du lien [dossier 3300366].

Renseignements financiers sur le réseau

Section mise à jour : juin 2019

Chaque trimestre ou chaque année, les sociétés pipelinières remettent d’importants rapports financiers à l’Office. Une situation financière solide permet aux sociétés d’entretenir leur réseau pipelinier, d’attirer des capitaux pour construire de nouvelles infrastructures et de répondre aux besoins changeants du marché. Les données présentées dans ce tableau proviennent des rapports de surveillance trimestriels de Westcoast [dossier 235199]. Les montants et ratios indiqués visent la division du transport de Westcoast Energy Inc. et proviennent de l’état des résultats déposé devant l’Office.

Tableau 2 – Données financières sur la division du transport de Westcoast (zones 3 et 4)
  2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018
Revenus (en millions de dollars) 296 323 325 397 385 394 381 416 504
Bénéfice net (en millions de dollars) 35 46 50 53 54 51 63 85 115
Base tarifaire (en millions de dollars) 1 093 1 074 1 224 1 349 1 346 1 347 1 358 1 603 2 560
Taux de rendement de la base tarifaire (en pourcentage) 7,55 8,12 7,69 7,67 7,67 7,35 7,5 7,0 6,8
Ratio présumé des capitaux propres (en pourcentage) 36 40 40 40 40 40 40 40 40
Rendement des capitaux propres réalisé (en pourcentage) 8,78 10,01 9,36 9,54 9,89 9,01 9,8 9,8 10,1

Renseignements financiers sur la société

Section mise à jour : juin 2019

Westcoast Energy Inc. (Westcoast), qui est exploitée sous la dénomination sociale Spectra Energy Transmission, est propriétaire du réseau de transport Westcoast. Westcoast Energy Inc. est devenue une filiale en propriété exclusive d’Enbridge après la fusion d’Enbridge et de Spectra Energy en février 2017.

Les cotes de solvabilité et les ratios financiers reflètent la solidité financière d’une société, y compris sa capacité d’attirer des capitaux pour construire de nouvelles infrastructures et de remplir ses obligations financières. Les cotes de solvabilité qui suivent correspondent à des opinions d’experts sur la probabilité que le débiteur remplisse ses obligations. Les ratios financiers ci-dessous ont été calculés par le Dominion Bond Rating Service (« DBRS »).

Tableau 3 – Ratios financiers et cotes de solvabilité de Westcoast Energy Inc.
  2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018
Ratio de couverture des intérêts d’après le bénéfice avant intérêts et impôts 2,1 2,2 2,2 2,1 1,7 1,5 1,8
Flux de trésorerie par rapport à la dette totale (en pourcentage) 13,7 15,1 16,0 12,4 12,6 11,8 13,8
Cote accordée par DBRS A (faible) A (faible) A (faible) A (faible) A (faible) A (faible) A (faible)
Cote accordée par S&P BBB+ BBB BBB BBB BBB BBB+

Audits au titre de la réglementation financière

Section mise à jour : juin 2019

L’Office audite les sociétés pipelinières afin de confirmer le respect de la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie, des règlements ainsi que de ses ordonnances et décisions. Les audits au titre de la réglementation financière portent essentiellement sur des questions de droits et tarifs, pour relever, notamment, les cas d’interfinancement. La dernière vérification de Westcoast a été conclue en août 2018.  Les documents officiels de l’Office concernant les audits au titre de la réglementation financière de Westcoast se trouvent ici : [dossier 571548].

Conformité aux conditions

Section mise à jour : septembre 2018

Au Canada, les sociétés pipelinières sont tenues de satisfaire à des exigences fédérales, provinciales ou territoriales et locales, qu’il s’agisse notamment de lois, de règlements municipaux ou autres, de règles ou de restrictions de zonage. Les pipelines doivent aussi respecter des normes techniques, des normes relatives à la sécurité et à la protection de l’environnement, sans oublier les règles internes de la société, ses protocoles et ses systèmes de gestion. L’Office peut aussi intégrer des conditions aux instruments réglementaires qui lient les sociétés. Il s’assure ensuite de leur respect et des mesures d’exécution sont prises au besoin. Pour une liste détaillée des conditions que Westcoast doit remplir et savoir ce qu’il en est au juste à ce sujet, prière de consulter le tableau de conformité aux conditions pour « Westcoast Energy Inc. ».

Bilan de sécurité

Section mise à jour : juin 2019

L’Office tient les sociétés qu’il réglemente responsables d’assurer la sécurité des Canadiens et de protéger l’environnement. À cette fin elles doivent notamment déclarer certains événements, comme les incidents et les activités non autorisées de tiers qui n'ont pas au préalable obtenu leur autorisation par écrit. Pour un résumé des incidents pipeliniers et des activités non autorisées sur le réseau de Westcoast depuis 2008, prière de visiter le bilan du rendement en matière de sécurité pour « Westcoast Energy Inc. ».

Gestion des situations d’urgence

Section mise à jour : juin 2019

L’Office s’assure que les pipelines des sociétés ne présentent pas de danger, en menant des inspections, des audits approfondis de la sécurité et d’autres activités. Ces précautions ne suffisent pas toujours pour éviter les urgences. De saines pratiques de gestion des urgences améliorent la sécurité du public, en plus de mieux protéger l’environnement et de permettre des interventions plus efficaces.

L’Office tient les sociétés qu’il réglemente responsables de prévoir, de prévenir, d’atténuer et de gérer les incidents, peu importe leur ampleur et leur durée. Chacune doit disposer d’un programme de gestion des urgences qui comprend des manuels détaillés des mesures à prendre afin de bien orienter l’intervention selon la situation. L’Office surveille le programme de gestion des urgences établi pour les projets des sociétés réglementées tant et aussi longtemps qu’elles sont en exploitation.

Les sociétés sont obligées de publier sur leur site Web de l’information au sujet du programme et des manuels précités de manière que les Canadiens y aient accès pour la gestion des situations d’urgence. Pour prendre connaissance du plan d’urgence intégré [en anglais] régional de Westcoast, rendez-vous sur le site Web d’Enbridge à la page sur les plans d’intervention sur le terrain [en anglais] organisés par secteur d’exploitation.

Date de modification :