Pipeline Profiles: Maritimes & Northeast

Pipeline system and key points

Section updated June 2020

The Maritimes & Northeast Pipeline (M&NP) was commissioned in December 1999 to transport natural gas produced from the Sable Offshore Energy Project to markets in the New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, and the U.S. Northeast. Since 2007, M&NP has also been transporting supply from the McCully natural gas field in New Brunswick. Since August 2013, M&NP has been transporting offshore natural gas from the Deep Panuke project as well.

A key point on M&NP is an import/export interconnect with the US portion of M&NP at the Canada-U.S. border near St. Stephen, New Brunswick.

M&NP is bi-directional. When offshore production is insufficient to meet domestic demand, natural gas flows from M&NP U.S. into Canada. Additional supply comes from the Canaport LNG import terminal via the Brunswick Pipeline or from the Portland Natural Gas Transmission System.

Natural gas supply from offshore Nova Scotia remained below historical levels in 2017, averaging 164 MMcf/d in the first half of the year. Production at Deep Panuke has been sporadic due to water incursion into the reservoir and may end within a few years. Production at Sable has remained steady but is in long-term decline and may come to an end within a year or two.

Official CER documents related to the construction, operation and maintenance of M&NP can be found here: M&NP regulatory documents [Folder 90705].

Maritimes & Northeast pipeline system map

Source: CER

Text version of this map

This map provides an overview of the Maritimes & Northeast pipeline.

You can see the M&NP and all CER-regulated pipelines on the CER’s Interactive Pipeline Map. The map shows more detailed location information, the products carried by each pipeline, the operating status and more. You can also view a system map on the Maritimes & Northeast Pipeline website.

Throughput and capacity

Section updated quarterly (early March, mid-May, mid-August and mid-November)

Note: The physical capacity of a pipeline is based on many factors such as the direction of flow, ambient temperature, pipeline compression, and maintenance work or other pressure restrictions. The operational capacity at each key point may also reflect contracts for transportation service, and supply and demand across the system. The actual physical capacity of the pipeline may, at times, be higher than the assumed operational capacity stated here.

Open data can be freely used and shared by anyone for any purpose. The data for these graphs are available.

Tolls

Section updated June 2020

A toll is the price charged by a pipeline company for transportation and other services. Tolls allow pipeline companies to safely operate and maintain pipelines. Tolls also provide funds for companies to recover capital (the money used to build the pipeline), pay debts, and provide a return to investors. The interactive graph below shows the tolls for key paths on the pipeline since 2006.

Open data can be freely used and shared by anyone for any purpose. The data for these graphs are available.

M&NP tolls are calculated in accordance with a toll settlement for 2020 to 2021 and are cost-based. M&NP uses a ‘postage stamp’ tolling model in which the toll is the same for all paths on the system regardless of the distance travelled.

Official CER documents related to the traffic, tolls and tariffs for M&NP can be found here: M&NP toll documents [Folder 92842].

Abandonment funding

Section updated June 2020

The CER requires all pipelines to set aside funds to safely cease operation of a pipeline at the end of its useful life. In 2016, M&NP estimated it would cost $167 million to do this. These funds will be collected over 19.5 years and are being set aside in a trust.

Table 1: M&NP’s abandonment trust fund balance
  2015 2016 2017 2018 2019
Trust fund balance ($) 14 921 439 22 700 203 32 261 494 44 163 000 68 807 000

Official CER documents related to abandonment funding can be found here, sorted by year and by company: abandonment funding documents [Folder 3300366].

Pipeline financial information

Section updated June 2020

Pipeline companies report important financial information to the CER quarterly or annually. A strong financial position enables companies to maintain their pipeline systems, attract capital to build new infrastructure, and meet the market’s evolving needs. The data in this table comes from M&NP’s Quarterly Surveillance Reports [Folder 162864].

Table 2: M&NP financial data
  2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019
Revenues (million $) 141 142 133 139 142 120 129 126 132 130
Operating expenses (million $) 117 117 109 116 116 94 110 107 115 115
Rate base (million $) 591 571 528 492 445 401 353 303 237 164
Return on rate base (%) 8.35 8.59 8.81 8.56 9.68 9.89 8.19 8.77 9.06 9.73
Return on equity (%) 6.45 5.96 5.55 5.51 6.87 7.32 5.29 6.47 6.60 7.77

Corporate financial information

Section updated June 2020

Maritimes & Northeast Pipeline Canada owns the Canadian segment of the Maritimes & Northeast Pipeline. The Maritimes & Northeast Pipeline Limited Partnership is a joint venture of Enbridge Inc. (77.53%), Emera Inc. (12.92%) and Exxon Mobil (9.55%) Credit ratings for Maritimes & Northeast Pipeline are investment grade.

Credit ratings provide an idea of the financial strength of a company, including its ability to attract capital to build new infrastructure and meet financial obligations. The credit ratings below are expert opinions of how likely the debt issuer is to live up to its obligations. In December 2019 DBRS Morningstar discontinued and withdrew the Issuer Rating as M&NP Canada will no longer issue any public securities.

Table 3: Maritimes & Northeast Pipeline Limited Partnership credit ratings
  2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019
DBRS credit rating A A A A A A A A

Financial regulatory audits

Section updated June 2020

The CER audits pipeline companies to confirm compliance with the Canadian Energy Regulator Act, regulations, CER orders and CER decisions. Financial regulatory audits focus on toll and tariff matters such as detecting cross-subsidies. M&NP’s last audit was completed in September 2009. Official CER documents related to M&NP’s financial regulatory audits can be found here: [Folder 571193].

Condition compliance

Section updated June 2020

Every pipeline company in Canada must meet federal, provincial or territorial, and local requirements. This includes Acts, Regulations, rules, bylaws, and zoning restrictions. Pipelines are also bound by technical, safety, and environmental standards along with company rules, protocols and management systems. In addition to these requirements, the CER may add conditions to regulatory instruments that each company must meet. Condition compliance is monitored by the CER and enforcement action is taken when required. For a detailed list of conditions that M&NP must meet, and their status, please see the condition compliance table and search for “Maritimes & Northeast Pipeline Management Ltd.”

Safety performance

Section updated June 2020

The CER holds the companies it regulates accountable to protect the safety of Canadians and the environment. As part of this accountability, companies must report to the CER events such as incidents and unauthorized third-party activities that happen without the pipeline company’s written consent. For a summary of pipeline incidents and unauthorized activities on M&NP since 2008, visit the Safety performance dashboard and select “Maritimes & Northeast Pipeline Management Ltd.”

Emergency management

Section updated June 2020

The CER checks to make sure companies are keeping pipelines safe by doing inspections, in-depth safety audits, and other activities. Yet, even with these precautions, an emergency could still happen. Sound emergency management practices improve public safety and environmental protection outcomes, and provide for more effective emergency response.

The CER holds its regulated companies responsible for anticipating, preventing, mitigating, and managing incidents of any size or duration. Each company must have an emergency management program that includes detailed emergency procedures manuals to guide its response in an emergency situation. We oversee the emergency management program of a regulated company’s projects as long as they operate.

The CER requires companies to publish information on their emergency management program and their emergency procedures manuals on their websites so Canadians can access emergency management information. To view Maritimes & Northeast’s Field Emergency Response Plan, go to its Responding to Emergencies website.

Date modified:

Profils pipeliniers – Maritimes & Northeast

Réseau pipelinier et principaux points

Mise à jour : juin 2020

Le gazoduc de Maritimes and Northeast Pipeline (« M&NP ») est entré en service en décembre 1999. Il transporte le gaz naturel extrait du projet énergétique extracôtier de l’île de Sable vers les marchés du Nouveau-Brunswick, de la Nouvelle-Écosse et du nord-est des États-Unis. Depuis 2007, M&NP achemine aussi les volumes du champ de gaz naturel McCully au Nouveau-Brunswick. Depuis août 2013, M&NP transporte en outre le gaz naturel extracôtier du projet Deep Panuke.

L’interconnexion d’importation-exportation avec la partie du réseau de M&NP en sol américain, à la frontière canado-américaine près de St. Stephen, au Nouveau-Brunswick, constitue un des principaux points.

Le réseau de M&NP est bidirectionnel. Ainsi, lorsque la production extracôtière est insuffisante pour répondre à la demande intérieure, le gaz naturel est acheminé par M&NP des États-Unis vers le Canada. Des volumes supplémentaires sont transportés par le pipeline Brunswick ou le réseau Portland depuis le terminal d’importation de GNL Canaport.

Les volumes de gaz naturel de la région extracôtière de la Nouvelle-Écosse sont restés en deçà des niveaux historiques en 2017, atteignant en moyenne 164 Mpi³/j dans la première moitié de l’année. La production du projet Deep Panuke, qui a été sporadique en raison de l’eau qui s’est infiltrée dans le réservoir, pourrait prendre fin dans quelques années. La production à l’île de Sable a été stable, mais elle est dans son déclin à long terme et pourrait se terminer dans un an ou deux.

Carte du réseau pipelinier de Maritimes & Northeast

Source : Régie de l’énergie du Canada

Version texte de la carte

La carte présente en gros le tracé du pipeline Maritimes & Northeast.

Les documents officiels de la Régie portant sur la construction, l’exploitation et l’entretien du réseau de M&NP sont accessibles ici : documents de réglementation de M&NP [dossier 90705].

La carte interactive des pipelines montre ceux de M&NP ainsi que tous les autres qui sont réglementés par la Régie. Cette carte renferme de plus amples renseignements entre autres sur l’emplacement de chaque pipeline, les produits transportés et l’état d’exploitation. Une autre carte se trouve sur le site Web de la société.

Débit et capacité

Mise à jour trimestrielle (début mars, mi-mai, mi-août et mi-novembre)

Remarque : La capacité physique d’un pipeline dépend de nombreux éléments, tels que le sens d’écoulement, la température ambiante, la capacité de compression du pipeline, les travaux d’entretien et les restrictions de pression. La capacité opérationnelle à chacun des points principaux peut également dépendre des contrats de transport, ainsi que de l’offre et de la demande visant le réseau. La capacité physique réelle du pipeline peut parfois être supérieure à la capacité opérationnelle hypothétique indiquée ici.

Les données ouvertes peuvent être utilisées et transmises librement. Les données pour ces graphiques sont disponibles.

Droits

Mise à jour : juin 2020

Un droit est le prix exigé par une société pipelinière pour les services de transport et autres qu’elle propose. Les droits ainsi perçus lui permettent d’exploiter et d’entretenir les pipelines de façon sûre. Ils procurent également des fonds pour récupérer le capital engagé (l’argent ayant servi à construire le pipeline), payer les dettes et verser un rendement aux investisseurs. Le graphique interactif ci-dessous montre les droits pour les principaux parcours du pipeline depuis 2006.

Les données ouvertes peuvent être utilisées et transmises librement. Les données pour ces graphiques sont disponibles.

Les droits exigibles sur le réseau de M&NP sont fondés sur le coût, conformément au règlement conclu à cet égard pour la période de 2020 à 2021. M&NP utilise un modèle de tarification « timbre-poste  », c’est-à-dire que le tarif est le même pour tous les parcours du réseau, peu importe la distance parcourue.

Les documents officiels de la Régie portant sur le transport, les droits et les tarifs pour le réseau de M&NP sont disponibles ici : documents sur les droits pour le réseau de M&NP [dossier 92842].

Financement de la cessation d’exploitation

Mise à jour : juin 2020

La Régie exige que toutes les sociétés pipelinières mettent de côté des fonds pour cesser d’exploiter les pipelines en toute sécurité à la fin de leur vie utile. En 2016, M&NP a estimé le coût de la cessation d’exploitation à 167 millions de dollars. Cette somme sera recueillie sur une période de 19,5 ans et versée dans un compte en fiducie.

Tableau 1 – Solde de la fiducie constituée pour la cessation d’exploitation du pipeline M&NP
  2015 2016 2017 2018 2019
Solde de la fiducie (en dollars) 14 921 439 22 700 203 32 261 494 44 163 000 68 807 000

Les documents officiels de la Régie sur le financement de la cessation d’exploitation, classés par année et par société, sont accessibles à partir du lien [dossier 3300366].

Renseignements financiers sur le réseau

Mise à jour : juin 2020

Chaque trimestre ou chaque année, les sociétés pipelinières remettent d’importants rapports financiers à la Régie. Une situation financière solide permet aux sociétés d’entretenir leur réseau pipelinier, d’attirer des capitaux pour construire de nouvelles infrastructures et de répondre aux besoins changeants du marché. Les données de ce tableau sont tirées des rapports de surveillance trimestriels de M&NP [dossier 162864].

Tableau 2 – Données financières sur M&NP
  2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019
Revenus (en millions de dollars) 141 142 133 139 142 120 129 126 132 130
Charges d’exploitation (en millions de dollars) 117 117 109 116 116 94 110 107 115 115
Base tarifaire (en millions de dollars) 591 571 528 492 445 401 353 303 237 164
Rendement de la base tarifaire (en pourcentage) 8,35 8,59 8,81 8,56 9,68 9,89 8,19 8,77 9,06 9,73
Rendement des capitaux propres (en pourcentage) 6,45 5,96 5,55 5,51 6,87 7,32 5,29 6,47 6,60 7,77

Renseignements financiers sur la société

Mise à jour : juin 2020

Maritimes & Northeast Pipeline Canada possède la partie en sol canadien du pipeline Maritimes & Northeast. Maritimes & Northeast Pipeline Limited Partnership appartient à Enbridge ( 77,53 %), Emera Inc. (12, 92 %) et Exxon Mobil (9,55 %). Les cotes de solvabilité de Maritimes & Northeast Pipeline sont de qualité investissement.

Les cotes de solvabilité donnent une idée de la solidité financière d’une société, y compris de sa capacité d’attirer des capitaux pour construire de nouvelles infrastructures et de remplir ses obligations financières. Les cotes de solvabilité qui suivent correspondent à des opinions d’experts sur la probabilité que le débiteur remplisse ses obligations. En décembre 2019, DBRS Morningstar a cessé d’accorder la cote d’émetteur et l’a retirée, car M&NP Canada n’émettra plus de titres publics.

Tableau 3 – Ratios financiers et cotes de solvabilité de Maritimes & Northeast Pipeline L.P.
  2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019
Cote accordée par DBRS A A A A A A A A

Audits au titre de la réglementation financière

Mise à jour : juin 2020

La Régie audite les sociétés pipelinières afin de confirmer le respect de la Loi sur la Régie canadienne de l’énergie, des règlements ainsi que de ses ordonnances et décisions. Les audits au titre de la réglementation financière portent essentiellement sur des questions de droits et tarifs, pour relever, notamment, les cas d’interfinancement. La dernière vérification de M&NP a eu lieu en septembre 2009. Les documents officiels de la Régie concernant les audits menés au titre de la réglementation financière de M&NP se trouvent ici : [dossier 571193].

Respect des conditions

Mise à jour : juin 2020

Au Canada, les sociétés pipelinières sont tenues de satisfaire à des exigences fédérales, provinciales ou territoriales et locales, qu’il s’agisse notamment de lois, de règlements municipaux ou autres, de règles ou de restrictions de zonage. Les pipelines doivent aussi respecter des normes techniques, des normes relatives à la sécurité et à la protection de l’environnement, sans oublier les règles internes de la société, ses protocoles et ses systèmes de gestion. La Régie peut aussi intégrer des conditions aux instruments réglementaires qui lient les sociétés. Elle s’assure ensuite de leur respect, et des mesures d’exécution sont prises au besoin. Pour une liste détaillée des conditions que M&NP doit remplir et savoir ce qu’il en est au juste à ce sujet, prière de consulter le tableau de conformité aux conditions pour « Maritimes & Northeast Pipeline Management Ltd. ».

Bilan de sécurité

Mise à jour : juin 2020

La Régie tient les sociétés qu’elle réglemente responsables d’assurer la sécurité des Canadiens et de protéger l’ environnement . À cette fin elles doivent notamment déclarer certains événements, comme les incidents et les activités non autorisées de tiers qui n’ont pas au préalable obtenu leur autorisation par écrit. Pour un résumé des incidents pipeliniers et des activités non autorisées sur le réseau de M&NP depuis 2008, prière de consulter le bilan du rendement en matière de sécurité pour « Maritimes & Northeast Pipeline Management Ltd. ».

Gestion des situations d’urgence

Mise à jour : juin 2020

La Régie s’assure que les pipelines des sociétés ne présentent pas de danger, en menant des inspections, des audits approfondis de la sécurité et d’autres activités. Même en prenant toutes ces précautions, il se peut que des urgences se produisent. De saines pratiques de gestion des urgences améliorent la sécurité du public, en plus de mieux protéger l’environnement et de permettre des interventions plus efficaces.

La Régie tient les sociétés qu’elle réglemente responsables de prévoir, de prévenir, d’atténuer et de gérer les incidents, peu importe leur ampleur et leur durée. Chacune doit disposer d’un programme de gestion des urgences qui comprend des manuels détaillés des mesures à prendre afin de bien orienter l’intervention selon la situation. La Régie surveille le programme de gestion des urgences établi pour les projets des sociétés réglementées tant et aussi longtemps qu’elles sont en exploitation.

Les sociétés sont obligées de publier sur leur site Web de l’information au sujet du programme et des manuels précités de manière que les Canadiens y aient accès pour la gestion des urgences. Pour prendre connaissance du plan d’intervention en cas d’urgence sur le terrain de Maritimes & Northeast, rendez-vous sur son site Web (en anglais).

Date de modification :