On Wednesday, Aug. 28, the National Energy Board (NEB) became the Canada Energy Regulator (CER). For further information please visit our Implementing the Canadian Energy Regulator Act information page

Market Snapshot: How much crude oil does Canada export by marine vessel and where does it go?

Release date: 2019-05-29

In 2018, Canada exported 275 thousand barrels per day (Mb/d) of crude oil by marine vessel, or 8% of total crude oil exports.Footnote 1

Approximately 80% of the crude oil exported by marine vessel is shipped from Canada’s eastern offshore production areas. This crude oil comes from drilling platforms offshore of Newfoundland and loaded directly onto marine tankers. Around one fifth of the crude oil exported by marine tanker is shipped off Canada’s west coast. This crude oil is produced in the Western Canada Sedimentary Basin and transported either by rail or on the Trans Mountain Pipeline to the Westridge loading dock in Burnaby, British Columbia.

Figure 1: Quarterly crude oil exports by marine tanker
off the east and west coasts of Canada 2013-2018

Source and Description

Source: NEB

Description: This bar graph shows quarterly crude oil exports by marine tanker off the east and west coasts of Canada from 2013 to the end of 2018. Crude oil exports by marine tanker off the west coast were highest in the first quarter of 2013, at 70.0 Mb/d. West coast exports decreased until 2016, and have since increased to reach 56.9 Mb/d in the fourth quarter of 2018. East coast exports increased from 133.6 Mb/d in the first quarter of 2013 to a peak of 243.8 Mb/d in the second quarter of 2017, and have since decreased to 194.9 Mb/d in the fourth quarter of 2018.

Shipping crude oil by marine tanker allows Canadian crude oil to reach many different global markets. In 2018, Canadian crude oil was exported to 22 different countries in Europe, Asia, Central and South America, and the Caribbean.

Figure 2: Marine shipments of Canadian crude oil by destination

Source and Description

Source: NEB

Description: This pie chart shows the destinations of crude oil exports from Canada by marine tanker in 2018. 37% of crude oil exports by marine tanker went to Europe, 31% went to the U.S. East Coast, 11% to the U.S. West Coast, Hawaii, and Alaska; 11% to the U.S. Gulf Coast, 8% to Asia, and 2% to the Caribbean and Central and South America.

Crude oil export volumes by marine tanker are generally confidential on a monthly basis. The data may also be confidential at the country-level due to the small number of companies shipping to specific destinations. For this reason, the data has been aggregated to larger geographic regions.

 

Date modified:

Le mercredi 28 août, l’Office national de l’énergie est devenu la Régie de l’énergie du Canada. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez la page d’information sur la mise en œuvre de la Loi sur la Régie canadienne de l’énergie

Aperçu du marché : Quelle quantité de pétrole brut le Canada exporte-t-il par navire et vers quels marchés?

Date de diffusion : 2019-05-29

En 2018, le Canada a exporté 275 000 barils par jour (kb/j) de pétrole brut par navire, ou 8 % de ses exportations totales de pétrole brutNote de bas de page 1.

Environ 80 % du pétrole brut exporté par navire est expédié à partir des zones de production extracôtière de l’Est du Canada. Le produit est extrait à partir de plateformes de forage au large des côtes de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador et chargé directement dans des navires-citernes. Environ un cinquième du pétrole brut exporté par navire-citerne est expédié à partir de la côte Ouest du Canada. Il est produit dans le bassin sédimentaire de l’Ouest canadien et transporté par train ou par le pipeline Trans Mountain jusqu’au quai de chargement Westridge à Burnaby, en Colombie-Britannique.

Figure 1 : Exportations de pétrole brut par navire-citerne depuis
les côtes Est et Ouest du Canada, par trimestre, de 2013 à 2018

Source et description

Source : Office

Description : Le diagramme à barres montre les exportations de pétrole brut par navire-citerne depuis les côtes Est et Ouest du Canada, par trimestre, de 2013 à la fin de 2018. Les exportations de pétrole brut par navire-citerne depuis la côte Ouest ont atteint leur point le plus élevé lors du premier trimestre de 2013, à 70,0 kb/j. Les exportations de la côte Ouest ont diminué jusqu’en 2016 pour remonter ensuite et atteindre 56,9 kb/j au quatrième trimestre de 2018. Les exportations de l’Est sont passées de 133,6 kb/j au premier trimestre de 2013 à un sommet de 243,8  kb/j au deuxième trimestre de 2017, et ont depuis diminué à 194,9  kb/j au quatrième trimestre de 2018.

L’utilisation de navires-citernes permet d’acheminer le pétrole brut à de nombreux marchés mondiaux différents. En 2018, le pétrole brut canadien a été exporté vers 22 pays différents en Europe, en Asie, en Amérique centrale et en Amérique du Sud, et dans les Caraïbes.

Figure 2 : Pétrole brut canadien expédié par destination

Source et description

Source : Office

Description : Le diagramme circulaire illustre les destinations des exportations de pétrole brut par navire-citerne à partir du Canada en 2018. Trente-sept pour cent des exportations de pétrole brut par navire-citerne ont été acheminées en Europe, 31 % à la côte Ouest des États-Unis, 11 % à la côte Ouest des États-Unis, à Hawaï et en Alaska; 11 % à la côte américaine du golfe du Mexique, 8 % en Asie, et 2 % aux Caraïbes, en Amérique centrale et en Amérique du Sud.

Les volumes mensuels d’exportation de pétrole brut par navire-citerne sont généralement confidentiels. Il arrive aussi que les données relatives aux pays soient confidentielles en raison du nombre réduit de sociétés qui acheminent ce produit à certaines destinations. Pour cette raison, les données ont été regroupées par régions étendues.

 

Date de modification :