On Wednesday, Aug. 28, the National Energy Board (NEB) became the Canada Energy Regulator (CER). For further information please visit our Implementing the Canadian Energy Regulator Act information page

Market Snapshot: The end of natural gas production in the Maritimes increases reliance on imports

Release date: 2019-02-27

After almost 20 years of producing natural gas, the Sable Offshore Energy Project (SOEP) ceased production on 31 December 2018. The shutdown of SOEP comes after the permanent closure of another offshore facility, Encana’s Deep Panuke field, which ceased production in May 2018. Combined, the two Nova Scotia offshore projects supplied the majority of Maritimes provinces natural gas demand, and surplus gas was exported to the U.S. on the Maritimes and Northeast Pipeline (M&NP). Because SOEP was the largest supplier of natural gas for the Maritimes, its permanent closure will significantly change regional markets. The Maritimes will transform from being an exporter of domestic natural gas to being an importer of natural gas from the U.S.

Raw Natural Gas Production from Sable Island and Deep Panuke, offshore Nova Scotia (1999 to 2018)

Source and Description

Source: Canada Nova Scotia Offshore Petroleum Board, Production Reports for Sable Island and Deep Panuke

Description: The area chart shows monthly natural gas production from Sable Island and Deep Panuke. Production from Sable Offshore Energy project commenced in 1999. Production peaked in the early 2000s at approximately 600 million cubic feet per day (MMcf/d) and declined thereafter, until production ceased at the end of 2018. Production from Deep Panuke commenced in 2013. Production from Deep Panuke peaked in 2015 at approximately 300 MMcf/d and declined thereafter, until production ceased in May 2018.

The Maritimes natural gas market is distinct from other natural gas markets in Canada. The region has few pipeline interconnections, has limited options for gas supply, has no gas storage, and has higher natural gas prices. In the absence of east coast offshore supply, Maritimes customers have to acquire gas supply from other sources.

Two pipeline transportation projects are being developed to deliver more gas into the region via the M&NP. Primarily, the Atlantic Bridge Project involves expanding the connections between the M&NP and Algonquin gas transmission pipeline in the U.S. in order to transport gas from the Appalachia Basin in northeastern U.S.Footnote 1 to the Maritimes. Secondly, Maritimes power producers and local distribution companies have entered into agreements [Filing A97476] to transport natural gas from Alberta via the TransCanada Mainline and interconnecting pipelines into Nova Scotia and New Brunswick. Both projects are under regulatory review.

Until these new projects come into service, the region will continue to rely on gas supplied from existing interconnecting pipelines and liquefied natural gas (LNG) imported to New Brunswick’s Canaport Terminal, all delivered to Maritimes customers on M&NP as imports (graph below).

LNG imported into the Maritimes

Canaport imported seven LNG cargos in 2018, totaling 21 billion cubic feet of natural gas. Five cargos were delivered from Trinidad, and one each from the Netherlands and Norway.

Natural Gas Exports and Imports on the Maritimes and Northeast Pipeline (2006 to 2018)

Source and Description

Source: Canada Open Government, Pipeline Throughput and Capacity Data, Maritimes and Northeast Pipeline

Description: The chart shows imports and exports on the Maritimes and Northeast Pipeline (M&NP) from 2006 to present. The top graph shows southbound flows on M&NP which are recorded as exports from Canada to the US. Exports peaked in mid 2000s and again in 2014 and 2015 as new production from Deep Panuke became available. The bottom graph shows northbound flows on M&NP which are recorded as imports from the US to Canada. Imports occurred periodically on certain days, but increased more systematically in 2016. Imports represented majority of flows on M&NP in 2018 as domestic production declined.

Shell concluded exploration in the Scotian Shelf in January 2017 without finding commercial amounts of gas in two wells. Meanwhile, BP returned half of its exploration licences to the Canada-Nova Scotia Offshore Petroleum Board on 14 January 2019 after drilling an unsuccessful exploration well. In December 2018, the Canada-Nova Scotia Offshore Petroleum Board issued a call for bids from interested parties seeking exploration licences for offshore Nova Scotia.

The National Energy Board (NEB) is a life cycle regulator, which includes the oversight of the abandonment of the SOEP and Deep Panuke, both NEB-regulated facilities. Abandonment applications for the NEB-regulated SOEP and Deep Panuke facilities are currently before the NEB.

 

Date modified:

Le mercredi 28 août, l’Office national de l’énergie est devenu la Régie de l’énergie du Canada. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez la page d’information sur la mise en œuvre de la Loi sur la Régie canadienne de l’énergie

Aperçu du marché : La fin de la production de gaz naturel dans les Maritimes accroît la dépendance par rapport aux importations

Date de diffusion : 2019-02-27

Après avoir produit du gaz naturel pendant presque 20 ans, le Projet énergétique extracôtier de l’île de Sable (le « PEES ») a cessé la production [anglais seulement] le 31 décembre 2018. L’arrêt du PEES fait suite à la fermeture permanente d’une autre installation extracôtière, celle du gisement Deep Panuke d’Encana, dont la production a cessé en mai 2018. Ensemble, les deux projets extracôtiers de la Nouvelle-Écosse répondaient à la majorité de la demande en gaz naturel des provinces maritimes. L’excédent était exporté vers les États-Unis par Maritimes & Northeast Pipeline (« M&NP »). Le PEES était le plus grand fournisseur de gaz naturel dans les Maritimes; l’arrêt permanent des activités changera considérablement les marchés régionaux. Les Maritimes, qui exportaient du gaz naturel produit dans la région, dépendront dorénavant d’approvisionnements en provenance des États-Unis.

Production de gaz naturel brut de l’île de Sable et Deep Panuke, au large de la Nouvelle-Écosse (de 1999 à 2018)

Source et description

Source : Office Canada — Nouvelle-Écosse des hydrocarbures extracôtiers [anglais seulement], rapports de production pour l’île de Sable et Deep Panuke

Description : Le graphique à deux dimensions montre la production de l’île de Sable et de Deep Panuke. La production du Projet énergétique extracôtier de l’île de Sable a commencé en 1999. Elle a atteint un sommet au début des années 2000, à environ 600 millions de pieds cubes par jour (Mpi³/j), puis elle a diminué jusqu’à l’arrêt des activités à la fin de 2018. La production de Deep Panuke a débuté en 2013. Elle a atteint un sommet en 2015, à environ 300 Mpi³/j, puis elle a ralenti jusqu’à l’abandon des activités en mai 2018.

Le marché du gaz naturel des Maritimes est différent des autres marchés gaziers au Canada. La région a peu d’interconnexions pipelinières et les options d’approvisionnement en gaz naturel sont limitées. Elle ne dispose pas de stocks de gaz naturel et les prix du gaz naturel y sont plus élevés. Maintenant privés des approvisionnements en gaz de la zone extracôtière de l’Est, les clients des Maritimes doivent trouver d’autres sources.

Deux projets de transport pipelinier sont en cours d’élaboration pour augmenter les livraisons de gaz dans la région par le pipeline M&NP. D’une part, le projet de pipeline Atlantic Bridge prévoit le prolongement des connexions entre le pipeline M&NP et le gazoduc Algonquin aux États-Unis, afin d’acheminer le gaz depuis le bassin Appalachia dans le Nord-Est des États-UnisNote de bas de page 1 jusqu’aux Maritimes. D’autre part, les producteurs d’électricité et les sociétés de distribution locales des Maritimes ont conclu des ententes [dépôt A97476]visant le transport de gaz naturel, par le réseau principal de TransCanada et des pipelines de raccordement, de l’Alberta jusqu’en Nouvelle-Écosse et au Nouveau-Brunswick. Les deux projets sont en cours d’examen réglementaire.

Jusqu’à la mise en service de ces nouveaux projets, la région dépendra des approvisionnements en gaz acheminé par les pipelines d’interconnexion existants et en gaz naturel liquéfié (GNL) transporté jusqu’au terminal Canaport [anglais seulement], au Nouveau-Brunswick, tous livrés aux clients des Maritimes par le pipeline M&NP à titre d’importations (graphique ci-dessous).

GNL importé dans les Maritimes

Canaport a importé sept cargaisons de GNL en 2018, totalisant 21 milliards de pieds cubes de gaz naturel. Cinq cargaisons sont aussi arrivées en provenance de Trinidad, une des Pays-Bas et une autre de la Norvège.

Exportations et importations de gaz naturel sur le pipeline Maritimes & Northeast Pipeline (de 2006 à 2018)

Source et description

Source : Gouvernement ouvert Canada, données sur les débits et les capacités des pipelines, Maritimes & Northeast Pipeline

Description : Le graphique montre les importations et les exportations sur le pipeline de Maritimes & Northeast Pipeline (M&NP) de 2006 jusqu’à présent. Le graphique du haut illustre les débits acheminés vers le sud sur le pipeline M&NP, qui figurent à titre d’exportations du Canada aux États-Unis. Les exportations ont atteint un sommet au milieu des années 2000, puis en 2014 et 2015, à mesure que la production de Deep Panuke est devenue disponible. Le graphique du bas illustre les débits acheminés vers le nord sur le pipeline M&NP, qui figurent à titre d’importations des États-Unis au Canada. Les importations ont eu lieu périodiquement certains jours, mais elles ont augmenté systématiquement en 2016. Les importations ont représenté la majorité des débits acheminés sur le pipeline M&NP en 2018, à mesure que la production a diminué.

Shell a conclu l’exploration de la plate-forme Néo-Écossaise en janvier 2017 et n’a trouvé aucune quantité de gaz commercial dans deux puits. Pour sa part, BP a remis la moitié de ses licences d’exploration [anglais seulement] à l’Office Canada — Nouvelle-Écosse des hydrocarbures extracôtiers le 14 janvier 2019, après le forage infructueux d’un puits d’exploration. En décembre 2018, l’Office Canada — Nouvelle-Écosse des hydrocarbures extracôtiers a lancé un appel d’offres [anglais seulement] pour les parties intéressées à obtenir des licences d’exploration au large de la Nouvelle-Écosse.

L’Office national de l’énergie réglemente les projets énergétiques tout au long de leur cycle de vie, ce qui inclut la surveillance de la cessation d’exploitation des installations du PEES et de Deep Panuke, qui sont de son ressort. Les demandes de cessation d’exploitation des installations du PEES et de Deep Panuke sont actuellement à l’étude par l’Office.

 

Date de modification :