On Wednesday, Aug. 28, the National Energy Board (NEB) became the Canada Energy Regulator (CER). For further information please visit our Implementing the Canadian Energy Regulator Act information page

Market Snapshot: Production of condensate and pentanes plus reached an all-time high in western Canada in 2018

Release date: 2019-02-06

Condensate and pentanes plus are two important sources of diluent for Canada’s oil sands. In August 2018, production of condensate and pentanes plus in western Canada reached an all-time high of 414 thousand barrels per day (Mb/d); 35% higher than August of the previous year. Production in September fell to 401 Mb/d, 1.5% below August (Figure 1). Condensate and pentanes plus production averaged 379 Mb/d during the first 9 months of 2018, with Alberta producing 83%, British Columbia producing almost 17%, and Saskatchewan producing less than 1%.

Figure 1: Western Canadian diluent production

Source and Description

Source: Alberta Energy Regulator, BC Ministry of Energy, Mines and Petroleum Resources, Saskatchewan Ministry of the Economy - Petroleum and Natural Gas Division

Description: The chart above shows the historical production of pentanes plus and condensate in western Canada by province as well as the share of pentanes plus out of total historical condensate and pentanes plus production from January 2010 to September 2018. Pentane plus and condensate production in August 2018 reached an all-time high of 414 Mb/d, 35% over 2017. The average annual share of pentanes plus on total diluent production fell from 88% in 2010 to 87% in 2012, and to 67% in 2018.

In its raw form, bitumen produced by the Canadian oil sands is thick like peanut butter. Therefore, bitumen must be diluted with a much lighter hydrocarbon so it will flow in pipelines. Oil sands “diluent” is a mix of thin oils that have a variety of names.Footnote 1 The most commonly used light oils in the diluent mix are condensate, pentanes plus, and naphtha.Footnote 2

Pentanes plus has been the largest contributor to western Canadian diluent production. However, since 2013, condensate production has been growing faster than pentanes plus production. This is because of growing condensate production from unconventional, liquids-rich gas wells in the Montney and Duvernay formations in Alberta and British Columbia. The share of pentanes plus production dropped from 87% in 2012 to 67% in 2018, and is expected to further decrease as future condensate production is expected to increase quickly.

In western Canada, pentanes plus and condensate production comes from gas processing units (gas plants), fractionators and other facilities scattered throughout Alberta, British Columbia, and Saskatchewan. Supply is transported by pipelines (including Peace, Rainbow, and Keyera) to the main oil sands diluent hub in Edmonton/Fort Saskatchewan (Figure 2). Fort Saskatchewan also receives diluent imports from the United States on the Cochin and Southern Lights pipelines, as well as by rail. From Fort Saskatchewan, several diluent pipelines owned by Enbridge, Inter Pipeline, and other companies transport diluent to oil sands producing regions.

Figure 2: Western Canadian oil sands diluent infrastructure

Source and Description

Source: NEB, company websites

Description: The map above shows major oil pipelines in western Canada that carry diluent. Many of the pipelines gather pentanes plus, condensate, crude oil, and other natural gas liquids (NGL) from producing areas to the main oil and NGL hub at Edmonton/Fort Saskatchewan. Other pipelines connect the hub to oil production sites in northern and central Alberta, delivering diluent north to oil sands facilities and transporting crude oil production south. From Edmonton/Fort Saskatchewan, major export pipelines move crude oil west, east, and south to oil consumption sites in the United States and Canada. In general, diluent pipelines flow in the opposite direction of nearby crude oil pipelines.

 

Date modified:

Le mercredi 28 août, l’Office national de l’énergie est devenu la Régie de l’énergie du Canada. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez la page d’information sur la mise en œuvre de la Loi sur la Régie canadienne de l’énergie

Aperçu du marché : La production de condensats et de pentanes plus a atteint un niveau record dans l’Ouest canadien en 2018

Date de diffusion : 2019-02-06

Les condensats et pentanes plus sont deux importantes sources de diluants utilisés dans l’exploitation des sables bitumineux au Canada. En août 2018, la production de condensats et de pentanes plus dans l’Ouest canadien a atteint le niveau record de 414 milliers de barils par jour (« kb/j »), une hausse de 35 % par rapport au mois d’août de l’année précédente. En septembre, la production a diminué pour s’établir à 401 kb/j, ce qui représente une baisse de 1,5 % par rapport à août (figure 1). La production moyenne de condensats et de pentanes plus s’est chiffrée à 379 kb/j durant les neuf premiers mois de 2018. L’Alberta a compté pour 83 % de cette production, la Colombie-Britannique pour près de 17 % et la part de la Saskatchewan a représenté moins de 1 %.

Figure 1 : Production de diluants dans l’Ouest canadien

Source et description

Source : Alberta Energy Regulator, ministère de l’Énergie, des Mines et des Ressources pétrolières de la Colombie-Britannique et ministère de l’Économie de la Saskatchewan – division du pétrole et du gaz naturel

Description : Le graphique ci-dessus illustre la production historique de pentanes plus et de condensats dans l’Ouest canadien, par province, ainsi que la part des pentanes plus dans la production totale de janvier 2010 à septembre 2018. En août 2018, la production de pentanes plus et de condensats a atteint le niveau record de 414 kb/j, une hausse de 35 % par rapport au même mois en 2017. La part annuelle moyenne des pentanes plus dans la production totale de diluants a reculé, passant de 88 % en 2010 à 87 % en 2012, et à 67 % en 2018.

Dans sa forme brute, le bitume provenant des sables bitumineux canadiens est aussi épais que du beurre d’arachide. Il doit donc être dilué au moyen d’un hydrocarbure beaucoup plus léger afin de pouvoir être acheminé par pipeline. Un « diluant » est un mélange d’huiles légères portant plusieurs nomsNote de bas de page 1. Les huiles légères les plus couramment utilisées dans les mélanges de diluants sont les condensats, les pentanes plus et le naphteNote de bas de page 2.

Les pentanes plus demeurent le diluant le plus produit dans l’Ouest canadien. Toutefois, depuis 2013, la croissance de la production de condensats a été plus rapide que celle des pentanes plus. Cela est attribuable à la production croissante de condensats provenant de puits de gaz naturel riches en liquides non classiques dans les formations de Montney et de Duvernay en Alberta et en Colombie-Britannique. La part des pentanes plus dans la production a régressé, passant de 87 % en 2012 à 67 % en 2018, et elle devrait continuer à diminuer du fait qu’on s’attend à ce que la production de condensats augmente rapidement.

Dans l’Ouest canadien, les pentanes plus et condensats proviennent d’unités de traitement du gaz [anglais seulement] (usines à gaz), de colonnes de fractionnement et d’autres installations de l’Alberta, de la Colombie-Britannique et de la Saskatchewan. Ils sont acheminés par pipeline (notamment Peace, Rainbow et Keyera) jusqu’au principal carrefour d’Edmonton/Fort Saskatchewan (figure 2). Fort Saskatchewan reçoit également des diluants provenant des États-Unis acheminés au moyen des pipelines Cochin et Southern Lights, ainsi que par train. À partir de là, plusieurs pipelines de transport de diluants appartenant à Enbridge, Inter Pipeline et d’autres sociétés entrent en action jusqu’aux zones d’exploitation de sables bitumineux.

Figure 2 : Infrastructure de transport de diluants pour l’exploitation des sables bitumineux dans l’Ouest canadien

Source et description

Source : Office et sites Web de sociétés

Description : La carte ci-dessus illustre le tracé des principaux pipelines transportant des diluants dans l’Ouest canadien. Nombreux sont ceux qui récupèrent les pentanes plus, les condensats, le pétrole brut et d’autres liquides de gaz naturel extraits dans les zones d’exploitation pour les diriger vers le principal carrefour d’Edmonton/Fort Saskatchewan. D’autres relient le carrefour aux sites d’exploitation dans le nord et le centre de l’Alberta, acheminant des diluants vers le nord et transportant le pétrole brut vers le sud. D’Edmonton/Fort Saskatchewan, les principaux pipelines d’exportation orientent le pétrole brut vers l’ouest, l’est et le sud jusqu’aux consommateurs aux États-Unis et au Canada. En général, les diluants sont acheminés dans la direction opposée au pétrole brut.

 

Date de modification :