On Wednesday, Aug. 28, the National Energy Board (NEB) became the Canada Energy Regulator (CER). For further information please visit our Implementing the Canadian Energy Regulator Act information page

Market Snapshot: Which cities have the highest solar potential in Canada?

Release date: 2018-06-20

Cities in Saskatchewan have the highest solar photovoltaic (PV) generation potential in Canada.

On average, municipalities in Saskatchewan are exposed to the greatest amount of sunlight, followed by those in Manitoba, Alberta, Ontario, and Quebec.Footnote 1 Although all provinces and municipalities within Canada have solar PV potential, the extent of their potential varies widely. Exposure to the sun’s rays is affected primarily by climate, latitude, and elevation.Footnote 2 Potential sunlight is only one factor that determines solar PV potential.

The interactive map below shows the average monthly PV potential in each province.Footnote 3

Source and Description

Source: Natural Resource Canada and NEB

Description: This map shows the annual average solar potential in each province and territory in Canada, as well as select cities. Saskatchewan has the highest potential with 6.79 kilowatt hours per square meter over a month (kW.h/m²). The remaining 12 provinces and territories, listed from greatest to least solar potential in kW.h/m², are: Manitoba (6.64), Alberta (6.58), Ontario (5.99), Quebec (5.83), Northwest Territories (5.79), New Brunswick (5.74), Nunavut (5.58), Prince Edward Island (5.54), British Columbia (5.50), Nova Scotia (5.37), Yukon Territory (5.10), and Newfoundland and Labrador (4.63). Capital and major cities are also included in the map. Of the major cities, Regina is exposed to the most photovoltaic potential (7.15), followed by: Saskatoon (7.10), Calgary (6.70), Winnipeg (6.61), Edmonton (6.50), Yellowknife (6.18), Ottawa (6.09), Montreal (6.04), Toronto (5.94), Mississauga (5.93), Fredericton (5.76), Québec (5.75), Saint John (5.68), Victoria (5.68), Charlottetown (5.51), Iqaluit (5.49), Halifax (5.33), Vancouver (5.21), Whitehorse (5.02) and St. John’s (4.53).

Canadian solar power generation in 2016 was almost 30 times that of solar power generation in 2010. Based on the current economic outlook, Canadian solar generation is expected to almost triple from 3.6 TW.h in 2016 to almost 13.0 TW.h by 2040. Over 98% of Canada’s solar power generation capacity is currently located in Ontario, which has offered incentives for renewable-energy projects. However, significantly decreasing solar PV module costs have made solar much more competitive. With lower costs and some proposed renewable-portfolio standards, it is expected that more generation will be installed in more locations throughout Canada, particularly those with high PV potential.

 

Date modified:

Le mercredi 28 août, l’Office national de l’énergie est devenu la Régie de l’énergie du Canada. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez la page d’information sur la mise en œuvre de la Loi sur la Régie canadienne de l’énergie

Aperçu du marché : Quelles villes canadiennes recèlent le plus grand potentiel d’énergie solaire?

Date de diffusion : 2018-06-20

Les villes de la Saskatchewan figurent au premier rang au Canada pour le potentiel photovoltaïque.

En moyenne, ces villes bénéficient du plus fort ensoleillement, suivies de celles du Manitoba, de l’Alberta, de l’Ontario et du QuébecNote de bas de page 1. Si toutes les provinces et villes au Canada ont un potentiel photovoltaïque, celui-ci varie grandement. Le climat, la latitude et l’altitude sont autant d’éléments qui influent sur l’exposition aux rayons du soleilNote de bas de page 2. L’ensoleillement potentiel n’est qu’un des facteurs à considérer pour déterminer le potentiel photovoltaïque.

La carte interactive ci-dessous indique le potentiel photovoltaïque mensuel moyen de chaque provinceNote de bas de page 3.

Source et description

Source : Ressources naturelles Canada et Office

Description : Cette carte indique le potentiel photovoltaïque annuel moyen de chaque province et territoire au Canada, ainsi que celui de certaines villes. La Saskatchewan est la province qui recèle le plus fort potentiel mensuel, soit 6,79 kilowattheures par mètre carré (kWh/m²). Les douze autres provinces et territoires sont classés par ordre décroissant de potentiel photovoltaïque, exprimé en kWh/m² : Manitoba (6,64), Alberta (6,58), Ontario (5,99), Québec (5,83), Territoires du Nord Ouest (5,79), Nouveau-Brunswick (5,74), Nunavut (5,58), Île-du-Prince-Édouard (5,54), Colombie Britannique (5,50), Nouvelle-Écosse (5,37), Yukon (5,10), Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador (4,63). La carte indique aussi les capitales et les grandes villes. Parmi ces dernières, c’est la ville de Regina qui renferme le plus fort potentiel photovoltaïque (7,15). Elle est suivie, dans l’ordre, par : Saskatoon (7,10), Calgary (6,70), Winnipeg (6,61), Edmonton (6,50), Yellowknife (6,18), Ottawa (6,09), Montréal (6,04), Toronto (5,94), Mississauga (5,93), Fredericton(5,76), Québec (5,75), Saint John (5,68), Victoria (5,68), Charlottetown (5,51), Iqaluit (5,49), Halifax (5,33), Vancouver (5,21), Whitehorse (5,02) et St. John’s (4,53).

En 2016, la production d’énergie solaire au Canada était près de 30 fois plus élevée qu’en 2010. Selon les perspectives économiques actuelles, on s’attend à ce que cette production triple, pour passer de 3,6 TWh en 2016 à quelque 13,0 TWh d’ici 2040. Plus de 98 % de la production canadienne d’énergie solaire se trouvent actuellement en Ontario, où les projets d’énergies renouvelables ont donné lieu à des mesures d’encouragement. Par ailleurs, grâce à une baisse considérable des coûts des modules photovoltaïques, la production d’énergie solaire est devenue beaucoup plus concurrentielle. Ces coûts plus bas, combinés à certaines normes relatives au portefeuille de ressources renouvelables, devraient se traduire par l’installation d’une plus grande capacité de production dans un nombre accru d’endroits au Canada, en particulier là où le potentiel photovoltaïque est élevé.

 

Date de modification :