Provincial and Territorial Energy Profiles - Explore

Explore

These four interactive dashboards explore hydrocarbon production (crude oil and natural gas), electricity generation, energy end-use demand, and greenhouse gas emissions for each province and territory.

The dashboards have a series of filters that allow you to customize region, sector, unit of measure, and the year (if applicable). To remove a filtered view, click on the previously selected element or refresh the web page. If the dashboard uses a map, the map can also be used as a filter, just click on the province or territory. Click on any part of the map outside the country to get back to all of Canada view. Hovering over a data item or the province/territory provides more detail in a tooltip.

These dashboards are updated annually as information becomes available. Please send feedback to energy-energie@cer-rec.gc.ca.

 

Figure 1: Hydrocarbon Production in Canada (2006 - 2018)

Source and Description:

Source:
Canada’s Energy Future 2019

Description:
This interactive dashboard illustrates natural gas and crude oil production by province or territory in Canada from 2006 to 2018.

In 2018, Alberta produced 10.5 billion cubic feet per day (Bcf/d) of natural gas (65.2% of Canadian total production). British Columbia produced 5.1 Bcf/d (31.8%), Saskatchewan produced 0.4 Bcf/d (2.5%), and Nova Scotia produced 0.1 Bcf/d (0.4%). The remaining jurisdictions (Ontario, New Brunswick, and the Northwest Territories) produced less than 0.1 Bcf/d combined in 2018.

In 2018, Alberta produced 3 907 thousand barrels per day (Mb/d) of crude oil (81.6% of Canadian total production). Saskatchewan produced 489 Mb/d (10.2%), Newfoundland and Labrador produced 244 Mb/d (5.1%), British Columbia produced 101 Mb/d (2.1%) and Manitoba produced 40 Mb/d (0.9%). The remaining jurisdictions (Ontario, Nova Scotia, and the Northwest Territories) produced less than 4 Mb/d combined in 2018.

Figure 2: Electricity Generation in Canada (2018)

Source and Description:

Source:
Canada’s Energy Future 2019

Description:
This interactive dashboard illustrates Canadian electricity generation by jurisdiction and by fuel type in 2018. The data is displayed in gigawatt hours (GW.h).

In 2018, a total of 647 716 GW.h of electricity was generated in Canada. The three largest producers of electricity were Quebec (213 745 GW.h), Ontario (151 118 GW.h), and Alberta (81 003 GW.h).

The largest source of electricity in Canada in 2018 was hydroelectricity (397 237 GW.h), accounting for 61% of Canada’s electricity production. Uranium was the second largest fuel source, accounting for 15% of Canada’s generation (95 245 GW.h). The other fuel sources for electricity generation in Canada were natural gas (60 573 GW.h or 9%), coal and coke (52 438 GW.h or 8%), wind (29 146 GW.h or 4%), biomass (7 291 GW.h or 1%), solar (3 197 GW.h or <1%), and petroleum (2 554 GW.h or <1%).

Figure 3: Canadian End-Use Energy Demand and Energy Intensity Measures (2017)

Source and Description:

Source:
Canada’s Energy Future 2019 and Statistics Canada (Tables 36-10-0222-01 and 17-10-0005-01)

Description:
This interactive dashboard illustrates total end-use energy demand by sector and by jurisdiction in Canada in 2017. The dashboard also displays two energy intensity measures for Canadian provinces: end-use energy demand per capita and end-use energy demand per gross domestic product (GDP).

In 2017, total end-use energy demand in Canada was 11 489 petajoules (PJ). The sector with the largest end-use energy demand was the industrial sector at 6 006 PJ or 52.3% of total end-use demand. The transportation sector was the second largest (2 623 PJ), followed by the residential sector (1 517 PJ) and lastly the commercial sector (1 343 PJ).

The top three largest jurisdictions for energy consumption were Alberta (3 805 PJ), Ontario (3 035 PJ), and Quebec (1 770 PJ).

Alberta is the most energy intensive jurisdiction, consuming 897 gigajoules (GJ) per capita and 11 158 GJ per million $ GDP. The least energy intensive jurisdictions are Nova Scotia (178.1 GJ per capita) and Nunavut (2 410 GJ per $ million GDP). The national averages for energy intensity are 314.4 GJ per capita and 5 687 GJ per million $ GDP.

Figure 4: GHG Emissions and Emissions Intensity (1990 - 2017)

Source and Description:

Source:
Environment and Climate Change Canada – National Inventory Report and Statistics Canada (Tables 36-10-0222-01 and 17-10-0005-01)

Description:
This interactive dashboard illustrates greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions by province and by sector. The dashboard also illustrates GHG emissions per capita and per gross domestic product. Data is available for 1990 to 2017.

In 2017, Canada’s total GHG emissions were 715.7 megatonnes of carbon dioxide equivalent (MT of CO2e).

27.2% of Canada’s GHG emissions were from the oil and gas sector. The transportation sector contributed 24.4%, industries and manufacturing contributed 13.2%.

Data Sources

Provincial & Territorial Energy Profiles aligns with CER’s latest Canada’s Energy Future 2019 datasets. Energy Future uses a variety of data sources, generally starting with Statistics Canada data as the foundation, and making adjustments depending on individual province/territory circumstances.  Adjustments are necessary to ensure consistency and comparability across provinces/territories.

Date modified:

Profils énergétiques des provinces et territoires – Explorer

Explore

Ces quatre tableaux de bord interactifs permettent d’explorer la production d’hydrocarbures (pétrole brut et gaz naturel), la production d’électricité, la demande d’énergie pour utilisation finale et les émissions de gaz à effet de serre pour chaque province et territoire.

Les tableaux de bord comportent une série de filtres qui permettent de personnaliser la région, le secteur, l’unité de mesure et l’année (lorsque cette donnée est disponible). Pour désactiver un filtre, il suffit de cliquer sur l’élément précédemment sélectionné ou de rafraîchir la page Web. Lorsque le tableau de bord utilise une carte, celle-ci peut aussi servir de filtre en cliquant sur la province ou le territoire. Pour revenir à l’affichage du Canada au complet, cliquer à n’importe quel endroit sur la carte à l’extérieur du pays. En plaçant le pointeur de la souris au-dessus d’un élément de données ou d’une province ou un territoire, une infobulle offrant plus d’information s’affiche.

Les tableaux de bord sont mis à jour annuellement à mesure que de nouvelles informations sont disponibles. Veuillez nous faire part de vos commentaires à energy-energie@cer-rec.gc.ca.

 

Figure 1 : Production d’hydrocarbures (2006 – 2018)

Source et description :

Source :
Avenir énergétique du Canada en 2019

Description :
Ce tableau de bord interactif présente la production de gaz naturel et de pétrole brut selon la province ou le territoire au Canada.

En 2018, l’Alberta a produit 10,5 milliards de pieds cubes par jour (Gpi3/j) de gaz naturel (65,2 % de la production canadienne totale). La production de la Colombie-Britannique s’est élevée à 5,1 Gpi3/j (31,8 %); celle de la Saskatchewan, à 0,4 Gpi3/j (2,5 %); et celle de la Nouvelle-Écosse, à 0,1 Gpi3/j (0,4 %). L’Ontario, le Nouveau-Brunswick et les Territoires du Nord-Ouest ont produit, ensemble, moins de 0,1 Gpi3/j en 2018.

La même année, l’Alberta a produit 3 907 milliers de barils par jour (kb/j) de pétrole brut (81,6 % de la production canadienne totale). Suivaient la Saskatchewan à 489 kb/j (10,2 %), Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador à 244 Kb/j (5,1 %), la Colombie-Britannique à 101 kb/j (2,1 %) et le Manitoba à 40 kb/j (0,9 %). La production combinée de l’Ontario, de la Nouvelle-Écosse et des Territoires du Nord-Ouest a totalisé moins de 4 kb/j en 2018.

Figure 2 : Production d'électricité (2018)

Source et description :

Source :
Avenir énergétique du Canada en 2019

Description :
Ce tableau de bord interactif présente la production canadienne d’électricité selon la province ou le territoire et le type de combustible, en 2018. Les données sont indiquées en gigawattheures (GWh).

En 2018, la production totale d’électricité au Canada s’est élevée à 647 716 GWh. Le Québec (213 745 GWh), l’Ontario (151 118 GWh) et l’Alberta (81 003 GWh) forment le trio de tête.

L’hydroélectricité a constitué la principale source d’électricité au Canada en 2018 (397 237 GWh), soit 61 % de la production totale. Venait au second rang l’uranium avec 15 % de la production canadienne (95 245 GWh). Suivaient le gaz naturel (60 573 GWh ou 9 %), le charbon et le coke (52 438 GWh ou 9 %), l’éolien (29 146 GWh ou 4 %), la biomasse (7 291 GWh ou 1 %), le solaire (3 197 GWh ou <1 %), et le pétrole (2 554 GWh ou <1 %).

Figure 3 : Demande totale pour utilisation finale et des measures d’intensité énergétique (2017)

Source et description :

Source :
Avenir énergétique du Canada en 2019 et Statistique Canada (Tableaux 36-10-0222-01 et 17-10-0005-01)

Description :
Ce tableau de bord interactif présente la demande totale d’énergie pour utilisation finale selon le secteur et le territoire ou la province au Canada en 2017. Il propose aussi deux mesures de l’intensité énergétique pour les provinces canadiennes, soit la demande d’énergie pour utilisation finale par habitant et la demande d’énergie pour utilisation finale par rapport au produit intérieur brut (PIB).

En 2017, la demande d’énergie pour utilisation finale du Canada s’est élevée à 11 489 pétajoules (PJ). Le secteur industriel arrivait en tête avec 6 006 PJ ou 52,3 % de la demande totale d’énergie pour utilisation finale. Le secteur des transports venait au second rang (2 623 PJ), suivi du secteur résidentiel (1 517 PJ); le secteur commercial fermait la marche (1 343 PJ).

Les trois plus grands consommateurs d’énergie étaient l’Alberta (3 805 PJ), l’Ontario (3 035 PJ) et le Québec (1 770 PJ).

L’Alberta est la province la plus énergivore, avec une consommation de 897 GJ par habitant et 11 158 GJ par million de dollars de PIB. À l’autre bout du spectre viennent la Nouvelle-Écosse (178,1 GJ par habitant) et le Nunavut (2 410 GJ par millions de dollars de PIB). Les moyennes nationales pour l’intensité énergétique sont 314,4 GJ par habitant et 5 687 GJ par million de dollars de PIB.

Figure 4 : Émissions et l’intensité de GES (1990 – 2017)

Source et description :

Source :
Environnement et Changement climatique Canada – Rapport d’inventaire national, et Statistique Canada (Tableaux 36-10-0222-01 et 17-10-0005-01)

Description :
Ce tableau de bord interactif présente les émissions de gaz à effet de serre (GES) selon la province et le secteur économique. Il illustre aussi les émissions de GES par habitant et par rapport au produit intérieur brut. Les données sont disponibles de 1990 à 2017.

En 2017, les émissions de GES au Canada ont totalisé 715,7 mégatonnes d’équivalents en dioxyde de carbone (Mt d’éq. CO2).

Le secteur pétrolier et gazier comptait pour 27,2 % des émissions de GES du Canada. Le secteur des transports, pour sa part, a contribué à hauteur de 24,4 % et le secteur manufacturier, de 13,2 %.

Sources des données

Les profils énergétiques des provinces et territoires s’harmonisent avec les plus récents ensembles de données d’Avenir énergétique du Canada en 2019 de la Régie. Les concepteurs d’Avenir énergétique puisent dans diverses sources de données; ils se basent généralement sur celles de Statistique Canada et font des ajustements selon les circonstances particulières de chaque province et territoire. Les ajustements sont nécessaires pour assurer l’uniformité et la comparabilité des données sur les provinces et territoires.

Date de modification :