On Wednesday, Aug. 28, the National Energy Board (NEB) became the Canada Energy Regulator (CER). For further information please visit our Implementing the Canadian Energy Regulator Act information page

Provincial and Territorial Energy Profiles – Saskatchewan

Saskatchewan
Table of Contents
  • Figure 1: Hydrocarbon Production

    Figure 1: Hydrocarbon Production

    Source and Description:

    Source:
    NEB – Canada's Energy Future 2018

    Description:

    This graph shows hydrocarbon production in Saskatchewan from 2007 to 2017. Crude oil production has increased from 428.2 MMb/d to 487.4 MMb/d, after peaking at 558 MMb/d in 2014. Natural gas production has deceased from 0.7 Bcf/d to 0.4 Bcf/d.

  • Figure 2: Electricity Generation by Fuel Type (2017)

    Figure 2: Electricity Generation by Fuel Type (2017)

    Source and Description:

    Source:
    Statistics Canada (Tables 25-10-0020-01 and 25-10-0019-01), NEB Estimates

    Description:
    This pie chart shows electricity generation by source in Saskatchewan. A total of 25.5 TW.h of electricity was generated in 2017.

  • Figure 3: Electricity Capacity and Primary Fuel Sources Map

    Figure 3: Electricity Capacity and Primary Fuel Sources Map

    Source and Description:

    Source:
    NEB, Natural Resources Canada

    Description:
    This map shows electricity generation facilities in Saskatchewan. Facilities are shown by capacity and by primary fuel source.

    Download:
    PDF version [1364 KB]

  • Figure 4: Crude Oil Infrastructure Map

    Figure 4: Crude Oil Infrastructure Map

    Source and Description:

    Source:
    NEB

    Description:
    This map shows all major crude oil pipelines, rail lines, and refineries in Saskatchewan.

    Download:
    PDF version [433 KB]

  • Figure 5: Natural Gas Infrastructure Map

    Figure 5: Natural Gas Infrastructure Map

    Source and Description:

    Source:
    NEB

    Description:
    This map shows all major natural gas pipelines in Saskatchewan.

    Download:
    PDF version [392 KB]

  • Figure 6: End-Use Demand by Sector (2016)

    Figure 6: End-Use Demand by Sector (2016)

    Source and Description:

    Source:
    NEB – Canada's Energy Future 2018

    Description:
    This pie chart shows end-use energy demand in Saskatchewan by sector. Total end-use energy demand was 660 PJ in 2016. The largest sector was industrial at 58% of total demand, followed by transportation (at 21%), commercial (at 14%), and lastly, residential (at 7%).

  • Figure 7: End-Use Demand by Fuel (2016)

    Figure 7: End-Use Demand by Fuel (2016)

    Source and Description:

    Source:
    NEB – Canada's Energy Future 2018

    Description:
    This figure shows end-use demand by fuel type in Saskatchewan in 2016. Natural gas accounted for 305 PJ (46%) of demand, followed by refined petroleum products at 268 PJ (41%), electricity at 79 PJ (12%), biofuels at 7 PJ (1%), and other at 0 PJ.

    Note: "Other" includes coal, coke, and coke oven gas.

  • Figure 8: GHG Emissions by Sector

    Figure 8: GHG Emissions by sector

    Source and Description:

    Source:
    Environment and Climate Change Canada – National Inventory Report

    Description:
    This stacked column graph shows GHG emissions in Saskatchewan by sector every five  years from 1990 to 2016 in MT of CO2e. Total GHG emissions have increased in Saskatchewan from 45 MT of CO2e in 1990 to 76 MT of CO2e in 2016.

Energy Production

Crude Oil

  • In 2017, Saskatchewan produced 485.4 thousand barrels per day (Mb/d) of crude oil (light, heavy, and condensate combined) (Figure 1).
  • Saskatchewan produces 11% of total Canadian crude oil production and is the 2nd largest crude oil producing province in Canada after Alberta.
  • Saskatchewan and Alberta are the only provinces that produce heavy crude oil. Most of Saskatchewan’s heavy production is from conventional or tight wells. An increasing amount of heavy oil production is the result of steam-assisted gravity drainage (SAGD), primarily in the Lloydminster area.
  • Husky’s Lloydminster Upgrader converts heavy oil from Saskatchewan and Alberta to synthetic oil and produces some quantities of diesel fuel. The upgrader has a capacity of 80 Mb/d.

Refined Petroleum Products (RPPs)

  • There are two refineries in Saskatchewan with a combined capacity of 154 Mb/d.
  • The Co-Op Refinery in Regina produces a variety of RPPs, such as gasoline, diesel, and heavy fuel oil, while the Gibsons Refinery in Moose Jaw produces primarily asphalt. Both refineries consume western Canadian crude oil.
  • Saskatchewan produces a net surplus of RPPs. Some RPPs are transferred to Alberta and Manitoba, and small volumes are also exported to the United States (U.S.).

Natural Gas/Natural Gas Liquids (NGLs)

  • In 2017, natural gas production in Saskatchewan averaged 401 million cubic feet per day (MMcf/d) (Figure 1). Saskatchewan’s gas production represented approximately 3% of total Canadian natural gas production in 2017.
  • Most natural gas produced in Saskatchewan is a byproduct of oil production. Historically, most gas production came from southwest Saskatchewan, but an increasing amount is now produced in the southeast, where the Bakken and other tight oil formations are being developed.
  • Saskatchewan’s marketable natural gas resources are estimated by the NEB to be 13.4 trillion cubic feet (Tcf), with 5.1 Tcf remaining at year-end 2017.
  • In 2017, field production of NGLs was 25 Mb/d. Saskatchewan’s NGL production represents about 3% of total Canadian NGL production. Small volumes of propane and butane are also produced at Saskatchewan’s refineries.

Electricity and Renewables

  • In 2017, Saskatchewan generated 25.5 terawatt hours (TW.h) of electricity (Figure 2), which is approximately 4% of total Canadian generation. Saskatchewan has a generating capacity of 4 533 megawatts (MW).
  • SaskPower generates the majority of electricity in Saskatchewan. Independent power producers account for approximately 20% of generation capacity.
  • About 84% of electricity in Saskatchewan is produced from fossil fuels – approximately 49% from coal, 35% from natural gas and a very small fraction of petroleum used in remote off-grid communities. The remaining 16% is produced from renewables, primarily hydroelectricity (Figure 3).
  • Boundary Dam is Saskatchewan’s largest power station, with about 672 MW of coal-fired capacity. A portion of this capacity has been retrofitted with carbon capture and storage capabilities.
  • Saskatchewan has about 890 MW of hydroelectric capacity. The facilities are scattered across the province with some as far north as Lake Athabasca in northwest Saskatchewan.
  • Southern Saskatchewan has some of the highest solar photovoltaic potential in Canada, with Regina and Saskatoon receiving an average 7.15 kilowatt hours per square metre (kW.h/m²) and 7.1 kW.h/m², respectively. The 10 MW Highland Solar Project, located near Swift Current, is expected to be in operation in 2019.
  • Southern Saskatchewan also has some of the highest wind energy potential in Canada. Multiple large-scale wind energy projects were announced and approved in 2018, including the 200 MW Golden South Wind Energy, the 177 MW Blue Hill Wind Project, and the 200 MW Spring Lake Wind Project.

Energy Transportation and Trade

Crude Oil and Liquids

  • The Enbridge Mainline and TransCanada Keystone pipelines, which ship western Canadian crude oil and liquids to U.S. and eastern markets, enter Saskatchewan at the Alberta border and flow eastward to Manitoba and eventually to the U.S (Figure 4).
  • The Enbridge Mainline has two terminals in Saskatchewan. At the Kerrobert terminal, Enbridge receives crude oil from gathering systems as well as natural gas liquids from Pembina’s Kerrobert pipeline. At the Regina terminal, Enbridge receives crude oil from the Plains Midstream Wascana and South Saskatchewan pipelines, and also delivers crude oil to the Regina refinery.
  • The Enbridge Bakken and Tundra Energy Marketing Westspur pipelines gather crude oil from southeastern Saskatchewan and the U.S. for shipment to the Enbridge Mainline terminal at Cromer, Manitoba.
  • Kinder Morgan’s Cochin Pipeline enters Manitoba at the U.S. border and delivers condensate westward to Alberta.
  • Saskatchewan has 13 crude oil rail loading facilities with a total capacity 381 Mb/d. In 2017, approximately 3% of Saskatchewan’s crude oil production was delivered to markets by rail.

Natural Gas

  • The TransCanada Mainline extends from the Alberta/Saskatchewan border near Empress, Alberta to the Saskatchewan/Manitoba border at Welwyn. The Mainline transports western Canadian gas to markets in the Prairies, central Canada, and the U.S. before terminating at the Ontario/Quebec border (Figure 5).
  • The Foothills SK pipeline system is connected to the Nova Gas Transmission Ltd. system in Alberta and exports natural gas to markets in the U.S. Midwest via the Monchy, Saskatchewan export point.
  • SaskEnergy distributes natural gas to over 390 000 residential, farm, industrial, and commercial customers. SaskEnergy’s 68 500 kilometre (km) pipeline system transports natural gas to over 93% of communities across Saskatchewan.

Liquefied Natural Gas (LNG)

  • There are no existing or proposed LNG facilities in Saskatchewan, although LNG and compressed natural gas is being trucked in to some communities northeast of Saskatoon for peak demand service during the winter.

Electricity

  • In 2017, Saskatchewan’s net interprovincial and international electricity outflows were 0.1 TW.h. Saskatchewan trades primarily with Montana, Alberta, and North Dakota.
  • SaskPower has more than 157 000 km of electricity transmission and distribution lines.
  • Manitoba Hydro has plans to construct a new 230 kV transmission line (the Birtle Transmission Project) between Manitoba and Saskatchewan. The new line would increase interprovincial transfers by an additional 100 MW.

Energy Consumption and Greenhouse Gas (GHG) Emissions

Total Energy Consumption

  • End-use demand in Saskatchewan was 660 petajoules (PJ) in 2016. The largest sector for energy demand was industrial at 58% of total demand, followed by transportation at 21%, commercial at 14%, and residential at 7% (Figure 6). Saskatchewan’s total energy demand was the 4th largest in Canada, and the 1st largest on a per capita basis.
  • Natural gas was the largest fuel type consumed in Saskatchewan, accounting for 305 PJ, or 46%. RPPs and electricity accounted for 268 PJ (41%) and 79 PJ (12%), respectively (Figure 7).

Refined Petroleum Products

  • All of the gasoline consumed in Saskatchewan is refined within the province.
  • Total 2016 demand in Saskatchewan for RPPs was 128 Mb/d, or 7% of total Canadian RPP demand. Of Saskatchewan’s total demand, 49 Mb/d was for motor gasoline and 70 Mb/d was for diesel.
  • Saskatchewan’s per capita RPP consumption in 2017 was 6 374 litres (40.1 barrels), or 121% above the national average of 2 886 litres per capita.

Natural Gas

  • Saskatchewan consumed an average of 720 MMcf/d of natural gas in 2017. Saskatchewan's demand represents 8% of total Canadian demand for natural gas.
  • Saskatchewan’s largest consuming sector for natural gas was the industrial sector, which consumed 554 MMcf/d in 2017. The residential and commercial sectors consumed 92 MMcf/d and 74 MMcf/d, respectively.

Electricity

  • In 2016, annual electricity consumption per capita in Saskatchewan was 20.0 megawatt hours (MW.h). Saskatchewan ranked 2nd in Canada for per capita electricity consumption and consumed 34% more than the national average.
  • Saskatchewan’s largest consuming sector for electricity in 2016 was industrial at 11.7 TW.h. The commercial and residential sectors consumed 6.8 TW.h and 3.5 TW.h, respectively. Saskatchewan’s electricity demand has grown 28% since 2005.
  • In 2014, 120 MW of capacity at the Boundary Dam station were retrofitted with carbon capture and storage technology that is capable of reducing carbon dioxide (CO2) emissions by one megatonne (MT) per year.

GHG Emissions

  • Saskatchewan’s GHG emissions in 2016 were 76.3 MT of carbon dioxide equivalent (CO2e).Footnote 1 Saskatchewan’s emissions have increased 71% since 1990.
  • Saskatchewan’s emissions per capita are the highest in Canada at 66.9 tonnes of CO2e – 244% above the national average of 19.4 tonnes per capita.
  • The largest emitting sectors in Saskatchewan are oil and gas production at 33% of emissions, agriculture at 23%, and electricity generation at 20% (Figure 8).
  • Saskatchewan’s GHG emissions from the oil and gas sector in 2016 were 25.0 MT CO2e. Of this total, 22.8 MT were attributable to production, processing, and transmission and 2.2 MT were attributable to petroleum refining and natural gas distribution.
  • Saskatchewan’s electricity sector produces the second highest amount of GHG emissions after Alberta, primarily because of its reliance on coal-fired generation. In 2016, Saskatchewan’s power sector emitted 15.0 MT CO2e emissions, or 19% of total Canadian GHG emissions from power generation.

More Information

Date modified:

Le mercredi 28 août, l’Office national de l’énergie est devenu la Régie de l’énergie du Canada. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez la page d’information sur la mise en œuvre de la Loi sur la Régie canadienne de l’énergie

Profils énergétiques des provinces et territoires – Saskatchewan

Saskatchewan
Table des matières
  • Figure 1 : Production d’hydrocarbures

    Figure 1 : Production d’hydrocarbures

    Source et description :

    Source :
    Office – Avenir énergétique du Canada en 2018

    Description :
    Ce graphique illustre la production d’hydrocarbures en Saskatchewan de 2007 à 2017. La production de pétrole brut a augmenté, passant de 428,2 kb/j à 487,4 kb/j, après avoir atteint un sommet de 558 kb/j en 2014. La production de gaz naturel a diminué, passant de 0,7 Gpi³/j à 0,4 Gpi³/j.

  • Figure 2 : Production d’électricité par type de combustible (2017)

    Figure 2 :Production d’électricité par type de combustible (2017)

    Source et description :

    Source :
    Statistique Canada (Tableaux 25-10-0020-01 and 25-10-0019-01), estimations de l'Office

    Description :
    Ce diagramme circulaire illustre la production d’électricité en Saskatchewan par méthode de production. En 2017, la production totale d’électricité s’est élevée à 25,5 TWh.

  • Figure 3 : Carte de la capacité de production d’électricité et des sources de combustible primaire

    Figure 3 : Carte de la capacité de production d’électricité et des sources de combustible primaire

    Source et description :

    Source :
    Office, Ressources naturelles Canada

    Description :
    Cette carte montre les installations de production d’électricité en Saskatchewan. On y indique leur capacité et leur source du combustible primaire.

    Télécharger :
    Version PDF [2522 ko]

  • Figure 4 : Carte de l’infrastructure de pétrole brut

    Figure 4 : Carte de l’infrastructure de pétrole brut

    Source et description :

    Source :
    Office

    Description :
    Cette carte montre tous les principaux oléoducs ainsi que les principales voies ferrées et raffineries en Saskatchewan.

    Télécharger :
    Version PDF [435 ko]

  • Figure 5 : Carte de l’infrastructure de gaz naturel

    Figure 5 : Carte de l’infrastructure de gaz naturel

    Source et description :

    Source :
    Office

    Description :
    Cette carte montre tous les principaux gazoducs en Saskatchewan.

    Télécharger :
    Version PDF [465 ko]

  • Figure 6 : Demande pour utilisation finale par secteur (2016)

    Figure 6 : Demande pour utilisation finale par secteur (2016)

    Source et description :

    Source :
    Office – Avenir énergétique du Canada en 2018

    Description :
    Ce diagramme circulaire présente la demande d’énergie pour utilisation finale en Saskatchewan par secteur. En 2016, la demande d’énergie pour utilisation finale a totalisé 660 PJ. Le secteur industriel vient au premier rang avec 58 % de la demande totale, suivi des transports (21 %), puis des secteurs commercial (14 %) et résidentiel (7 %).

  • Figure 7 : Demande pour utilisation finale par combustible (2016)

    Figure 7 : Demande pour utilisation finale par combustible (2016)

    Source et description :

    Source :
    Office – Avenir énergétique du Canada en 2018

    Description :
    Cette figure illustre la demande pour utilisation finale par type de combustible en Saskatchewan en 2016. Le gaz naturel a compté pour 305 PJ (46 %) de la demande, suivi des produits pétroliers raffinés, avec 268 PJ (41 %), de l’électricité, à 79 PJ (12 %) et des biocarburants, à 7 PJ (1 %), les autres combustibles n’étant nullement présents (0 PJ).

    Remarque : Les autres combustibles comprennent le charbon, le coke et le gaz de cokerie.

  • Figure 8 : Émissions de GES par secteur

    Figure 8 : Émissions de GES par secteur

    Source et description :

    Source :
    Environnement et Changement climatique Canada – Rapport d'inventaire national

    Description :
    Ce graphique à colonnes empilées illustre les émissions de GES en Saskatchewan par tranches de cinq ans, de 1990 à 2016 en Mt d’éq. CO2. Les émissions totales de GES ont augmenté en Saskatchewan, passant de 45 Mt d’éq. CO2 en 1990 à 76 Mt en 2016.

Production d’énergie

Pétrole brut

  • En 2017, la Saskatchewan a produit 485,4 milliers de barils par jour (kb/j) de pétrole brut (léger, lourd et condensat réunis) (figure 1).
  • La Saskatchewan compte pour 11 % de la production canadienne totale de pétrole brut. Elle occupe le deuxième rang des provinces canadiennes à ce chapitre, derrière l’Alberta.
  • La Saskatchewan et l’Alberta sont les seules provinces productrices de pétrole brut lourd. La majeure partie de la production de pétrole lourd de la Saskatchewan provient de puits de pétrole classiques ou de réservoirs étanches. Une quantité croissante de la production de pétrole brut lourd provient du drainage par gravité au  moyen de vapeur, principalement dans la région de Lloydminster.
  • L’usine de valorisation Husky à Lloydminster convertit le pétrole lourd de la Saskatchewan et de l’Alberta en pétrole synthétique et produit certaines quantités de carburant diesel. Elle a une capacité de 80 kb/j.

Produits pétroliers raffinés

  • La Saskatchewan compte deux raffineries d’une capacité combinée de 154 kb/j.
  • À Regina, Co-op Refinery [anglais seulement] propose une variété de produits pétroliers raffinés, dont l’essence, le diesel et le mazout lourd, tandis que la raffinerie Gibsons [anglais seulement] de Moose Jaw produit surtout de l’asphalte. Les deux raffineries s’alimentent en pétrole brut de l’Ouest canadien.
  • La Saskatchewan affiche un surplus net de produits pétroliers raffinés; une partie est transportée en Alberta et au Manitoba, et de petites quantités sont exportées aux États-Unis.

Gaz naturel et liquides de gaz naturel (LGN)

  • En 2017, on a produit en moyenne 401 millions de pieds cubes par jour (Mpi³/j) de gaz naturel en Saskatchewan (figure 1), soit environ 3 % de la production canadienne totale cette année-là.
  • La majeure partie du gaz naturel produit en Saskatchewan est un dérivé de la production de pétrole. Traditionnellement, le plus gros de la production de gaz provenait du sud-ouest de la Saskatchewan, mais une part grandissante vient maintenant du sud-est, où l’on met en valeur les gisements de la formation de Bakken et d’autres abritant du pétrole de réservoirs étanches.
  • L’Office a estimé les ressources commercialisables de gaz naturel de la Saskatchewan à quelque 13,4 mille milliards de pieds cubes (Tpi³), dont 5,1 Tpi³ restants à la fin de 2017.
  • En 2017, la production des champs de LGN s’est élevée à 25 kb/j. La production de LGN de la Saskatchewan représente environ 3 % de la production canadienne totale. Les raffineries de la province produisent aussi du propane et du butane en petites quantités.

Électricité et ressources renouvelables

  • En 2017, la Saskatchewan a produit 25,5 térawattheures (TWh) d’électricité (figure 2), ce qui correspond approximativement à 4 % de la production totale d’électricité au Canada. La capacité de production de la Saskatchewan s’élève à 4 533 mégawatts (MW).
  • SaskPower [anglais seulement] produit la plus grande partie de l’électricité en Saskatchewan. Les producteurs indépendants comptent pour environ 20 % de la capacité de production.
  • Environ 84 % de l’électricité en Saskatchewan est produite à partir de combustibles fossiles : environ 49 % au moyen de charbon, 35 % avec du gaz naturel, et une très petite quantité de pétrole est utilisée dans les collectivités éloignées qui ne sont pas raccordées au réseau électrique. La tranche restante de 16 % provient de ressources renouvelables, surtout l’hydroélectricité (figure 3).
  • La centrale Boundary Dam [anglais seulement] est la plus grande de la Saskatchewan. Alimentée au charbon, elle a une capacité d’environ 672 MW. Une partie de cette capacité a été modernisée pour permettre le captage et stockage du CO2.
  • La Saskatchewan possède une capacité hydroélectrique de quelque 890 MW. Les installations sont dispersées partout dans la province, jusqu’au lac Athabasca dans le nord-ouest.
  • Le sud de la Saskatchewan possède un potentiel solaire photovoltaïque parmi les plus élevés au Canada. Regina et Saskatoon reçoivent en moyenne 7,15 kilowattheures par mètre carré (kWh/m²) et 7,1 kWh/m², respectivement. Le projet d’énergie solaire Highland de 10 MW, près de Swift Current, devrait être en exploitation en 2019.
  • Le sud de la Saskatchewan possède aussi un potentiel d’énergie éolienne parmi les plus élevés au Canada. Plusieurs projets d’énergie éolienne d’envergure ont été annoncés et approuvés en 2018, dont Golden South [anglais seulement] (200 MW), Blue Hill [anglais seulement] (177 MW) et Spring Lake [anglais seulement] (200 MW).

Transport et commerce de l’énergie

Pétrole brut et liquides

  • Le réseau principal d’Enbridge et le pipeline Keystone de TransCanada, qui acheminent le pétrole brut et les liquides de l’Ouest canadien vers les marchés des États-Unis et de l’Est du Canada, entrent en Saskatchewan par l’Alberta et en ressortent à l’est au Manitoba et aboutissent, ultimement, aux États-Unis (figure 4).
  • Le réseau principal d’Enbridge compte deux terminaux en Saskatchewan. Au terminal de Kerrobert, Enbridge reçoit du pétrole brut des réseaux de collecte ainsi que des LGN du pipeline Kerrobert de Pembina [anglais seulement]. Au terminal de Regina, Enbridge reçoit du pétrole brut des pipelines South Saskatchewan et Wascana de Plains Midstream, qu’elle livre à la raffinerie de Regina.
  • Le pipeline Bakken d’Enbridge et Westspur de Tundra Energy Marketing collectent le pétrole brut du sud-est de la province et des États-Unis pour l’expédier au terminal du réseau principal d’Enbridge à Cromer, au Manitoba.
  • Le pipeline Cochin de Kinder Morgan entre au Manitoba à la frontière américaine et livre des condensats vers l’ouest à l’Alberta.
  • La Saskatchewan compte 13 installations ferroviaires de chargement de pétrole brut ayant une capacité totale de 381 kb/j. En 2017, environ 3 % de la production de pétrole brut de la province ont été livrés aux marchés par train.

Gaz naturel

  • Le réseau principal de TransCanada s’étire de la frontière entre l’Alberta et la Saskatchewan, près d’Empress, en Alberta, jusqu’à la frontière entre la Saskatchewan et le Manitoba, à Welwyn. Il achemine le gaz de l’Ouest canadien aux marchés des Prairies, du centre du Canada et des États-Unis avant d’aboutir à la frontière entre l’Ontario et le Québec (figure 5).
  • Le réseau pipelinier Foothills SK est relié au réseau de NOVA Gas Transmission Ltd. en Alberta; il exporte du gaz naturel vers les marchés du Midwest américain en passant par le point d’exportation de Monchy en Saskatchewan.
  • SaskEnergy [anglais seulement] distribue du gaz naturel à plus de 390 000 clients résidentiels, agricoles, industriels et commerciaux. Son réseau de 68 500 kilomètres achemine du gaz naturel à plus de 93 % des collectivités de la Saskatchewan.

Gaz naturel liquéfié (GNL)

  • Il n’y a pas d’installations de GNL existantes ou proposées en Saskatchewan, mais des GNL et du gaz comprimé sont acheminés par camion vers certaines collectivités situées au nord-est de Saskatoon pour répondre aux pics de demande en hiver.

Électricité

  • En 2017, les exportations interprovinciales et internationales nettes d’électricité en Saskatchewan ont totalisé 0,1 TWh. Les échanges commerciaux de la province se font surtout avec le Montana, l’Alberta et le Dakota du Nord [anglais seulement].
  • SaskPower exploite environ 157 000 km de lignes de transport d’électricité et de lignes de distribution.
  • Manitoba Hydro envisage de construire une nouvelle ligne de transport à 230 kV (ligne de transport Birtle) qui relierait le Manitoba et la Saskatchewan. Celle-ci permettra le transport interprovincial d’une quantité additionnelle d’électricité de 100 MW.

Consommation d’énergie et émissions de gaz à effet de serre (GES)

Consommation totale d’énergie

  • En 2016, la demande pour utilisation finale de la Saskatchewan a totalisé 660 pétajoules (PJ). Le secteur industriel vient au premier rang pour la demande d’énergie, avec 58 % de la demande totale, suivi des transports, à 21 %, du secteur commercial, à 14 %, et du secteur résidentiel, à 7 % (figure 6). La Saskatchewan arrive au quatrième rang au Canada pour la demande totale d’énergie et au premier rang pour la consommation par habitant.
  • Le gaz naturel est le principal type de combustible utilisé en Saskatchewan, à 305 PJ, ou 46 %. Suivent les produits pétroliers raffinés et l’électricité, avec 268 PJ (41 %) et 79 PJ (12 %), respectivement (figure 7).

Produits pétroliers raffinés

  • Toute l’essence consommée en Saskatchewan est raffinée dans la province. 
  • En 2016, la demande totale en produits pétroliers raffinés s’est élevée à 119 kb/j, soit 7 % de la demande pour l’ensemble du Canada. De ce volume, 49 kb/j étaient pour l’essence automobile.
  • En 2017, l’utilisation de produits pétroliers raffinés par habitant a été de 6 374 litres (40,1 barils) en Saskatchewan, soit 121 % de plus que la moyenne nationale de 2 886 litres par habitant.

Gaz naturel

  • En 2017, la consommation de gaz naturel de la Saskatchewan a totalisé en moyenne 720 Mpi³/j, soit 8 % de la demande canadienne totale.
  • En 2017, le plus grand consommateur de gaz naturel en Saskatchewan a été le secteur industriel, avec 554 Mpi³/j. La consommation des secteurs résidentiel et commercial s’est chiffrée à 92 Mpi³/j et 74 Mpi³/j, respectivement.

Électricité

  • En 2016, la consommation d’électricité par habitant en Saskatchewan s’est établie à 20,0 mégawattheures (MWh). La province arrive au deuxième rang au Canada pour la consommation d’électricité par habitant, qui surpasse de 34 % la moyenne nationale.
  • En Saskatchewan, c’est le secteur industriel qui a enregistré la plus forte consommation d’électricité en 2016, avec 11,7 TWh. Les secteurs commercial et résidentiel ont consommé 6,8 TWh et 3,5 TWh, respectivement. La demande d’électricité en Saskatchewan a augmenté de 28 % depuis 2005.
  • En 2014, 120 MW de la capacité de la centrale de Boundary Dam ont été modernisés pour faire place à la technologie de captage et stockage du CO2 qui permet de réduire les émissions de dioxyde de carbone (CO2) d’une mégatonne (Mt) par année.

Émissions de GES

  • En 2016, les émissions de GES de la Saskatchewan ont totalisé 76,3 mégatonnes (Mt) d’équivalent en dioxyde de carbone (éq. CO2)Note de bas de page 1, une hausse de 71 % depuis 1990.
  • Les émissions par habitant de la Saskatchewan sont les plus élevées au Canada, à 66,9 tonnes d’éq. CO2, soit 244 % au-dessus de la moyenne nationale de 19,4 tonnes par habitant.
  • Les secteurs qui émettent le plus de GES en Saskatchewan sont la production pétrolière et gazière, avec 33 % des émissions, l’agriculture, avec 23 %, et la production d’électricité, avec 20 % (figure 8).
  • En 2016, les émissions de GES du secteur pétrolier et gazier de la Saskatchewan ont totalisé 25,0 Mt d’éq. CO2. De ce total, 22,8 Mt étaient attribuables à la production, à la transformation et au transport, et 2,2 Mt découlaient du raffinage du pétrole et de la distribution du gaz naturel.
  • Le secteur de l’électricité de la Saskatchewan se classe au deuxième rang des plus importants émetteurs de GES, derrière l’Alberta, en raison surtout de son utilisation de centrales au charbon. En 2016, le secteur de l’énergie de la province a émis 15,0 Mt d’éq. CO2, soit 19 % du total des émissions canadiennes de GES provenant de la production d’électricité.

Complément d’information

Date de modification :