On Wednesday, Aug. 28, the National Energy Board (NEB) became the Canada Energy Regulator (CER). For further information please visit our Implementing the Canadian Energy Regulator Act information page

About the NEB

The National Energy Board (NEB or Board) is Canada’s independent national energy regulator. The Board’s main responsibilities include regulating:

  • the construction, operation, and abandonment of pipelines that cross international borders or provincial/territorial boundaries;
  • associated pipeline tolls and tariffs;
  • the construction and operation of international power lines and designated interprovincial power lines;
  • imports of natural gas and exports of crude oil, natural gas, natural gas liquids, refined petroleum products, and electricity; and
  • oil and gas exploration and production activities in specified northern and offshore areas.

As part of our Energy System Information Program, the NEB is also charged with ensuring Canadians have access to and use energy information for knowledge, research and decision making, community-specific NEB-regulated infrastructure information, and opportunities to collaborate and provide feedback on NEB information products.

We study market trends, energy transportation, and emerging technologies to better understand the energy landscape in which we work; to provide Canadians with energy information of interest and relevance, and to identify and respond to emerging issues. We provide transparent information about pipeline safety performance, and use tools like interactive pipeline maps and visualizations of our data to make complex pipeline and energy market data user-friendly and accessible.

About this Report

The NEB’s Energy System Information Program is closely linked to its regulatory responsibilities as defined in the National Energy Board Act. Under Part VI of the Act, the NEB regulates the export and import of natural gas as well as the export of natural gas liquids, crude oil and petroleum products, and electricity. The Act requires the Board to ensure that oil and gas exports are surplus to Canadian requirements. The Board monitors energy markets and assesses Canadian energy requirements and trends to support its regulatory responsibilities. This report, Canada’s Energy Future 2018: Energy Supply and Demand Projections to 2040, is the continuation of the Energy Futures series, and projects long-term Canadian energy supply and demand trends.

In developing this report, the NEB engaged various energy experts and stakeholders to gather input and feedback on the assumptions and preliminary projections. The NEB would like to thank all participants for their contributions to EF2018.

EF2018 was prepared by National Energy Board technical staff under the direction of Abha Bhargava (Abha.Bhargava@cer-rec.gc.ca), Director, Energy Outlooks, Matthew Hansen (Matthew.Hansen@cer-rec.gc.ca), Lead Technical Specialist – Energy Futures, and Andrea Oslanski (Andrea.Oslanski@cer-rec.gc.ca), Project Manager – Energy Futures. Specific questions about the information in this report may be directed to: General Questions energyfutures@cer-rec.gc.ca. Key Drivers and Macroeconomics: Matthew Hansen (Matthew.Hansen@cer-rec.gc.ca), Lukas Hansen (Lukas.Hansen@cer-rec.gc.ca) and Chris Doleman (Chris.Doleman@cer-rec.gc.ca). Energy Demand: Matthew Hansen (Matthew.Hansen@cer-rec.gc.ca), Chris Doleman (Chris.Doleman@cer-rec.gc.ca), Ken Newel (Ken.Newel@cer-rec.gc.ca), Lukas Hansen (Lukas.Hansen@cer-rec.gc.ca). Crude Oil: Peter Budgell (Peter.Budgell@cer-rec.gc.ca). Refinery Balances: Kinsey Nickerson (Kinsey.Nickerson@cer-rec.gc.ca). Natural Gas and NGLs: (Melanie.Stogran@cer-rec.gc.ca). Electricity: Michael Nadew (Michael.Nadew@cer-rec.gc.ca) and Mantaj Hundal (Mantaj.Hundal@cer-rec.gc.ca). Coal: Lukas Hansen (Lukas.Hansen@cer-rec.gc.ca). Climate Policy: Chris Doleman (Chris.Doleman@cer-rec.gc.ca), Kevin Caron (Kevin.Caron@cer-rec.gc.ca), Ken Newel (Ken.Newel@cer-rec.gc.ca).

If a party wishes to rely on material from this report in any regulatory proceeding before the NEB, it may submit the material, just as it may submit any public document. Under these circumstances, the submitting party in effect adopts the material and that party could be required to answer questions pertaining to the material.

 

Date modified:

Le mercredi 28 août, l'Office national de l'énergie est devenu la Régie de l'énergie du Canada. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez la page d'information sur la mise en oeuvre de la Loi sur la Régie canadienne de l'énergie

À propos de l’Office

L’Office national de l’énergie est l’organisme de réglementation national indépendant du secteur énergétique du Canada. Les principales responsabilités de l’Office consistent à réglementer :

  • la construction, l’exploitation et la cessation d’exploitation des pipelines qui franchissent des frontières internationales ou des limites provinciales ou territoriales;
  • les droits et tarifs pipeliniers;
  • la construction et l’exploitation des lignes internationales de transport d’électricité et de lignes interprovinciales désignées;
  • les importations de gaz naturel et les exportations de pétrole brut, de gaz naturel, de liquides de gaz naturel, de produits pétroliers raffinés et d’électricité;
  • les activités d’exploration et de production pétrolière et gazière dans certaines zones désignées du Nord et en mer.

Dans le cadre de son programme d’information sur la filière énergétique, l’Office est également tenu de s’assurer que les Canadiens consultent et utilisent l’information sur l’énergie pour se renseigner, faire des recherches et prendre des décisions, qu’ils ont accès à de l’information sur les infrastructures réglementées par l’Office qui se trouvent dans leur milieu, et qu’ils ont des occasions de collaborer, par leurs commentaires, aux produits d’information de l’Office.

Nous analysons les tendances des marchés, le transport de l’énergie et les technologies émergentes pour bien comprendre le contexte dans lequel nous évoluons, fournir aux Canadiens une information sur l’énergie qui est pertinente et d’intérêt pour eux, et cerner les questions émergentes en vue d’y répondre. Nous produisons une information transparente sur le bilan de sécurité des pipelines, et employons des outils comme des cartes interactives des pipelines et des représentations visuelles pour rendre conviviales et facilement accessibles nos données complexes sur les pipelines et le marché énergétique.

À propos du présent rapport

Le programme d’information sur l’énergie est étroitement lié aux fonctions réglementaires de l’Office, telles qu’elles sont définies dans la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie (la « Loi »). En vertu de la partie VI de la Loi, l’Office règlemente les exportations et les importations de gaz naturel ainsi que les exportations de liquides de gaz naturel (« LGN »), de pétrole brut, de produits pétroliers et d’électricité. La Loi exige que l’Office s’assure que les exportations pétrolières et gazières représentent un excédent par rapport aux besoins du Canada. L’Office surveille les marchés de l’énergie, évaluant les besoins du Canada en la matière et les tendances qui se dessinent afin de pouvoir mieux s’acquitter de ses responsabilités réglementaires. Le présent rapport, Avenir énergétique du Canada en 2018 – Offre et demande énergétiques à l’horizon 2040, s’inscrit dans la lignée de notre série sur l’avenir énergétique et présente des projections à long terme de l’offre et de la demande d’énergie au Canada.

  • Avant d’aboutir au présent rapport, l’Office a échangé avec divers spécialistes du domaine de l’énergie ainsi qu’avec différentes parties prenantes afin de recueillir leur perspective, et aussi leurs commentaires au sujet des hypothèses retenues et des projections préliminaires en découlant. L’Office tient à remercier toutes ces personnes qui ont permis à Avenir énergétique 2018 de voir le jour.

Le rapport Avenir énergétique 2018 a été préparé par le personnel technique de l’Office national de l’énergie, sous la supervision d’Abha Bhargava (abha.bhargava@cer-rec.gc.ca), directrice des perspectives énergétiques, de Matthew Hansen (matthew.hansen@cer-rec.gc.ca), spécialiste technique en chef – Avenir énergétique, et d’Andrea Oslanski (andrea.oslanski@cer-rec.gc.ca), gestionnaire de projet – Avenir énergétique. Si vous avez des questions précises au sujet de l’information présentée dans le rapport, vous pouvez les acheminer à l’une ou l’autre des adresses suivantes. Questions d’ordre général : avenirenergetique@cer-rec.gc.ca. Principaux déterminants et macroéconomie : Matthew Hansen (matthew.hansen@cer-rec.gc.ca), Lukas Hansen (lukas.hansen@cer-rec.gc.ca) et Chris Doleman (chris.doleman@cer-rec.gc.ca). Demande d’énergie : Matthew Hansen (matthew.hansen@cer-rec.gc.ca), Chris Doleman (chris.doleman@cer-rec.gc.ca), Ken Newel (ken.newel@cer-rec.gc.ca) et Lukas Hansen (lukas.hansen@cer-rec.gc.ca). Pétrole brut : Peter Budgell (peter.budgell@cer-rec.gc.ca). Bilan de raffinage : Kinsey Nickerson (kinsey.nickerson@cer-rec.gc.ca). Gaz naturel et LGN : (melanie.stogran@cer-rec.gc.ca). Électricité : Michael Nadew (michael.nadew@cer-rec.gc.ca) et Mantaj Hundal (mantaj.hundal@cer-rec.gc.ca). Charbon : Lukas Hansen (lukas.hansen@cer-rec.gc.ca). Politiques climatiques : Chris Doleman (chris.doleman@cer-rec.gc.ca), Kevin Caron (kevin.caron@cer-rec.gc.ca) et Ken Newel (ken.newel@cer-rec.gc.ca).

Quiconque souhaite utiliser le présent rapport dans une instance réglementaire devant l’Office peut le soumettre à cette fin, comme c’est le cas pour tout autre document public. Une partie qui agit ainsi fait sienne l’information déposée et pourrait devoir répondre à des questions sur celle-ci.

Date de modification :