On Wednesday, Aug. 28, the National Energy Board (NEB) became the Canada Energy Regulator (CER). For further information please visit our Implementing the Canadian Energy Regulator Act information page

About the NEB

The National Energy Board (NEB or Board) is Canada’s independent national energy regulator. The Board’s main responsibilities include regulating:

  • the construction, operation, and abandonment of pipelines that cross international borders or provincial/territorial boundaries;
  • associated pipeline tolls and tariffs;
  • the construction and operation of international power lines and designated interprovincial power lines;
  • imports of natural gas and exports of crude oil, natural gas, natural gas liquids, refined petroleum products, and electricity; and
  • oil and gas exploration and production activities in specified northern and offshore areas.

As part of our Energy System Information Program, the NEB is also charged with ensuring Canadians have access to and use energy information for knowledge, research and decision making, community-specific NEB-regulated infrastructure information, and opportunities to collaborate and provide feedback on NEB information products.

We study market trends, energy transportation, and emerging technologies to better understand the energy landscape in which we work; to provide Canadians with energy information of interest and relevance, and to identify and respond to emerging issues. We provide transparent information about pipeline safety performance, and use tools like interactive pipeline maps and visualizations of our data to make complex pipeline and energy market data user-friendly and accessible.

About this Report

The NEB’s Energy System Information Program is closely linked to its regulatory responsibilities as defined in the National Energy Board Act. Under Part VI of the Act, the NEB regulates the export and import of natural gas as well as the export of natural gas liquids, crude oil and petroleum products, and electricity. The Act requires the Board to ensure that oil and gas exports are surplus to Canadian requirements. The Board monitors energy markets and assesses Canadian energy requirements and trends to support its regulatory responsibilities. This report, Canada’s Energy Future 2018: Energy Supply and Demand Projections to 2040, is the continuation of the Energy Futures series, and projects long-term Canadian energy supply and demand trends.

In developing this report, the NEB engaged various energy experts and stakeholders to gather input and feedback on the assumptions and preliminary projections. The NEB would like to thank all participants for their contributions to EF2018.

EF2018 was prepared by National Energy Board technical staff under the direction of Abha Bhargava (Abha.Bhargava@cer-rec.gc.ca), Director, Energy Outlooks, Matthew Hansen (Matthew.Hansen@cer-rec.gc.ca), Lead Technical Specialist – Energy Futures, and Andrea Oslanski (Andrea.Oslanski@cer-rec.gc.ca), Project Manager – Energy Futures. Specific questions about the information in this report may be directed to: General Questions energyfutures@cer-rec.gc.ca. Key Drivers and Macroeconomics: Matthew Hansen (Matthew.Hansen@cer-rec.gc.ca), Lukas Hansen (Lukas.Hansen@cer-rec.gc.ca) and Chris Doleman (Chris.Doleman@cer-rec.gc.ca). Energy Demand: Matthew Hansen (Matthew.Hansen@cer-rec.gc.ca), Chris Doleman (Chris.Doleman@cer-rec.gc.ca), Ken Newel (Ken.Newel@cer-rec.gc.ca), Lukas Hansen (Lukas.Hansen@cer-rec.gc.ca). Crude Oil: Peter Budgell (Peter.Budgell@cer-rec.gc.ca). Refinery Balances: Kinsey Nickerson (Kinsey.Nickerson@cer-rec.gc.ca). Natural Gas and NGLs: (Melanie.Stogran@cer-rec.gc.ca). Electricity: Michael Nadew (Michael.Nadew@cer-rec.gc.ca) and Mantaj Hundal (Mantaj.Hundal@cer-rec.gc.ca). Coal: Lukas Hansen (Lukas.Hansen@cer-rec.gc.ca). Climate Policy: Chris Doleman (Chris.Doleman@cer-rec.gc.ca), Kevin Caron (Kevin.Caron@cer-rec.gc.ca), Ken Newel (Ken.Newel@cer-rec.gc.ca).

If a party wishes to rely on material from this report in any regulatory proceeding before the NEB, it may submit the material, just as it may submit any public document. Under these circumstances, the submitting party in effect adopts the material and that party could be required to answer questions pertaining to the material.

 

Date modified: