Back to Main

About the CER

The Canada Energy Regulator is Canada’s independent national energy regulator. The CER’s main responsibilities include regulating:

  • the construction, operation, and abandonment of pipelines that cross international borders or provincial/territorial boundaries;
  • associated pipeline tolls and tariffs;
  • the construction and operation of international power lines and designated interprovincial power lines;
  • imports of natural gas and exports of crude oil, natural gas, natural gas liquids, refined petroleum products, and electricity; and
  • oil and gas exploration and production activities in specified northern and offshore areas.

As part of our Energy System Information Program, the CER is also charged with ensuring Canadians have access to and use energy information for knowledge, research and decision making, community-specific CER-regulated infrastructure information, and opportunities to collaborate and provide feedback on CER information products.

We study market trends, energy transportation, and emerging technologies to better understand the energy landscape in which we work; to provide Canadians with energy information of interest and relevance, and to identify and respond to emerging issues. We provide transparent information about pipeline safety performance, and use tools like interactive pipeline maps and visualizations of our data to make complex pipeline and energy market data user-friendly and accessible.

About this Report

The CER’s Energy System Information Program is closely linked to its regulatory responsibilities as defined in the Canadian Energy Regulator. Under Part VI of the Act, the CER regulates the export and import of natural gas as well as the export of natural gas liquids, crude oil and petroleum products, and electricity. The Act requires the CER to ensure that oil and gas exports are surplus to Canadian requirements. The CER monitors energy markets and assesses Canadian energy requirements and trends to support its regulatory responsibilities. This report, Canada’s Energy Future 2019: Energy Supply and Demand Projections to 2040, is the continuation of the Energy Futures series, and projects long-term Canadian energy supply and demand trends.

EF2019 was prepared by CER technical staff under the direction of Abha Bhargava, Director, Energy Outlooks, Matthew Hansen (Matthew.Hansen@cer-rec.gc.ca), Lead Technical Specialist – Energy Futures, and Andrea Oslanski (Andrea.Oslanski@cer-rec.gc.ca), Project Manager – Energy Futures. Specific questions about the information in this report may be directed to: General Questions energyfutures@cer-rec.gc.ca. Key Drivers and Macroeconomics: Matthew Hansen (Matthew.Hansen@cer-rec.gc.ca), Lukas Hansen (Lukas.Hansen@cer-rec.gc.ca). Energy Demand: Lukas Hansen (Lukas.Hansen@cer-rec.gc.ca), Matthew Hansen (Matthew.Hansen@cer-rec.gc.ca) and Ken Newel (Ken.Newel@cer-rec.gc.ca). Crude Oil: Peter Budgell (Peter.Budgell@cer-rec.gc.ca. Refinery Balances: Kinsey Nickerson (Kinsey.Nickerson@cer-rec.gc.ca). Natural Gas and NGLs: (Melanie.Stogran@cer-rec.gc.ca). Electricity: Michael Nadew (Michael.Nadew@cer-rec.gc.ca) and Mantaj Hundal (Mantaj.Hundal@cer-rec.gc.ca). Coal: Lukas Hansen (Lukas.Hansen@cer-rec.gc.ca). Climate Policy: Kevin Caron (Kevin.Caron@cer-rec.gc.ca) and Ken Newel (Ken.Newel@cer-rec.gc.ca).

If a party wishes to rely on material from this report in any regulatory proceeding before the CER, it may submit the material, just as it may submit any public document. Under these circumstances, the submitting party in effect adopts the material and that party could be required to answer questions pertaining to the material.

Date modified: