Board of Directors Meeting Synopses

The Canada Energy Regulator Board of Directors holds regular quarterly meetings. Below you will find a synopsis from each Regular meeting held.

20-21 February 2020

The Board of Directors of the Canada Energy Regular (CER) held a Regular Board Meeting on February 20-21, 2020 in Calgary, Alberta and exercised its governance responsibilities by providing strategic advice and direction on a number of key initiatives. The Board started its meeting with an overview of the involvement of Indigenous Peoples in emergency management.

The Board formally established two Committees: a Governance Committee, and a Corporate Performance, Risk, Finance and HR Committee.

The Board received a report from the Chairperson on her recent engagement with stakeholders and Indigenous peoples.  The CEO provided an update on significant activities of the CER, including continued oversight of the Trans Mountain Expansion Project, a recent Commission recommendation report on the NOVA Gas Transmission Ltd. 2021 Expansion Project, as well as internal financial and human resource matters. The Lead Commissioner provided an update on Commission activities.

The Board received briefings on details of the key changes under the Canadian Energy Regulator Act (CER Act), processes to adjudicate designated and non-designated projects, and consideration of greenhouse gas emissions and climate change in project reviews. The Board met with Mr. Nigel Bankes, Professor and Chair of Natural Resources Law at the University of Calgary, who facilitated a discussion of the policy context around the CER Act and opportunities for the CER to build public confidence in the Regulator.

There was a detailed strategic discussion on the implementation of the objectives of the CER Act through the CER’s Regulatory Framework. This was followed by strategic direction on the CER’s Energy Futures Report 2020. The Board also discussed progress towards establishment of an Indigenous Advisory Committee.

The Board’s next Regular Meeting will be held on 27-28 May 2020 in Vancouver, British Columbia.

25 November 2019

The Board of Directors of the Canada Energy Regular (CER) held a Regular Board Meeting on 25 November 2019 in Calgary, Alberta and exercised its governance responsibilities by approving a number of key documents. The Board started its meeting with an overview of the CER’s approach to compliance verification activities including the risk model employed.

The Board received a report from the Chairperson on her recent and planned stakeholder engagement. The Chairperson also highlighted a recent learning activity on Indigenous law and UNDRIP that was attended by the Chairperson, Vice-Chairperson, Commission and senior management.

The Lead Commissioner provided an update to the Board which included the procedural status of certain Commission matters and Commission onboarding activity. The CEO provided an update to the Board on significant activities of the CER, including the organization’s continued oversight of the Trans Mountain Expansion project, the integrated review of the Gazoduq Project, and the CER’s business and resource planning.

The Board approved the guidance document: Governance of the Canada Energy Regulator: Mandate, Roles and Responsibilities, the Board’s operating By-law #1, as well as a forward meeting schedule and certain regulations related to the implementation of the Canadian Energy Regulator Act. Other matters discussed by the Board included the CER’s quarterly performance results, departmental plan and the establishment of an Indigenous Advisory Committee.

The Board’s next Regular Meeting will be held on 20-21 February 2020 in Calgary, Alberta.

17 October 2019

The Board of Directors of the Canada Energy Regular (CER) held a Regular Board Meeting on 17 October 2019 in Calgary, Alberta. The Board started its meeting with an introduction to process safety. The Board will commence each meeting with a focus on safety and is interested in developing a strong understanding and leadership support for the CER’s safety culture.

Following the introduction, the Board received a report from the Chairperson on the status of Board business planning and the Chairperson’s planned stakeholder engagement. The Board discussed governance matters including the tripartite relationship and appropriate communications between the Board, Chief Executive Officer (CEO) and Commission.

The CEO provided an update to the Board on significant activities of the CER, including oversight of Trans Mountain Expansion Project construction, and the upcoming integrated impact assessment of the proposed Gazoduq Project by the Impact Assessment Agency and the CER. Other matters discussed by the Board included the importance of and approach to its engagement with Indigenous Peoples and stakeholders, significant initiatives within the CER’s Regulatory Framework, the CER’s upcoming Energy Futures 2019 report, and the CER’s approach to emergency management.

The Board’s next Regular Meeting will be held on 25 November 2019 in Calgary, Alberta.

24 September 2019 (Inaugural meeting of the Board)

The Board of Directors of the Canada Energy Regulator held its inaugural Regular Board Meeting on 24 September 2019. The Board was presented with, and provided feedback on, foundational governance documents including Bylaws, a Board Plan for the remainder of fiscal year 2019-20, and proposed guidance for Directors, Commissioners, the Chief Executive Officer and staff of the CER regarding their roles and responsibilities in supporting the effective delivery of the CER’s mandate. The Board received an update from the Lead Commissioner regarding significant activities of the Commission since coming-into-force of the Canadian Energy Regulator Act. The Board also received a report from the CEO and a number of briefings on significant activities of the CER. Finally, the Board was presented with, and provided feedback on, the CER’s 3-year strategy, including its Focus Areas of Reconciliation with Indigenous Peoples, People and Workforce, and Data Transformation. The Board expressed support for the three Focus Areas and will review the CER’s Departmental Plan at its November Regular Meeting.

Date modified:

Sommaire des réunions du conseil d’administration

Le conseil d’administration de la Régie de l’énergie du Canada tient des réunions chaque trimestre. Suit un sommaire de chacune de ces réunions.

25 novembre 2019

Le conseil d’administration de la Régie de l’énergie du Canada a tenu une réunion ordinaire le 25 novembre 2019 à Calgary, en Alberta et s’est acquitté de ses responsabilités de gouvernance en approuvant plusieurs documents clés. Le conseil d’administration a commencé la réunion par un aperçu de la démarche de la Régie en ce qui concerne les activités de vérification de la conformité, y compris le modèle de risque employé.

Le conseil d’administration a reçu un rapport de la présidente sur ses activités récentes et prévues de mobilisation des parties prenantes. La présidente du conseil d’administration a souligné également une activité d’apprentissage sur le droit autochtone et la Déclaration des Nations Unies sur les droits des peuples autochtones, à laquelle elle a assisté en compagnie du vice-président, de la Commission et de la haute direction.

Le commissaire en chef a fait un compte rendu au conseil d’administration qui comprenait l’état d’avancement sur le plan procédural de certaines affaires et de l’activité d’intégration de la Commission. Le PDG a lui aussi fait un compte rendu sur des activités importantes de la Régie, y compris la surveillance continue du projet d’agrandissement du réseau de Trans Mountain, l’examen intégré du projet Gazoduq, et la planification des activités et des ressources de la Régie.

Le conseil d’administration a approuvé le document d’orientation, Gouvernance de la Régie de l’énergie du Canada –– Mission, rôles et responsabilités, le règlement administratif no 1, le calendrier des réunions à venir et certains règlements d’application de la Loi sur la Régie canadienne de l’énergie. Le conseil d’administration a discuté également des résultats de rendement trimestriels de la Régie, du plan ministériel et de la mise sur pied d’un comité consultatif autochtone.

La prochaine réunion ordinaire du conseil d’administration se tiendra les 20 et 21 février 2020 à Calgary, en Alberta.

17 octobre 2019

Le conseil d’administration de la Régie de l’énergie du Canada a tenu une réunion ordinaire le 17 octobre 2019 à Calgary, en Alberta. La réunion a commencé par une introduction à la sécurité des processus. Le conseil d’administration commencera chaque réunion par un échange sur la sécurité. Il aimerait favoriser une bonne compréhension et un solide soutien à la direction pour la culture de sécurité de la Régie.

Après l’introduction, le conseil d’administration a reçu un rapport du président sur l’état d’avancement de la planification opérationnelle. Le rapport porte également sur la mobilisation des parties prenantes prévue par le président du conseil d’administration. Le conseil d’administration a abordé des questions de gouvernance, notamment la relation tripartite et les communications appropriées entre le conseil d’administration, le président-directeur général (PDG) et la Commission.

Le PDG a fait un compte rendu au conseil d’administration sur les activités importantes de la Régie, notamment la surveillance des travaux de construction pour le projet d’agrandissement du réseau de Trans Mountain, et sur l’évaluation d’impact intégrée du projet Gazoduq par l’Agence d’évaluation d’impact et la Régie. Le conseil d’administration a discuté en outre de l’importance de la mobilisation des peuples autochtones et des parties prenantes, ainsi que de l’approche adoptée; des initiatives importantes du cadre de réglementation de la Régie; du rapport sur l’avenir énergétique 2019, et de la démarche de la Régie pour la gestion des situations d’urgence.

La prochaine réunion ordinaire du conseil d’administration aura lieu le 25 novembre 2019 à Calgary, en Alberta.

24 septembre 2019 (première réunion du conseil d’administration)

Le conseil d’administration de la Régie de l’énergie du Canada a tenu sa première réunion ordinaire le 24 septembre 2019. Le conseil d’administration a fait des commentaires sur la documentation de gouvernance de base reçue, incluant les règlements administratifs, un plan pour le reste de l’exercice financier 2019-2020 ainsi que les lignes directrices proposées pour les administrateurs, les commissaires, le président-directeur général et le personnel de la Régie en ce qui concerne leurs rôles et responsabilités visant la réalisation du mandat de la Régie. Le conseil d’administration a reçu un compte rendu du commissaire en chef au sujet des activités importantes de la Commission depuis l’entrée en vigueur de la Loi sur la Régie canadienne de l’énergie. Il a reçu également un rapport du PDG et plusieurs notes de synthèse sur les principales activités de la Régie. Enfin, la stratégie triennale de la Régie a été présentée au conseil d’administration, qui a donné ses commentaires à ce sujet. Les secteurs d’intervention privilégiés de la stratégie sont la réconciliation avec les peuples autochtones, le personnel et le soutien aux effectifs, ainsi que la transformation des données. Le conseil d’administration a exprimé son appui pour les trois secteurs d’intervention privilégiés; il étudiera le plan ministériel de la Régie à sa réunion ordinaire de novembre.

Date de modification :