On Wednesday, Aug. 28, the National Energy Board (NEB) became the Canada Energy Regulator (CER). For further information please visit our Implementing the Canadian Energy Regulator Act information page

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

ARCHIVED – Transparency Guidelines for Information under the Canada Oil and Gas Operations Act

Transparency Guidelines for Information under the Canada Oil and Gas Operations Act [PDF 89 KB]

March 2016

National Energy Board Coat of Arms

Table of Contents

1.0 Background and Purpose

On 27 February 2016, certain sections of the Energy Safety and Security Act (ESSA) came into force. Among other things, the ESSA amends the Canada Oil and Gas Operations Act (COGOA) and Canada Petroleum Resources Act (CPRA) to give the National Energy Board (NEB) new tools for increasing transparency.

Much of the information and documentation provided for the purposes of the COGOA or its regulations is privileged under subsection 101(2) of the CPRA. However, the amendments to the COGOA and CPRA enable the NEB to:

  • publicly disclose information regarding the applicants for operating licencesFootnote 1 and authorizationsFootnote 2, and the scope, purpose, location, timing and nature of the proposed work or activity - CPRA subsection 101(8);
  • conduct a public hearing in relation to the exercise of any of its powers or the performance of any of its duties - COGOA section 5.331;
  • publicly disclose information or documentation provided for the purposes of a public hearing - CPRA subsection 101(9); and
  • disclose information or documentation related to safety or environmental protection that is not commercially sensitive or risks impairing security - CPRA subsection 101(10).Footnote 3,Footnote 4

As part of the NEB’s commitment to transparency, the NEB intends to use these new tools to significantly increase the public disclosure of information under the COGOA. The purpose of these guidelines is to clarify the NEB’s expectations with respect to the disclosure of information under the COGOA.

2.0 Implementing ESSA’s Transparency Provisions

The NEB’s implementation of the above amendments to the COGOA and CPRA will include the following measures:

Operating Licences

The NEB will publish the names of companies who have received an operating licence under paragraph 5(1)(a) of COGOA on the NEB website annually.

Authorizations

1. Brief Project Description

The NEB expects applicants for authorizations to file a brief project description (approximately 1-5 pages) that includes the name of the applicant, scope, purpose, location, timing and nature of the proposed work or activity. This information is not privileged and will be publicly disclosed. Applicants are expected to e-fileFootnote 5 brief project descriptions on the NEB website.

The NEB will use the brief project description to make an early determination of whether a hearing should be conducted. If the applicant fails to provide a brief project description, it will result in delays to accommodate additional process steps.

2. Public Hearings

The NEB will determine if a public hearing is warranted based on the information provided by the applicant, either in the brief project description or in the application itself, using the following criteria:

  • Is an environmental assessment required under the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act, 2012 (i.e., is the project designated under the Regulations Designating Physical Activities)?
  • Is the project novel, unique, or unusual?
  • Is there likely to be significant public interest in the application?

If the NEB decides to conduct a hearing, information provided for the purposes of the hearing is not privileged (e.g., the application, written evidence, responses to information requests, motions, reply, argument, etc.). This information will be publicly disclosed unless the NEB grants confidentiality under sections 5.34 and 5.35 of the COGOA for information that is commercially sensitive or risks impairing security. Applicants are expected to e-file information provided for the purposes of the hearing on the NEB website, except for confidential information under sections 5.34 and 5.35 of the COGOA.

Applicants requesting confidentiality under sections 5.34 and 5.35 of the COGOA must file the following with the NEB:

  1. A cover letter containing the request for confidentiality and reasons for the requests, as well as a summary of the nature of the information to be treated confidentially;
  2. If possible, a redacted version of the filing (which does not contain the information requested to be kept confidential); and
  3. Unredacted copies of the filing that the applicant requests to be kept confidential. The filings must be provided via hand delivery, ordinary mail, registered mail or courier to the Secretary of the Board in a double sealed envelope under confidential cover.

If the NEB issues an authorization after the public hearing, companies are expected to provide written consent to enable post-approval project information to be publicly accessible online. Apply the guidance in the Consent to Disclosure section with modifications where needed.

3. Consent to Disclosure

If the NEB decides not to conduct a hearing, applicants are expected to provide written consent to enable project information to be publicly accessible online. The attached COGOA template consent form in Appendix 1 encompasses the public disclosure of all the information or documentation provided in relation to the project, except for information that is commercially sensitive or will impair security. This includes the application, responses to information requests and condition compliance information.

Applicants are expected to e-file their consent form and redacted versions of project-related documents on the NEB website. Unredacted versions of documents with sensitive information must be sent via hand delivery, ordinary mail, registered mail or courier in a double sealed envelope under confidential cover to:

  • The Northern Applications Director
    National Energy Board
    517 Tenth Avenue SW
    Calgary, Alberta
    T2R 0A8

If the applicant does not consent to disclosure, it will result in delays to accommodate additional process steps. Even if an applicant consents to disclosure, unreasonable redactions can also result in delays.

4. Safety and Environmental Protection Information

If the applicant does not provide written consent to disclose information, the NEB will rely on subsection 101(10) of the CPRA to publicly disclose information related to safety or environmental protection. The NEB will ask the person who provided the information for a waiver of the notice requirements under subsection 101.1(2) of the CPRA. If the waiver is not given, the NEB will then follow the notice requirements outlined in subsection 101.1 of the CPRA which could take months. This process includes steps for the NEB to provide notice of disclosure, the person to provide representations, the NEB to provide notice of its decision regarding disclosure, and potential review by the Federal Court. Without a waiver, this process must be followed each time the applicant provides information related to safety and environmental protection that the Board wishes to disclose, resulting in significant delays.

Appendix 1: Consent Form Template

National Energy Board Coat of Arms

Consent to Disclosure
Pursuant to subsection 101(2.1) of the Canada Petroleum Resources Act (CPRA)

Subject to section 101 of the CPRA, the National Energy Board (NEB) wishes to make more information provided under the Canada Oil and Gas Operations Act (COGOA) publicly accessible online.

____________________________________________________________________ (the Applicant), is applying for an authorization under paragraph 5(1)(b) of the COGOA for ____________________________________________________________________ (the Project).

By signing this form, the Applicant is consenting to the public disclosure of all the information or documentation provided in relation to the Project, except for what the Applicant determines to be:

  • information that, if disclosed, could reasonably be expected to result in a material loss or gain to a person, or to prejudice their competitive position, and the potential harm resulting from the disclosure outweighs the public interest in making the disclosure;
  • financial, commercial, scientific or technical information or documentation that is confidential and has been consistently treated as such by a person who would be directly affected by its disclosure, and for which the person’s interest in confidentiality outweighs the public interest in its disclosure;
  • information that, if disclosed, there is a real and substantial risk it will impair the security of pipelines, as defined in section 2 of the COGOA, buildings, installations, vessels, vehicles, aircraft or systems, including computer or communication systems, used for any work or activity in respect of which the COGOA applies — or methods employed to protect them — and the need to prevent its disclosure outweighs the public interest in its disclosure; or
  • classes of information or documentation described in subsection 101(7) of the CPRAFootnote 6.

The Applicant releases the NEB, its officers, agents or employees from any claims, demands, losses and liability arising out of or related to the disclosure of information under this consent.

________________________________________
Name of Applicant
________________________________________
Date
________________________________________
Signature of Officer on behalf of  Applicant
________________________________________
Name of Officer                                                                 
Date modified:

Le mercredi 28 août 2019, l'Office national de l'énergie est devenu la Régie de l'énergie du Canada. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez la page d'information sur la mise en oeuvre de la Loi sur la Régie canadienne de l'énergie

Lignes directrices sur la transparence pour l’information relative à la Loi sur les opérations pétrolières au Canada

Lignes directrices sur la transparence pour l’information relative à la Loi sur les opérations pétrolières au Canada [PDF 81 ko]

Mars 2016

Armoiries de l'Office national de l'énergie

Table des matières

1.0 Contexte et objet

Le 27 février 2016, certains articles de la Loi sur la sûreté et la sécurité en matière énergétique (LSSE) sont entrés en vigueur. Entre autres choses, la LSSE modifie la Loi sur les opérations pétrolières au Canada (LOPC) et la Loi fédérale sur les hydrocarbures (LFH) de manière à procurer de nouveaux outils à l’Office national de l’énergie pour accroître la transparence.

Une grande partie de l’information ou de la documentation fournie aux fins de la LOPC ou de ses règlements d’application est confidentielle selon le paragraphe 101(2) de la LFH. Cependant, les modifications apportées à la LOPC et à la LFH permettent à l’Office de faire ce qui suit :

  • divulguer publiquement des renseignements sur les demandeurs de permis de travauxNote de bas de page 1 et d’autorisationsNote de bas de page 2, de même que la portée, le but, l’emplacement, l’échéancier et la nature des activités ou travaux proposés - paragraphe 101(8) de la LFH;
  • tenir une audience publique en rapport avec l’exercice de ses pouvoirs ou l’exécution de ses fonctions - article 5.331 de la LOPC;
  • divulguer publiquement de l’information ou de la documentation fournie aux fins de l’audience publique - paragraphe 101(9) de la LFH;
  • divulguer publiquement de l’information ou de la documentation reliée à la sécurité ou à la protection de l’environnement qui n’est pas sensible sur le plan commercial ou qui est susceptible de compromettre la sécurité - paragraphe 101(10) de la LFH.Note de bas de page 3,Note de bas de page 4

Fidèle à son engagement en matière de transparence, l’Office a l’intention de se servir de ces nouveaux outils pour accroître considérablement la divulgation publique de renseignements sous le régime de la LOPC. Les présentes lignes directrices visent à clarifier les attentes de l’Office en ce qui a trait à la divulgation de renseignements au titre de la LOPC.

2.0 Mise en œuvre des dispositions de transparence de la LSSE

La mise en œuvre des modifications susmentionnées à la LOPC et à la LFH comprendra les mesures suivantes :

Permis de travaux

L’Office publiera chaque année dans son site Web le nom des sociétés qui ont reçu un permis de travaux aux termes de l’alinéa 5(1)a) de la LOPC.

Authorizations

1. Brève description de projet

L’Office s’attend à ce que les sociétés qui demandent une autorisation déposent une brève description de projet (de 1 à 5 pages environ) précisant le nom du demandeur de même que la portée, le but, l’emplacement, l’échéancier et la nature des activités ou travaux proposés. Cette information n’est pas confidentielle et sera rendue publique. On s’attend à ce que les demandeurs déposent par voie électroniqueNote de bas de page 5 une brève description de leurs projets dans le site Web de l’Office.

L’Office se servira de la brève description de projet pour déterminer tôt dans le processus s’il doit tenir une audience. Les demandeurs qui omettent de déposer une brève description de projet doivent s’attendre à des retards dans le processus en raison des étapes supplémentaires nécessaires.

2. Audiences publique

L’Office détermine s’il doit tenir une audience publique en se fondant sur l’information fournie par le demandeur, soit dans la brève description de projet, soit dans la demande elle-même, à partir des critères suivants :

  • Est-ce qu’une évaluation environnementale est requise en application de la Loi canadienne sur l’évaluation environnementale (2012) - S’agit-il d’un projet désigné aux termes du Règlement désignant les activités concrètes?
  • S’agit-il d’un projet novateur, unique ou inhabituel?
  • La demande suscitera-t-elle l’intérêt public?

Si l’Office décide de tenir une audience, l’information fournie aux fins du processus n’est pas confidentielle (la demande, la preuve écrite, les réponses aux demande de renseignements, les requêtes, la réplique, la plaidoirie, etc.). Ces renseignements sont rendus publics sauf si l’Office accepte de les traiter de manière confidentielle aux termes des articles 5.34 et 5.35 de la LOPC, s’il s’agit d’information sensible sur le plan commercial ou susceptible de compromettre la sécurité. Les demandeurs sont priés de déposer, par voie électronique dans le site Web de l’Office, les renseignements fournis aux fins de l’audience, à l’exception de l’information jugée confidentielle aux termes des articles 5.34 et 5.35 de la LOPC.

Les demandeurs qui veulent obtenir un traitement confidentiel aux termes des articles 5.34 et 5.35 de la LOPC doivent déposer ce qui suit auprès de l’Office :

  1. une lettre explicative précisant pourquoi les documents soumis devraient être traités sous le sceau de la confidentialité et résumant la nature de l’information pour laquelle le caractère confidentiel devrait être respecté;
  2. si possible, une version expurgée des documents déposés (sans l’information pour laquelle le caractère confidentiel devrait être respecté);
  3. des copies non expurgées des documents déposés dont le demandeur voudrait préserver le caractère confidentiel - ces documents doivent être livrés par porteur, par la poste, par courrier recommandé ou par messager à la secrétaire de l’Office sous double pli cacheté confidentiel.

Si l’Office accorde une autorisation au terme de l’audience publique, les sociétés doivent donner leur consentement par écrit pour permettre l’affichage en ligne de l’information sur le projet approuvé. Les lignes directrices sur le consentement à la divulgation sont appliquées avec les modifications requises au besoin.

3. Consentement à la divulgation

Si l’Office décide de ne pas tenir une audience, les sociétés sont priées de donner leur consentement par écrit pour permettre l’affichage en ligne de l’information sur le projet. Le modèle de formulaire de consentement à la divulgation (de la LOPC) fourni à l’annexe 1 englobe toute l’information ou la documentation soumise relativement au projet, à l’exception des renseignements sensibles sur le plan commercial ou risquant de compromettre la sécurité. Cela inclut la demande, les réponses aux demandes de renseignements et l’information sur la conformité aux conditions.

Les demandeurs sont priés de déposer, par voie électronique dans le site Web de l’Office, le formulaire de consentement à la divulgation et les versions expurgées des documents reliés à leurs projets. Les versions non expurgées des documents renfermant de l’information sensible doivent être livrées par porteur, par la poste, par courrier recommandé ou par messager sous double pli cacheté confidentiel à l’adresse suivante :

  • Directeur des demandes visant le Nord
    Office national de l’énergie
    517, Dixième Avenue S.-O.
    Calgary (Alberta)  T2R 0A8

Les demandeurs qui ne consentent pas à la divulgation de l’information doivent s’attendre à des retards dans le processus en raison des étapes supplémentaires nécessaires. Même lorsque le formulaire de consentement à la divulgation est signé, un nombre déraisonnable d’expurgations peut aussi entraîner des retards.

4. Information concernant la sécurité et la protection de l’environnement

Lorsqu’un demandeur ne consent pas par écrit à divulguer l’information, l’Office applique le paragraphe 101(10) de la LFH afin de rendre publics les renseignements reliés à la sécurité et à la protection de l’environnement. L’Office demande alors à la personne qui a fourni l’information de renoncer aux exigences de préavis prévues au paragraphe 101.1(2) de la LFH. Si la renonciation n’est pas accordée, l’Office suit alors les exigences de préavis énoncées au paragraphe 101.1 de la LFH, ce qui peut prendre des mois. Le processus établi comporte les étapes suivantes : avis de divulgation donné par l’Office; observations soumises par la personne; avis de décision de l’Office au sujet de la divulgation; possibilité d’examen par la Cour fédérale. Sans renonciation, ce processus doit être suivi chaque fois que le demandeur fournit de l’information reliée à la sécurité et à la protection de l’environnement que l’Office veut divulguer, ce qui entraîne des retards considérables.

Annexe 1 : Modèle de formulaire de consentement Armoiries de l'Office national de l'énergie

Consentement à la divulgation
aux termes du paragraphe 101(2.1) de la Loi fédérale sur les hydrocarbures (LFH)

Sous réserve de l’article 101 de la LFH, l’Office national de l’énergie désire afficher publiquement en ligne davantage d’information fournie relativement à la Loi sur les opérations pétrolières au Canada (LOPC).

____________________________________________________________________ (le demandeur) sollicite une autorisation aux termes de l’alinéa 5(1)b) de la LOPC pour ____________________________________________________________________ (le projet).

En signant le présent formulaire, le demandeur consent à ce que toute l’information ou la documentation fournie relativement au projet soit divulguée publiquement, sauf s’il estime que les renseignements correspondent à ce qui suit :

  • information dont la divulgation risquerait raisonnablement de causer des gains ou pertes appréciables pour une personne, ou un préjudice à sa position concurrentielle, et le préjudice éventuel ainsi occasionné l’emporte sur l’intérêt public de la divulgation;
  • information ou documentation financière, commerciale, scientifique ou technique ayant toujours été traitée de manière confidentielle par une personne qui serait directement touchée par la divulgation, et l’importance de la confidentialité pour la personne l’emporte sur l’intérêt public de la divulgation;
  • information qui, si elle était divulguée, représenterait un risque réel et sérieux pour la sûreté des pipelines selon la définition énoncée à l’article 2 de la LOPC, des bâtiments, des installations, des navires, des véhicules, des aéronefs ou des systèmes, y compris les systèmes informatiques ou de communication utilisés pour les travaux ou activités visés par la LOPC, ou les méthodes employées pour les protéger, et la nécessité d’empêcher la divulgation l’emporte sur l’intérêt public de la divulgation;
  • catégories d’information ou de documentation décrites au paragraphe 101(7) de la LFHNote de bas de page 6.
  • classes of information or documentation described in subsection 101(7) of the CPRA.

Le demandeur dégage l’Office, ses dirigeants, représentants ou employés de toute réclamation, demande, perte ou responsabilité reliée à la divulgation de l’information visée par le présent consentement.

________________________________________
Nom du demandeur
________________________________________
Date
________________________________________
Signature du dirigeant au nom du demandeur
________________________________________
Nom du dirigeant
Date de modification :