On Wednesday, August 28, 2019, the National Energy Board (NEB) became the Canada Energy Regulator (CER). For further information please visit our Implementing the Canadian Energy Regulator Act information page

Filing Manual – Guide U – Information Filed Respecting Plan, Profile, Book of Reference and Notices (CER Act s. 199 and s. 201)

Table of Contents

Goal

Documentation on the detailed route of the pipeline and notification to potentially affected landowners and others persons regarding the approval process and their rights will be provided in accordance with sections 199 and 201 of the CER Act.

U.1 Plan, Profile, Book of Reference (PPBoR)

Filing Requirements

Section 199 of the CER Act requires:

199 (1) The company must submit the plan, profile and book of reference referred to in paragraph 198(c) to the Regulator.

(2) The plan and profile must include any details that the Commission may require.

(3) The book of reference must describe the portion of land proposed to be taken in each parcel of land to be traversed, giving the numbers of the parcels, and the area, length and width of the portion of each parcel to be taken, and the names of the owners and occupiers insofar as they can be ascertained.

(4) The plan, profile and book of reference must be prepared to the satisfaction of the Commission, and the Commission may require the company to provide any additional information that the Commission considers necessary.

In addition, the plan and profile of the project must be drawn to a scale of 1:10 000 or larger and, if appropriate, should show:

1. the proposed route of the pipeline.

2. property boundaries; and

3. the numbers of the parcels of land to be traversed (i.e., legal land descriptions).

Guidance

When the Commission issues a certificate of public convenience and necessity under the CER Act, the company may provide a draft version of the PPBoR.

Upon receipt of the certificate, the company shall file PPBoRs pursuant to section 199 of the CER Act for approval pursuant to section 203 of the CER Act. The applicant may consider using a photomosaic overlay for the final PPBoR. A photomosaic can provide a high level of visual information about the detailed route of the project. The PPBoR will allow landowners and other persons to examine the PPBoR to determine the precise location of the proposed detailed route, the lands that will be crossed, the type of land rights that will be required and the landowners who will be affected.

In the event the Commission approves the PPBoR for a project, the company is required to file the PPBoR with the registrar of deeds in the appropriate land titles or land registry office before carrying out any work in respect of the approved PPBoR.

U.2 Section 201 Notices

When plans, profiles and a book of reference are filed with the CER (pursuant to subsection 199(1) of the CER Act) a sample notice shall be filed for Commission approval prior to service and publication. The notice will meet the requirements of section 201 of the CER Act, section 50 of the Rules and the additional filing requirements.

Filing Requirements

Section 201 of the CER Act states:

Notice to owners

201 (1) If a company has submitted to the Regulator a plan, profile and book of reference under subsection 199(1), the company must, in the form and manner specified by the Commission,

  1. (a) serve a notice on all owners of lands proposed to be acquired, leased, taken or used, insofar as they can be ascertained; and
  2. (b) publish a notice in at least one issue of a publication, if any, in general circulation within the area in which the lands are situated.

(2) The notices mentioned in subsection (1) must describe the proposed detailed route of the pipeline, the location of the head office of the Regulator and the right of the owner and of persons referred to in subsection (4) to make, within the period referred to in subsection (3) or (4), as the case may be, representations to the Commission respecting the detailed route of the pipeline.

(2.1) The Regulator must publish on its website any notice that is published under paragraph (1)(b).

(3) If an owner of lands who has been served with a notice under subsection (1) wishes to oppose the proposed detailed route of a pipeline, the owner may, within 30 days after the day on which the notice is served, file with the Regulator a written statement setting out the nature of their interest and the grounds for their opposition to that route.

(4) A person who anticipates that their lands may be adversely affected by the proposed detailed route of a pipeline, other than an owner of lands referred to in subsection (3), may oppose the proposed detailed route by filing with the Regulator, within 30 days after the day on which the last notice referred to in subsection (1) is published, a written statement setting out the nature of their interest and the grounds for their opposition to that route.

Section 50 of the Rules states:

50 (1) Before any notice in respect of a plan, profile and book of reference of a pipeline or an international or interprovincial power line is served or published by an applicant under section [201] of the Act, the applicant shall

  1. (a) submit to the [CER] for approval as to form a sample notice for service and a sample notice for publication, both of which shall include a sample description of the proposed detailed route of the pipeline or the international or interprovincial power line that is to be included in each notice; or
  2. (b) identify in writing, for the approval of the [Commission], one or more forms of notices previously approved by the [Commission] that the applicant proposes to serve or publish in relation to the plan, profile and book of reference.

(2) The submission required under paragraph (1)(a) shall include

  1. (a) a copy of any map that the applicant proposes to publish; and
  2. (b) a list of the titles and the number of issues of the publications in which the applicant proposes to publish the notice.

(3) Any notice served or published under section [201] of the Act shall not depart in any material respect from the notice approved by the [Commission] under subsection (1).

In addition, the applicant must provide the following information.

1. File a copy of the notice that will be served on landowners. At a minimum, the notice will include:

  • a description of the requirements described within sections 202 to 206 of the CER Act;
  • a map of the proposed detailed route of the pipeline or powerline;
  • a plan of the lands proposed to be acquired, which:
  • reference to legal survey points, if such points are available; and
  • is of a scale sufficient to identify, with reasonable accuracy, the location, dimensions and area of lands in relation to the remaining adjacent lands of the owner, if any.

2. Provide a copy of the notice that will be included in local publications. At a minimum, the notice will include:

  • a description of the requirements described within sections 202 to 206 of the CER Act;
  • a description of the proposed detailed route of the pipeline;
  • a plan of a scale sufficient to identify, with reasonable accuracy, the location of the proposed detailed route in relation to:
    • topographical features;
    • population centres;
    • highways;
    • utilities; and
    • other such prominent local landmarks;
  • a schedule that lists each land parcel that is proposed to be affected by the detailed route and identifies each by its legal description, including as appropriate the:
    • municipal address;
    • parcel number;
    • registered plan number;
    • lot;
    • concession;
    • township;
    • parish;
    • range;
    • county; or
    • other equivalent land divisions, as are sufficient to identify the lands of each such owner;
  • the location within or near the area covered by the plan where the PPBoR for that area are available for public inspection;

3. The list of publications that will be used will include:

  • proposed dates of publication;
  • submission deadlines;
  • frequency (daily, weekly, monthly) of publication; and
  • language of publication (French, English or both).

4. Where the applicant completes the service and publication of notice under section 201 of the CER Act, it shall forthwith notify the Commission in writing of the dates of the last service and publication. The company shall file a tear sheet of the newspapers.

Guidance

After the Commission has issued a certificate and the PPBoRs have been filed with the CER pursuant to section 199 of the CER Act, the company must provide a sample notice, in both English and French, of the proposed section 201 notices, or identify notices previously approved by the Commission that the applicant proposes to serve or publish. CER staff can provide assistance in order to ensure that the notices comply with the CER Act requirements. Once Commission approval has been obtained, the company can serve and publish its section 201 notices.

When publishing notices, consider the availability of English and French newspapers and their respective regional coverage. In the event that newspapers in the region are published in only one official language, publish both the French and English versions side by side in compliance with the Official Languages Act.

The Rules require that where an applicant completes the service and publication of any notice under section 201 of the CER Act, the company shall forthwith notify the Commission in writing of the dates of the last service and publication. This allows the Commission to determine when the notices were served and published which commences the comment period set out in s. 201(3) and s.  201(4) of the CER Act. The Commission will not approve any PPBoR prior to expiry of these timelines.

Detailed Route Hearing

If an objection is received by the Commission pursuant to subsection 201(3) or (4) of the CER Act, the Commission will, pursuant to subsection 202 (1) of the CER Act, order a public hearing be conducted with respect to the detailed route and method and timing of construction of the pipeline.

Following the issuance of a Hearing Order by the Commission, consider filing the following information:

  • a description of any landowner concerns with respect to the detailed route and the methods and timing of construction of the project; and
  • comments on the potential for using the CER’s Appropriate Dispute Resolution (ADR) services.

U.3 Application to Correct a PPBoR Error (CER Act s. 208)

Goal

The application includes documentation with respect to the omission, misstatement or error in a registered PPBoR. The documentation will address all land matters related to the request for a permit in order to correct the error.

Filing Requirements

An application pursuant to subsection 208(1) of the CER Act should include:

  • the Order number and date of the original PPBoR approval;
  • the nature and description of the error in the PPBoR;
  • the accurate information (i.e., related to the plan, profile or book of reference); and
  • confirmation that, pursuant to subsection 208(3), copies of the permit will be provided to the offices of the registrars or appropriate land title offices.

Guidance

Section 41 of the CER Act provides a company with the means to correct an omission, misstatement or error in its registered PPBoR.

Pursuant to subsection 208(2) of the CER Act, the Commission may, at its discretion, issue a permit setting out the nature of the omission, misstatement or error and the correction allowed.

Subsection 208(3) of the CER Act provides that the permit and supporting documentation are considered to be corrected once registered at the appropriate land titles office.

Next Steps...

File the completed application. Applicants are encouraged to include the completed relevant checklists from Appendix 1.

Date modified:

Le mercredi 28 août 2019, l'Office national de l'énergie est devenu la Régie de l'énergie du Canada. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez la page d'information sur la mise en oeuvre de la Loi sur la Régie canadienne de l'énergie

Guide de dépôt – Rubrique U – Renseignements déposés à l’égard des plan, profil, livre de renvoi et des avis (articles 199 et 201 de la LRCE)

Table des matières

But

La documentation sur le tracé détaillé du pipeline ainsi que les avis concernant le processus d’approbation et les droits des propriétaires de terrains et autres personnes susceptibles d’être touchés par le projet sont transmis conformément aux dispositions des articles 199 et 201 de la LRCE.

U.1 Plan, profil, livre de renvoi (PPLR)

Exigences de dépôt

L’article 199 de la LRCE prévoit ce qui suit :

199 (1) La compagnie soumet à la Régie les plan, profil et livre de renvoi visés à l’alinéa 198 c).

(2) Les plan et profil donnent les détails que la Commission peut exiger.

(3) Le livre de renvoi décrit, pour chaque parcelle à traverser, la portion de terrain dont la prise de possession est prévue en donnant le numéro de la parcelle ainsi que les longueur et largeur et superficie de la portion visée, de même que les noms des propriétaires et occupants, dans la mesure où leur identité peut être établie.

(4) Les plan, profil et livre de renvoi répondent aux exigences de la Commission; celle-ci peut enjoindre à la compagnie de fournir tous renseignements supplémentaires qu’elle estime nécessaires.

De plus, les plan et profil doivent être dessinés à l’échelle 1/10 000 ou à une plus grande échelle et, s’il y a lieu, doivent indiquer ce qui suit :

1. le tracé proposé du pipeline;

2. les limites de la propriété;

3. les numéros des parcelles à traverser (p. ex., les désignations cadastrales).

Orientation

Lorsque la Commission délivre un certificat d’utilité publique aux termes de la LRCE, la société peut fournir une version provisoire des PPLR.

Sur réception du certificat, la société doit, conformément à l’article 199 de la LRCE, déposer les PPLR pour approbation aux termes de l’article 203. Le demandeur peut envisager d’utiliser une photomosaïque pour les PPLR définitifs. Une photomosaïque peut fournir un haut niveau d’information visuelle sur le tracé détaillé du projet. Les propriétaires des terrains et autres personnes pourront étudier les PPLR dans le but de connaître l’emplacement exact du tracé détaillé proposé, les terrains qui seront traversés, le type de droits fonciers qui devront être acquis et les noms des propriétaires des terrains qui seront touchés par le projet.

Si la Commission approuve les PPLR du projet, la société doit les déposer auprès du directeur du bureau d’enregistrement ou du bureau des titres fonciers approprié avant d’entreprendre les travaux visés dans les PPLR approuvés.

U.2 Avis visés à l’article 201

Une fois les plan, profil et livre de renvoi déposés auprès de la Régie (conformément au paragraphe 199(1) de la LRCE), la société doit soumettre un modèle des avis pour approbation par la Commission avant qu’elle ne les signifie ou ne les publie. Les avis doivent être conformes aux exigences de l’article 201 de la LRCE et de l’article 50 des Règles, ainsi qu’aux exigences de dépôt supplémentaires.

Exigences de dépôt

L’article 201 de la LRCE prévoit ce qui suit :

Avis aux propriétaires

201 (1) La compagnie qui soumet à la Régie les plan, profil et livre de renvoi visés au paragraphe 199(1) doit, selon les modalités fixées par la Commission :

  1. a) signifier un avis à tous les propriétaires des terrains à acquérir, à louer ou à utiliser ou dont la prise de possession est prévue, dans la mesure où leur identité peut être établie;
  2. b) publier un avis dans au moins un numéro d’une publication, s’il en existe une, largement diffusée dans la région où ces terrains sont situés.

(2) Les avis prévus au paragraphe (1) donnent le tracé détaillé du pipeline et l’adresse du siège de la Régie, et énoncent que le propriétaire et les personnes visées au paragraphe (4) ont le droit de présenter à la Commission, dans le délai prévu aux paragraphes (3) ou (4), selon le cas, des observations à cet égard.

(2.1) La Régie publie sur son site Web tout avis publié en vertu de l’alinéa (1)b).

(3) Le propriétaire de terrains à qui un avis a été signifié conformément au paragraphe (1) peut s’opposer au tracé détaillé en transmettant à la Régie, dans les trente jours suivant le jour de la signification, une déclaration écrite indiquant la nature de son intérêt et les motifs de son opposition.

(4) Toute personne qui, sans être un propriétaire de terrains visé au paragraphe (3), estime que le tracé peut nuire à ses terrains peut s’opposer au tracé détaillé en transmettant à la Régie, dans les trente jours suivant le jour de la dernière publication de l’avis prévu au paragraphe (1), une déclaration écrite indiquant la nature de son intérêt et les motifs de son opposition.

L’article 50 des Règles prévoit ce qui suit :

 (1) Avant de signifier ou de publier, en conformité avec l’article [201] de la Loi, l’avis concernant les plan, profil et livre de renvoi d’un pipeline ou d’une ligne internationale ou interprovinciale de transport d’électricité, le demandeur en fait approuver la forme par [la Régie] :

  1. a) soit en lui soumettant le modèle d’avis pour signification et le modèle d’avis pour publication, lesquels comprennent une description type du tracé détaillé projeté du pipeline ou de la ligne qui figurera sur chaque avis;
  2. b) soit en indiquant par écrit à [la Commission] les modèles d’avis, déjà approuvés par [celle-ci], qu’[elle] entend adopter à cette fin.

(2) Les modèles d’avis soumis conformément à l’alinéa (1)a) sont accompagnés de ce qui suit :

  1. a) une copie de toute carte que le demandeur se propose de publier;
  2. b) la liste des titres et du nombre de numéros des publications dans lesquelles le demandeur se propose de publier l’avis.

(3) Les avis signifiés ou publiés selon l’article [201] de la Loi sont conformes, en substance, aux modèles d’avis approuvés par [la Commission] aux termes du paragraphe (1).

Le demandeur doit également fournir les renseignements qui suivent :

1. Déposer une copie de l’avis qui sera signifié aux propriétaires de terrains. À tout le moins, l’avis doit comprendre :

  • une description des exigences énoncées aux articles 202 à 206 de la LRCE;
  • une carte du tracé détaillé du pipeline ou de la ligne de transport d’électricité proposé;
  • un plan des terrains que la société se propose d’acquérir, lequel est tracé :
  • avec des renvois aux points de l’arpentage officiel, si de tels points sont connus;
  • à une échelle suffisante pour représenter avec une exactitude raisonnable l’emplacement, les dimensions et la superficie des terrains par rapport aux autres terrains adjacents éventuels du propriétaire.

2. Fournir une copie de l’avis qui paraîtra dans les publications de la région. À tout le moins, l’avis doit comprendre :

  • une description des exigences énoncées aux articles 202 à 206 de la LRCE;
  • une description du tracé détaillé du pipeline proposé;
  • un plan tracé à une échelle suffisante pour représenter avec une exactitude raisonnable l’emplacement du tracé détaillé proposé par rapport aux :
    • traits topographiques;
    • centres urbains;
    • voies publiques;
    • services publics;
    • autres points de repère importants dans la région;
  • une liste de chaque terrain susceptible d’être touché par le tracé détaillé qui les répertorie au moyen des désignations cadastrales en précisant ce qui suit, selon le cas :
    • l’adresse municipale;
    • le numéro de la parcelle;
    • le numéro de plan enregistré;
    • le lot;
    • la concession;
    • le canton;
    • la paroisse;
    • le rang;
    • le comté;
    • toute autre subdivision territoriale équivalente, de façon à pouvoir répertorier les terrains de chacun de ces propriétaires;
  • l’adresse de l’endroit situé à l’intérieur ou près du secteur couvert par le plan où les PPLR pour ce secteur peuvent être consultés par le public.

3. La liste des publications qui seront utilisées doit faire état :

  • des dates proposées de la publication;
  • des dates de tombée;
  • de la fréquence (quotidienne, hebdomadaire, mensuelle);
  • de la langue des publications (français, anglais, ou les deux).

4. Aussitôt après avoir signifié et publié un avis exigé à l’article 201 de la LRCE, le demandeur avise par écrit la Commission des dates de la dernière signification et de la dernière publication. La société doit soumettre une feuille de publication des journaux.

Orientation

Une fois que la Commission a délivré un certificat et que la société a déposé les PPLR auprès de celle-ci conformément à l’article 199 de la LRCE, la société doit fournir à la Commission un exemple, en anglais et en français, des avis visés à l’article 201 qu’elle propose de signifier ou de publier. La société peut aussi choisir des avis parmi des modèles déjà approuvés par la Commission. Le personnel de la Régie peut lui prêter assistance pour assurer la conformité des avis aux exigences de cette même loi. La société peut signifier et publier les avis visés à l’article 201 lorsqu’ils ont été approuvés par la Commission.

Au moment de publier les avis, la société doit prendre en compte la disponibilité des journaux anglais ou français et leur couverture respective. Si les journaux dans la région sont publiés dans une seule langue officielle, la société publie les versions française et anglaise côte à côte pour se conformer à la Loi sur les langues officielles.

Selon les Règles, aussitôt après avoir signifié et publié tout avis en conformité avec l’article 201 de la LRCE, la société doit aviser la Commission par écrit des dates de la dernière signification et de la dernière publication. Cette information permettra à la Commission d’établir la durée de la période de commentaires prévue aux paragraphes 201(3) et (4) de la LRCE. Aucun PPLR n’est approuvé avant l’expiration des délais prescrits.

Audience sur le tracé détaillé

Si une déclaration d’objection est déposée auprès de la Commission aux termes des paragraphes 201(3) ou (4) de la LRCE, celle-ci ordonne, en vertu du paragraphe 202(1), la tenue d’une audience publique sur le tracé détaillé du pipeline, et les méthodes et le calendrier de construction.

Après la délivrance d’une ordonnance d’audience par la Commission, la société devrait envisager de déposer les renseignements suivants :

  • une description des préoccupations des propriétaires de terrains à l’égard du tracé détaillé, des méthodes de construction et du calendrier de construction du projet;
  • des commentaires sur la possibilité de recourir au processus de règlement extrajudiciaire des différends de la Régie.

U.3 Demande de correction d’une erreur dans les PPLR (article 208 de la LRCE)

But

La demande comprend la documentation relative à toute omission, inexactitude ou erreur contenue dans les PPLR déposés. Cette documentation traite de toutes les questions foncières associées à la demande de permis en vue de permettre la correction de l’erreur.

Exigences de dépôt

Une demande déposée aux termes du paragraphe 208(1) de la LRCE doit comprendre :

  • le numéro de l’ordonnance et la date d’approbation originale des PPLR d’origine;
  • la nature et la description de l’erreur contenue dans les PPLR;
  • les renseignements exacts (concernant les plan, profil ou livre de renvoi);
  • une confirmation, comme il est prévu au paragraphe 208(3), que des copies du permis seront remises aux bureaux d’enregistrement ou des titres fonciers appropriés.

Orientation

Selon l’article 208 de la LRCE, les sociétés sont en mesure de corriger une erreur, une exactitude ou une omission dans les PPLR déposés.

Le paragraphe 208(2) de cette même loi prévoit que la Commission peut, à son appréciation, délivrer un permis énonçant la nature de l’omission, de l’inexactitude ou de l’erreur, et la correction admise.

Le paragraphe 208(3) prévoit que le permis et les documents à l’appui sont considérés comme corrigés une fois qu’ils ont été déposés auprès des bureaux des titres fonciers appropriés.

Étape suivante

Déposer la demande une fois qu’elle est remplie. Les demandeurs sont invités à remplir et à inclure les listes de contrôle pertinentes, qui figurent à l’annexe 1.

Date de modification :