On Wednesday, Aug. 28, the National Energy Board (NEB) became the Canada Energy Regulator (CER). For further information please visit our Implementing the Canadian Energy Regulator Act information page

Forward Regulatory Plan: 2019 to 2021 – Section 335 Cost Apportionment Regulatory Tool

Enabling act(s)
Proposed Canadian Energy Regulator Act

Description
On 8 February 2018, Bill C-69 was tabled in Parliament. If passed, Bill C-69 will, among other things, replace the National Energy Board Act (NEB Act) with the Canadian Energy Regulator Act (CER Act). To ensure the efficient functioning of the CER Act, should it become law, anticipatory regulations are being developed. In the meantime, the National Energy Board (NEB) continues to implement existing legislation and related regulations remain in force.

The proposed CER Act would create the Canadian Energy Regulator (CER or Regulator) and a Commission with the powers, duties and functions required for providing regulatory oversight of federally regulated energy infrastructure and transmission. The CER Act provides the Regulator with the authority to, with the approval of Governor in Council, make regulations that address the apportionment of costs directly incurred by parties working near CER-regulated pipelines (these could relate to construction or ground disturbances). The Act also provides the authority for the Commission to give this direction through order.

This regulatory initiative is associated with the National Energy Board’s stock review plan.

Regulatory cooperation efforts (domestic and international)
As part of their overall engagement efforts, departmental staff will consult with provincial and federal regulators with similar cost apportionment regulatory authorities to learn best practices and help inform regulatory development and implementation plans.

Potential impacts on Canadians, including businesses
The implementation of a cost apportionment regulatory tool would impact CER-regulated companies and those who wish to do work near CER-regulated pipelines (i.e., land owners, rights holders, and municipal governments). It is not expected to affect Canadians at large or involve significant impacts on international trade or investment.

Consultations
This regulatory initiative is in the early stages of development. Early engagement with targeted stakeholders to scope the regulatory project will commence in winter-spring 2019. Following this scoping phase, the National Energy Board and Natural Resources Canada will release a Discussion Paper to obtain feedback on the proposed regulatory approach, anticipated in fall 2019.

Information on when consultation opportunities will occur will appear on Natural Resources Canada’s Public Consultation Opportunities webpage and the NEB’s Consultation and Engagement webpage.

Further information

National Energy Board contact information
Melissa Mathieson
Regulatory Policy
Telephone: (403) 870-4572
Toll Free: 1-800-899-1265
Fax: (403) 292-5503
Email: melissa.mathieson@neb.one.gc.ca

Date the regulatory initiative was first included in the Forward Regulatory Plan
April 1, 2019

Consult the Canadian Energy Regulator’s acts and regulations web page for:

  • a list of acts and regulations administered by the Canada Energy Regulator
  • further information on the Canadian Energy Regulator’s implementation of government-wide regulatory management initiatives

Consult the following for links to the Cabinet Directive on Regulation and supporting policies and guidance, and for information on government-wide regulatory initiatives implemented by departments and agencies across the Government of Canada:

To learn about upcoming or ongoing consultations on proposed federal regulations, visit:

Date modified:

Le mercredi 28 août, l’Office national de l’énergie est devenu la Régie de l’énergie du Canada. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez la page d’information sur la mise en œuvre de la Loi sur la Régie canadienne de l’énergie

Plan prospectif de réglementation : de 2019 à 2021 – Outil de réglementation relatif à la répartition des coûts au titre de l’article 335

Loi habilitantes
Loi sur la Régie canadienne de l’énergie (proposée)

Description
Le 8 février 2018, le projet de loi C-69 a été déposé devant le Parlement. Si ce projet de loi est adopté, il aura entre autres pour effet de remplacer la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie par la Loi sur la Régie canadienne de l’énergie. Afin d’assurer le fonctionnement efficace de la Loi sur la Régie canadienne de l’énergie, si celle-ci est adoptée, des règlements sont élaborés à l’avance. Dans l’intervalle, l’Office national de l’énergie continue d’appliquer la législation existante et les règlements actuels restent en vigueur.

La loi proposée établirait la Régie canadienne de l’énergie et une commission ayant les pouvoirs et fonctions nécessaires pour assurer la surveillance réglementaire de l’infrastructure et du transport de l’énergie qui sont sous réglementation fédérale. La Loi sur la Régie canadienne de l’énergie confère à la Régie, avec l’approbation du gouverneur en conseil, le pouvoir de prendre un règlement sur la répartition des coûts directement engagés par les parties qui travaillent près des pipelines qu’elle réglemente (pouvant être reliés à la construction ou au remuement du sol). Cette loi confère à la Commission le pouvoir de donner l’instruction de prendre un tel règlement au moyen d’une ordonnance.

Cette initiative est associée au plan d’examens de l’inventaire des règlements de l’Office national de l’énergie.

Efforts de coopération en matière de réglementation (aux échelles nationale et internationale)
Dans le cadre des efforts de mobilisation générale déployés, le personnel ministériel consultera des organismes de réglementation provinciaux et fédéraux dotés de pouvoirs similaires de réglementation de la répartition des coûts, afin de connaître les meilleurs pratiques et d’orienter l’élaboration de règlements et de plans de mise en œuvre.

Répercussions potentielles sur les Canadiens, y compris les entreprises
La mise en œuvre d’un outil de réglementation relatif à la répartition des coûts aurait une incidence sur les sociétés du ressort de la Régie et ceux qui veulent exécuter des travaux près des pipelines réglementés par cette dernière (propriétaires fonciers, titulaires de droits et administrations municipales). Cela ne devrait pas avoir de conséquences sur les Canadiens en général ni sur le commerce ou l’investissement international.

Consultations
Cette initiative de réglementation en est aux premiers stades d’élaboration. La mobilisation précoce de parties prenantes ciblées pour déterminer la portée du projet commencera à l’hiver ou au printemps 2019. Ensuite, l’Office national de l’énergie et Ressources naturelles Canada publieront un document de travail pour obtenir de la rétroaction sur la démarche de réglementation proposée, probablement à l’automne 2019.

L’information concernant la tenue de ces consultations sera disponible sur la page Web des consultations publiques de Ressources naturelles Canada et sur la page Web traitant de consultation et de mobilisation de l’Office.

.Renseignements supplémentaires

Coordonnées de l’Office national de l’énergie
Melissa Mathieson
Politique de réglementation
Téléphone : 403-870-4572
Numéro sans frais : 1-800-899-1265
Télécopieur : 403-292-5503
Courriel : melissa.mathieson@cer-rec.gc.ca

Date de la première intégration de l’initiative réglementaire dans le plan prospectif de la réglementation
1er avril 2019

Consultez la page Web des lois et règlements de l’Office national de l’énergie pour obtenir

  • une liste des lois et règlements appliqués par l’Office national de l’énergie;
  • de plus amples renseignements sur la mise en oeuvre par l’Office national de l’énergie d’initiatives pangouvernementales de gestion de la réglementation.

Cliquez sur les hyperliens ci-dessous pour accéder à la Directive du Cabinet sur la réglementation ainsi qu’aux politiques et lignes directrices à l’appui, et pour obtenir des renseignements sur les initiatives réglementaires pangouvernementales mises en oeuvre par les ministères et organismes dans l’ensemble du gouvernement du Canada :

Pour en apprendre davantage sur les consultations à venir ou en cours concernant les projets de réglementation fédéraux, visitez les pages suivantes :

Date de modification :